We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Les Cascades on 52 -- fabulous place to stay in Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cascades on the Promenade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cascades on the Promenade to your Saves list
Cascades on the Promenade
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Arthurs Road | Atlantic Seaboard, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Expat in Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Les Cascades on 52 -- fabulous place to stay in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at this wonderful boutique hotel a few times and each time we have been utterly pampered. The location is excellent both in terms of getting around town as well as just kicking back and taking in the perfect vista. Breakfast is a special treat -- the croissants are dangerously addictive, and the cooked meals are excellent. The theme of the hotel is indulgence and as guests, we have always felt well taken care of. The first time we stayed there, I arrived very late the night before my husband got in to town. The staff had taken the care to put a cheese plate in my room in case I was hungry, since, as they said, airplane food isn't all that great. I was really touched by that attention to detail. The last time we were there, everyone treated us like old friends and the big bonus was that we got a surprise upgrade to the two-bedroom suite. This is definitely a place to return to time and again as you will never get tired of it and the entire staff will go out of their way to make you feel pampered. I absolutely love it here and would recommend it to anyone who wants to make their visit to Cape Town extra special.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    20
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
21
151
15
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

The Cascades is one of the best. The staff are friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are modern and well equipped, its location is easily accessible yet quiet, and the food is simple but presented to an extremely good standard. I really can't say enough nice things about this place - and it's cheaper and much nicer than the big Protea hotel across the street. A gem. I'll never stay anywhere else in Cape Town now that I know about it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Absolutely LOVED this stay!!! So awesome want to go back but after paying each of the staff tips separately and multiple times. Left money for posting our excess goods back... never received. Have emailed multiple times to try and get them to post it back but the manager denies that we gave them the money. Even said last time that I would pay again (despite the fact that they staff split the money we left for postage). No response!!!!

Really really really disappointing... I hate complaining and honestly can't remember the last time I did!! But this is a last resort to hopefully get our stuff back... such a shame we had such an amazing time there and were planning on going back for our upcoming honeymoon but its left such a bad taste post-stay:(

Loved the owner so friendly wish her staff would give us her details so I could sort this out with her. Manager hopeless!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

A great place to start our holiday. Lovely rooms with all modcons ( including apple mac), a fantastic breakfast selection and wonderful service. Anything we asked of them was organised without fuss and we were sorry to leave Capetown and Cascades. A top tip from Imagine Africa.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTREAL, QUEBEC, CANADA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

beginning of a 15 dya birthday celebration for my husband-gorgeous location with incredible views-warm & friendly staff-hired driver thru hotel, for 2 dya -saw almost everything-super way to start a vacation
sorry to leave!!

Room Tip: if you can afford it-penthoudse or 2 bedroom siuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Once again Les Cascades Bantry Bay has pushed the boat out and welcomed both my fiancee and I with open arms... The 2 night stay was amazing and a total suprise for my fiancee. From the welcome at the door by Willy, all the way through to the goodbye the whole weekend was very special. The penthouse suite was gorgeous and very spacious and we loved the full length balcony and the double walk in wardrobe. The service was excellent and our transfer and pick up later on to the Test Kitchen was on time and friendly. We didn't want to leave and we thought about quoting squatters rights but planned ahead and have put a date in the diary to return. A hotel stay in your home town is very special but even better when staying at Les Cascades Bantry Bay... Please let us know when the other hotel is finished as we want our Room 2 back again...

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book the Penthouse as you won't regret it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We travelled to Cape Town to celebrate my birthday and had the most fantastic experience. This boutique hotel is luxurious, welcoming, relaxing and has the most amazing views. The staff were incredible - welcoming us 'home', supplying a driver t collect and deliver us to and from town. They made reservations for us and literally made the start of our holiday experience in South Africa magical. I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cascades on the Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades on the Promenade

Address: 11 Arthurs Road | Atlantic Seaboard, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cascades on the Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine boutique hotel, situated along the Atlantic Seaboard, in Sea Point, Cape Town. The concept of this city hotel is to offer "young of heart" travelers an ideal base from where to explore Cape Town and surroundings at affordable rates, without compromising any quality expectations. The ideal guest for Cascades on the Promenade is the well informed traveler, who is interested and anxious to discover Cape Town for what it is... a bustling, vibrant and incredibly beautiful city, brimming with activities and diversity. Our traveler doesn't want to sacrifice valuable holiday-time due to a remote or difficult location of the hotel, away from the main attractions, or battling with internet connection issues, insufficient hot water in the shower or more of those complicated situations that tend to spoil a vacation. Our guests want to get up and about after a good nights' rest in a perfectly equipped and soft furnished room. Breakfast awaits our traveler in the cozy Hotel Bistro or outside on the terrace, where he or she already mingles with the local regulars. The hotel is superbly positioned for immediate action, whether that is a vigorous jog along Cape Town's magnificent Seaboard... or a leisurely stroll... it's all right here on our doorstep... From the hotel it is a five minute walk to the Olympic size, open air, sea-side swimming pool or an even shorter stroll to the Beach Road to catch a ride on the Hop-on, Hop-off Topless Sightseeing Bus, which passes every twenty minutes. The bus takes you on a roundtrip through Cape Town. From the hotel it goes along the Promenade to the V&A Waterfront, through the inner city and further up to the Table Mountain Cable Car station. From there it goes down to the Clifton and Camps Bay beaches and back to the Promenade in front of the hotel. The Hotel The hotel is housed in a Cape-Victorian style, 120-year-old protected heritage building. An extensive renovation in 2010 has transformed the original structure into a very modern, super trendy place with a distinct international flair. Our guest will immediately recognize the spot as a trendsetter, definitely on par with leading small design hotels sprinkled around the larger cities of Europe, Asia or the United States. The latest on offer in hotel technology has been incorporated in the design and furnishings. The seven Deluxe rooms are very "complete". Five of them have outside balconies with comfortable seating arrangements. The two rooms without outside balcony are extra large and can accommodate an extra bed. All rooms have King size (180 cm) beds with soft, leather head boards and build-in reading lights. Remote controlled air conditioning (heating/cooling). Large walk-in rain showers, thermostatic taps, wall-mounted hairdryers and heated towel rails in the bathrooms. A state of the art 40" (1m) LED TV screen, a 23" Apple Mac computer with free internet, Wi-Fi access point, Bose iPod docking station, CD Player, Telephone, International plugs, Electronic Safe, Mini Bar and a Nespresso machine are standard in every room. Nighttime security is provided directly to the guest through automated roller shutters in the rooms and in general through a 24-hour attendance at reception and closed circuit camera's in the public area's. The Bistro Bright yellow Vitra tub chairs on the terrace and black leather upholstering inside the bistro, copper leaf and rich walnut wall paneling, Tom Dixon design lighting and a Samsung video wall for entertainment... the combination of these elements create the ideal setting where we offer our guests a fine, contemporary cuisine throughout the day. On the day-menu are light snacks and refreshing salads, from a choice of pasta's to fresh fish or a prime cut of succulent beef fillet. The "Patisserie" chef makes sure that coffee never goes without the necessary indulgence on the side. For dinner we change the setting for a fine-dining experience with a French style Bistro menu. And of course, there is the bar for a stiff drink, a cocktail or a good selection of South African wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Cascades on the Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades On The Promenade Hotel Sea Point
Cascades On The Promenade Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascades on the Promenade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.