We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, great beds and breakfasts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dutch Manor Antique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dutch Manor Antique Hotel to your Saves list
Dutch Manor Antique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   158 Buitengracht St | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Schotsche Kloof)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 147 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Wheaton, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great beds and breakfasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Dutch Manor is like a bed and breakfast in some respects-a common sitting and dining room, breakfasts made to order. and of coure, lovely antiques. The canopy beds were not only beautiful, but very comfortable. The service was excellent, with staff recommending transportation and restaunts, and taxis were called and arrived within minutes. The only drawback was limited electric outlets, resulting in having to use the small desk to blow dry hair, re-charge batteries, etc...

The location is on a main street with easy access to the waterfront and to Table Mountain in the other direction. A short couple of blocks downhill gets you to Long Street and Mama Africa Restaurant. The other interesting nearby restaurant is up a few streets in the BoKaap (Dishmeila-not sure of the spelling), which features Cape Malay curries.

We would definately recommend Dutch Manor for its charm and hospitality.

Jerry L

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face Buitengrach, the busy road right in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Jerry

Thank you so much for a wonderful review. I am so delighted that we made your stay a pleasant one.

We look forward to have you back soon at Dutch Manor Hotel.

Thank you
Warmest regards,
Nobu Tshabalala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    16
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
59
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We won one night's accommodation, including dinner, bed and breakfast, in this hotel, in a competition. What a pleasant surprise! The interior looks like an old Cape Dutch home and our friends and family could not believe their eyes when we showed them our pictures afterwards. Our room was smallish but had all the amenities we could hope for. The dinner was very good and the breakfast exceptional. Heloise was a wonderful hostess and no request was too much trouble. We liked the central location of the hotel and its proximity to the Bo-Kaap. All in all a memorable night's stay and we can recommend this hotel to any visitor to Cape Town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

As a frequent traveller I would give Dutch Manor top marks, it really is a home away from home. Heloise is a wonderful hostess, and all staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. You cannot put into words just how special the Dutch Manor Anitique Hotel is, you need to experience it for yourself.

Room Tip: Any room selection is a great choice, they're all magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I would give Dutch Manor 10 stars if it were possible. My friend and I had an amazing 4 day stay here. Heloise is such an amazing hostess and helped us find pubs, shopping, restaurants, answered our 1000s of questions and simply put...made us feel like we were staying at a friends home. The rooms were plus, bathrooms are gorgeous, and Heloise's omelets are fantastic! How do you make them taste so good! Even the coffee was beyond excellent.

Book this hotel right now!

Room Tip: All of the rooms were gorgeous. I went with a friend so we booked a room with 2 beds. Any of have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were priveledged enough to spend what we like to call 'Our 2nd Honeymoon' at the Dutch Manor Antique Hotel. Warm, friendly, a home away from home is the perfect way to discribe the vibe both the place and the staff offer. We spent an intimate and never-to-be-forgotten afternoon with Heloise in the kitchen, as she cooked and demonstrated her stunning chef skills. The 3 course meal was an absolute treat, a cherry on top of 2 perfect evenings spent there. We will definititely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I've read every review, and agree heartily with all of the raves. I simply can't think of anything to add! Stay here--you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had a fantastic weekend break in this amazingly unique Hotel. The decor is incredible, service friendly and helpful and the breakfast just delicious! Really could not have had a more happy stay. It is definitely a must, especially for antique lovers. Wish I could stay there once a month!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dutch Manor Antique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Manor Antique Hotel

Address: 158 Buitengracht St | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dutch Manor Antique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dutch Manor represents the ultimate in heritage-rich style and comfort. Every room is uniquely decorated with the greatest attention to detail and the finest antique furnishings and fittings, each with its own unique tale. The four-star boutique hotel is deliberately small and comprises of six rooms, all with en-suite modernized bathrooms, spacious showers and air-conditioning. All the rooms have 26-inch flat screen TVs and luxurious Egyptian percale cotton bedding. Various popular tourist attractions are within a 3km radius of the hotel: The V&A Waterfront, the trendy De Waterkant and Kloof Street for shopping and dining, the Company’s Gardens and Cape Town International Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dutch Manor Antique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dutch Manor Antique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.