We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cascades on the Promenade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cascades on the Promenade to your Saves list
Cascades on the Promenade
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Arthurs Road | Atlantic Seaboard, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“First rate boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a beautiful small hotel with impeccable taste. We took a front room with a partial view of the Atlantic with lounging chairs on the second floor balcony. Done in black and white and gray, every detail was stunning. Bathrooms had walk-in glass shower with a privacy room including a vanity area, dresser drawers, safe, and space for extra luggage. The room was spotless, the bed and linen were luxurious. We had our own laptop but the room had an Apple and flat screen TV.

While all this was superb, the best part of our 6 days there was becoming acquainted with the staff. Els adeptly managed the hotel and restaurant and she surrounded herself with very cordial, capable and attentive young men and women. My husband and I still talk about them by name. We had been traveling for several days so when we arrived from Johannesburg we had laundry to do. I gave the staff the bag in the morning and everything was returned, neatly folded, that evening. What a relief to have clean clothes again!

Breakfasts included a handsome sampling of cheese, meat, rolls, aromatic coffee and hot milk with biscuit, and hot food made to order if you wanted. We ate in the dining area which also served the public. People in the neighborhood came in for the breakfast alone. We had dinner there two nights and found they had a great chef.

Spotlessly clean, great location a block from the promenade, near other restaurants up the street, two blocks from the hop-on-hop off bus make this hotel ideal for smart travelers.

Room Tip: Splurge on a room with a partial view of the Atlantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    20
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
21
151
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

From the friendly faces that greet you at the door, to the detail they put into their food preparation , these folks just know how to impress.

The setting is trendy and yet peaceful. On hot or windy days , this spot is the best place in Cape Town to loose a few hours. I love to watch the birds that come past in search of a few crumbs that fall from the tables and the dogs that the locals bring with them. The plethora of beautiful women that frequent this spot is ridiculous.

The only complaint I have is that they refuse to share their secret on how they make the biscuit that comes with the coffee.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We like little boutique hotels, and this fit the bill perfectly. One of our SA friends recommended it, and she was spot on. We were able to park on the street, then the next day we dropped off our rental at a downtown Avis lot. Very convenient. We had room #5 on the second floor, which had a very nice lanai. It did not have a view, but was very tastefully done with plants, a table, 2 chairs, and a lounger. The room was very modern and included a Mac computer with daily free minutes--up to a point. Don't try to download a whole bunch of pictures or you will run out of time. The area was quiet, we slept peacefully all 3 nights. Breakfast was included in our rate and you could eat light, or go full up with things like Eggs Benedict. We liked to eat outside on the front porch. We did eat dinner there once, and had drinks there multiple times. A lot of locals came for meals and Happy Hour. We liked the location of the hotel in a semi residential area, a block from the beach and promenade. The HOHO bus stopped a block away from the hotel on the promenade. We walked back from V&A after a visit there. We took a couple taxi rides to the city bowl for dinner. It was very easy and safe to get around. The hotel staff was very pleasant. Overall, it was a great stay. We will return on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were there for the start of our honeymoon in South Africa and found it to be a wonderful place to stay in Cape Town. We were greeted at the airport with a personal pickup by the owner of the hotel who helped us throughout our stay with great advice.

The rooms are modern designed and very cozy. The beds are fabulous, which was really appreciated after the very long trip to get there. We also had a very large balcony off the room which was a very nice bonus.

The location is perfect. Sea Point is a great spot. You can easily walk or take a cheap taxi ride into downtown or Camps Bay. We walked quite often as the waterfront is really pretty.

The restaurant is very good as well. We ate there one night for dinner and was one of the best meals we had in Cape Town.

Overall, the service couldn't be friendlier and it is a really lovely boutique hotel. We will definitely go back next time we're in Cape Town.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which was really great... nice big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at Cascades for 5 nights as part of a week in Cape Town.

This boutique hotel is awesome. Lovely, well thought out, we'll appointed rooms.

The service is impeccable and the breakfast buffet is to die for.

The only negative comment is that I thought the bed was fractionally short. (I am 5ft 11inches).

Not quite walking distance to V&A waterfront although we did do the walk a couple of times. It is 50m from the bus to the waterfront and the red tourist bus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Cascades is definately on our list for Sunday Morning breakfast destinations.

We had breakfast this past sunday and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is a hidden gem just off the beach road in sea point. Must be great as a holiday location. We sat on the outside patio and I have to say the service was fantastic. The food came quickly and whatever we asked for they delivered. Just not the wifi password, but I think maybe this has something to do with the fact that we where not residents....

Started with a granola/muesli from the buffet which was great.
We then all had omelettes of various kinds. Mine was with emmental cheese and onions. Very good, fluffy and very tasty. Could have done with a little more toast. But still excellent.

The orange juice was freshly squeezed and very good. I had two glasses.

