We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price-value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cascades on the Promenade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cascades on the Promenade to your Saves list
Cascades on the Promenade
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Arthurs Road | Atlantic Seaboard, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mossel Bay, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good price-value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Friendly helpful staff. Small room but elegant furniture and modern bathroom with walk-in shower. Small balcony towards a quiet side road. Close to shops and the Seapoint public Swimming Pool.
Best was the amazing offer for breakfast beside the normal continental breakfast. (included in the hotel rate)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    20
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
21
151
15
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The hotel was just perfect. Fantastic staff who couldn't do enough for you, a very comfortable, luxurious room with it's own wrap around balcony, and fabulous food - what more could you ask! Thank you Els and we'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

It seems that 3 stars on TripAdvisor has somehow become a "bad" review. I wouldn't say that this was a "bad" experience, it just wasn't good; alas the "ok." The room was well appointed and clean. It was very nice to have a personal computer in the room, but found the limited internet usage to be a bit odd. They also gave my husband and I a complimentary small bottle of bubbly for our honeymoon, which was very kind of them.

The downside is that the service was just plain poor. The restaurant service was horrendous both times we ate there (dinner taking 45+ minutes while being the only patrons there) and them forgetting our breakfast altogether. We had to ask where our omelette's were after waiting for 50 minutes. The owner (Els) was nice to us, but seemed to belittle and shout at her employees when she thought we couldn't hear. In the end it made of an uncomfortable situation for us and we just felt bad for the employees. Also...they charge of the coffee in the room (unlike all other places we had stayed in South Africa) and there was no safe in the room, which made us uneasy.

Having stayed at another place in the "gardens" area of Cape Town for about the same price, I think it is safe to say that this place might be a bit expensive for what it provides (no pool, noisier street, no private parking).

It was just "ok."

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd floor. We were (maybe the only room) on the 1st floor and were awoken by st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratingen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The room was small, but the interior was great! The breakfast is fabulous and the location is perfect. Fantastic service
We have missed a swimmimgpool
There were a lot of local guests in the restaurant.







  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Baie
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Cascades is excellently located, close to the beach and to the Sea Point strip. Els the manager was incredibly kind to us, so as the rest of the staff.
The breakfast is to die for and many locals come and have their brunch at the restaurants downstairs, which is good sign. You can order unlimited items from the breakfast menu, from egg benedicts to waffles, to salmon croissants etc...

Rooms are spotless, modern, very comfy. They might be a bit small if you travel with large suitcases, but hey, you can't have it all!

You won't necessarily find a parking downstairs, but by driving around for a bit you will never be too far from the hotel.

Room Tip: Prefer the room upstairs that will have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Cascades is amazing, from the rooms to the location, breakfast to the staff, we were warmly welcomed and looked after for our entire stay. Cannot think of one criticism! Highly recommend Cascades, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speyer, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This little boutique hotel lies excellent at the sea point. We enjoyed our holiday very much much. There we had the best perfect breakfast from south africa. All the stuff were very friendly, the next time we will visit this little hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cascades on the Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades on the Promenade

Address: 11 Arthurs Road | Atlantic Seaboard, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cascades on the Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine boutique hotel, situated along the Atlantic Seaboard, in Sea Point, Cape Town. The concept of this city hotel is to offer "young of heart" travelers an ideal base from where to explore Cape Town and surroundings at affordable rates, without compromising any quality expectations. The ideal guest for Cascades on the Promenade is the well informed traveler, who is interested and anxious to discover Cape Town for what it is... a bustling, vibrant and incredibly beautiful city, brimming with activities and diversity. Our traveler doesn't want to sacrifice valuable holiday-time due to a remote or difficult location of the hotel, away from the main attractions, or battling with internet connection issues, insufficient hot water in the shower or more of those complicated situations that tend to spoil a vacation. Our guests want to get up and about after a good nights' rest in a perfectly equipped and soft furnished room. Breakfast awaits our traveler in the cozy Hotel Bistro or outside on the terrace, where he or she already mingles with the local regulars. The hotel is superbly positioned for immediate action, whether that is a vigorous jog along Cape Town's magnificent Seaboard... or a leisurely stroll... it's all right here on our doorstep... From the hotel it is a five minute walk to the Olympic size, open air, sea-side swimming pool or an even shorter stroll to the Beach Road to catch a ride on the Hop-on, Hop-off Topless Sightseeing Bus, which passes every twenty minutes. The bus takes you on a roundtrip through Cape Town. From the hotel it goes along the Promenade to the V&A Waterfront, through the inner city and further up to the Table Mountain Cable Car station. From there it goes down to the Clifton and Camps Bay beaches and back to the Promenade in front of the hotel. The Hotel The hotel is housed in a Cape-Victorian style, 120-year-old protected heritage building. An extensive renovation in 2010 has transformed the original structure into a very modern, super trendy place with a distinct international flair. Our guest will immediately recognize the spot as a trendsetter, definitely on par with leading small design hotels sprinkled around the larger cities of Europe, Asia or the United States. The latest on offer in hotel technology has been incorporated in the design and furnishings. The seven Deluxe rooms are very "complete". Five of them have outside balconies with comfortable seating arrangements. The two rooms without outside balcony are extra large and can accommodate an extra bed. All rooms have King size (180 cm) beds with soft, leather head boards and build-in reading lights. Remote controlled air conditioning (heating/cooling). Large walk-in rain showers, thermostatic taps, wall-mounted hairdryers and heated towel rails in the bathrooms. A state of the art 40" (1m) LED TV screen, a 23" Apple Mac computer with free internet, Wi-Fi access point, Bose iPod docking station, CD Player, Telephone, International plugs, Electronic Safe, Mini Bar and a Nespresso machine are standard in every room. Nighttime security is provided directly to the guest through automated roller shutters in the rooms and in general through a 24-hour attendance at reception and closed circuit camera's in the public area's. The Bistro Bright yellow Vitra tub chairs on the terrace and black leather upholstering inside the bistro, copper leaf and rich walnut wall paneling, Tom Dixon design lighting and a Samsung video wall for entertainment... the combination of these elements create the ideal setting where we offer our guests a fine, contemporary cuisine throughout the day. On the day-menu are light snacks and refreshing salads, from a choice of pasta's to fresh fish or a prime cut of succulent beef fillet. The "Patisserie" chef makes sure that coffee never goes without the necessary indulgence on the side. For dinner we change the setting for a fine-dining experience with a French style Bistro menu. And of course, there is the bar for a stiff drink, a cocktail or a good selection of South African wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Cascades on the Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades On The Promenade Hotel Sea Point
Cascades On The Promenade Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascades on the Promenade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.