We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy BnB in good neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Underberg Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Underberg Guest House to your Saves list
Underberg Guest House
6 Tamboerskloof Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Comfy BnB in good neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

+ clean rooms
+ comfy bed
+ tasty breakfast : cereals, fruits, yogurts, tea/coffee, cheeses, toasts with cooked to order eggs and tomato ( they were perfectly done by the lady in the kitchen, didn't get her name )
+ in good neighborhood : after a day full of excursions, it was sooo comforting to walk to Beleza for dinner (5 min walk in a safe neighborhood)
+ good view of table mountain from the balcony in the hallway (not from our room)
+ nice shampoo, soap and lotion
+ Bruce & Anne were helpful : planning our excursions, suggesting us to book table mountain tickets online and letting us use their computer

- cold, cold and cold! : there was a small portable heater in the room, which was not enough. The room was uncomfortably cold. My husband had a hard time sleeping. The breakfast room was better heated. My husband still felt cold in there until he had a second cup of coffee!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    35
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
195
34
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Underberg is perfectly located in the Tamberskloof area. Anne and Bruce were extremely accommodating, with many helpful tips and recommendations, organising transfers, free computer use, and helping with excursions. The breakfast was superb, and the rooms clean, comfortable and modern. Everything you would expect from a top of the range guest house, and it was done very well. Would definitely recommend it,and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed three nights here and had a very pleasant stay. The owners were very friendly and helpful before and during our stay. The rooms were comfortable with a huge bed and very modern bathrooms. It all looked like it was newly decorated. Breakfasts were also very good, with fresh juices, coffee, toast, yoghurts, freshly cut fruit salad and a cooked to order hot breakfast of eggs, bacon, mushroom and tomato. The area is safe and it is only a 40 minute walk to the waterfront and a 5 minute drive to Table Mountain cable car. The only thing I could find fault with was a dodgy internet connection but Anne was getting that fixed as we left. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Underberg is a lovely small B&B with views of Table Mountain, and within walking distance of great restaurants (Miller's Thumb being one of the best), Long/Lang street, and the waterfront. Bruce and Ann have recently renovated and the rooms are elegant, modern, and very comfortable. Room six has a balcony. There is WiFi for those that need it, daily papers at breakfast, and an honor bar. Bruce and Ann are wonderful hosts and are happy to suggest places to visit, arrange taxis, etc. This is a simply super place to stay in Cape town.

David Wilkie and Gilda Morelli

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Having stayed at Underberg in 2009, we were keen to stay again to see if the same high standard had been maintained with the new hosts, Anne and Bruce. We certainly weren't disappointed and with the all the renovations they had done done, all the rooms were beautifully appointed. We had plenty of space and loved our ample breakfasts. Anne and Bruce made our stay very comfortable, even down to helping us plan out activities for the four days. The location is fabulous, close to interesting shops and great restaurants and not far from the university, the Company Gardens, art gallery and museum.
It was so much nicer than a hotel!

Room Tip: Just pick any room...they all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just got back from Cape Town, spent 4 nights at the Underberg. The rooms are big and spacious and very comfortable. There are great restaurants within walking distance. The host, Anne and Bruce are great. Anne helped book our daily excursions. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here in March 2012. Our hosts are extremely personable and made us feel like we were staying with friends. They even helped our own friends who were not staying at the Underberg by offering them tea, and with keeping luggage before our friends' flight.
The rooms are extremely comfortable, with tall ceilings and fireplaces.
The location is a close walk to restaurants and cafes and there was easy street parking. The breakfasts were extremely good and generous, and the owners spent time with guests during breakfast, which was a nice warm touch. We stayed in CT during the Cape Argus bike race and so some of the owners' friends were also at the house during the day. The owners and their friends were all extremely friendly and welcoming. We'd love to return, if only Cape Town were closer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Underberg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underberg Guest House

Address: 6 Tamboerskloof Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Underberg provides warm and hospitably service. All our colonial rooms are super comfortable with modern en-suite bathrooms. For further comfort, each room is equipped with a TV, overhead ceiling fan, American plantation shutters, heater, tea/coffee facility, hairdryer, fitted carpet, safe, white cotton percale sheets, down duvets in winter and cotton blankets inthe summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Underberg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Underberg Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Underberg Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.