Will definitely return. Also I liked the fact that the owner/manager came over several times to see that we where ok. Good touch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 5 nights at Cascades on the Promenade mid-June this year. Having previously worked in the tourism industry, I was familiar with the Cascades brand, but hadn't had a chance to view their latest property. We were in the city for my partner to attend a conference and although it was being held at the University of Cape Town, we are very happy with our decision to stay in the city. I've always liked the Seapoint area, but staying at the Cascades meant that we really got to enjoy the stone's throw location from the promenade, short drive to the Waterfront, variety of restaurants in walking distance and coastal drive to Camps Bay side.

On arrival at the property, we were lucky to find parking just outside the front door (street parking is limited here), and met by one of the friendly staff members to help with our luggage. From the moment we arrived until the time we left, nothing was too much to ask and the service was great.

We were in a superior room with a balcony and could hear the crashing waves as we went to sleep. The rooms are luxurious and spacious, with a generous changing area and beautiful bathroom. The hotel dining areas are small but cosy and even in mid-winter we dined on the balcony most mornings and for evening drinks. The food was of a very high standard. Most mornings we opted for the variety of the buffet, but the one hot breakfast I had - poached eggs - was delicious. However, I do think the breakfasts are slightly high priced - for locals anyway.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it for business or leisure :).

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room with balcony and view of the promenade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cascades on the Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades on the Promenade

Address: 11 Arthurs Road | Atlantic Seaboard, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cascades on the Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine boutique hotel, situated along the Atlantic Seaboard, in Sea Point, Cape Town. The concept of this city hotel is to offer "young of heart" travelers an ideal base from where to explore Cape Town and surroundings at affordable rates, without compromising any quality expectations. The ideal guest for Cascades on the Promenade is the well informed traveler, who is interested and anxious to discover Cape Town for what it is... a bustling, vibrant and incredibly beautiful city, brimming with activities and diversity. Our traveler doesn't want to sacrifice valuable holiday-time due to a remote or difficult location of the hotel, away from the main attractions, or battling with internet connection issues, insufficient hot water in the shower or more of those complicated situations that tend to spoil a vacation. Our guests want to get up and about after a good nights' rest in a perfectly equipped and soft furnished room. Breakfast awaits our traveler in the cozy Hotel Bistro or outside on the terrace, where he or she already mingles with the local regulars. The hotel is superbly positioned for immediate action, whether that is a vigorous jog along Cape Town's magnificent Seaboard... or a leisurely stroll... it's all right here on our doorstep... From the hotel it is a five minute walk to the Olympic size, open air, sea-side swimming pool or an even shorter stroll to the Beach Road to catch a ride on the Hop-on, Hop-off Topless Sightseeing Bus, which passes every twenty minutes. The bus takes you on a roundtrip through Cape Town. From the hotel it goes along the Promenade to the V&A Waterfront, through the inner city and further up to the Table Mountain Cable Car station. From there it goes down to the Clifton and Camps Bay beaches and back to the Promenade in front of the hotel. The Hotel The hotel is housed in a Cape-Victorian style, 120-year-old protected heritage building. An extensive renovation in 2010 has transformed the original structure into a very modern, super trendy place with a distinct international flair. Our guest will immediately recognize the spot as a trendsetter, definitely on par with leading small design hotels sprinkled around the larger cities of Europe, Asia or the United States. The latest on offer in hotel technology has been incorporated in the design and furnishings. The seven Deluxe rooms are very "complete". Five of them have outside balconies with comfortable seating arrangements. The two rooms without outside balcony are extra large and can accommodate an extra bed. All rooms have King size (180 cm) beds with soft, leather head boards and build-in reading lights. Remote controlled air conditioning (heating/cooling). Large walk-in rain showers, thermostatic taps, wall-mounted hairdryers and heated towel rails in the bathrooms. A state of the art 40" (1m) LED TV screen, a 23" Apple Mac computer with free internet, Wi-Fi access point, Bose iPod docking station, CD Player, Telephone, International plugs, Electronic Safe, Mini Bar and a Nespresso machine are standard in every room. Nighttime security is provided directly to the guest through automated roller shutters in the rooms and in general through a 24-hour attendance at reception and closed circuit camera's in the public area's. The Bistro Bright yellow Vitra tub chairs on the terrace and black leather upholstering inside the bistro, copper leaf and rich walnut wall paneling, Tom Dixon design lighting and a Samsung video wall for entertainment... the combination of these elements create the ideal setting where we offer our guests a fine, contemporary cuisine throughout the day. On the day-menu are light snacks and refreshing salads, from a choice of pasta's to fresh fish or a prime cut of succulent beef fillet. The "Patisserie" chef makes sure that coffee never goes without the necessary indulgence on the side. For dinner we change the setting for a fine-dining experience with a French style Bistro menu. And of course, there is the bar for a stiff drink, a cocktail or a good selection of South African wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Cascades on the Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades On The Promenade Hotel Sea Point
Cascades On The Promenade Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascades on the Promenade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.