We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MannaBay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added MannaBay to your Saves list
MannaBay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Bridle Road | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Mannabay in Capetown for four nights and this was one of the all time best places we've ever stayed. We didn't want to leave! Gorgeous boutique hotel with exemplary service -- every butler is so kind and thoughtful and we particularly loved getting to know Shadrack! The decor is fabulous and the food is five star. Breakfast and tea were both over the top -- anything you could possibly imagine! So delicious. We felt like kings. Also the most picturesque views -- great location at foot of table mtn and not far at all from center of town. Definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for your awesome review and feedback on your recent MannaBay stay. We are thrilled to hear it was perfection for you. We do hope to welcome you back soon to MannaBay. Warm regards, Justine and The MannaBay team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
172
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I wish I could find a better word to describe MannaBay, my husband and I were blown away from the minute we got to the hotel. We felt like we had fallen into a small piece of heaven. The staff match the beauty of the surroundings and the elegance of the hotel, we felt like royalty, yet so at home and welcome.
The attention to detail is phenomenal …everything was perfect, although it was just for one night, it felt like a lifetime and I really felt saddened to have to leave.
Thank you for such a special and memorable stay, I cannot recommend a place more highly than MannaBay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback - it means a lot to us. Even more that your stay was phenomenal and your enjoyed our attention to detail and hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back some day soon. Warm regards, The MannaBay team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I don't even know what to say.

Amazing rooms, astounding views, unbelievably friendly staff--who truly seem to care, not just because it is their job. The rooms are each differently decorated, and mine was huge and wonderfully appointed.

I have traveled extensively worldwide for work for many years, and I have never encounter such delightful, pleasant people running a hotel. My colleague and I left very early in the morning, and the gentleman who sets up the breakfast did so 90 minutes early just for the two of us. And, I should note, it was absolutely delicious.

To come up with anything at all to bring balance to this review, I would only say that the location can be a bit hard to find. However, the location accounts for the incredible views, so who cares. . .

I absolutely recommend this place, especially if you are traveling for pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at MannaBay. We are very happy and pleased you were WOW'd by our service and enjoyed the beautiful views of Cape Town. Being the highest boutique in Cape Town and bordering the Table Mountain National Park we do benefit from gorgeous Table Mountain and city views.

Warm regards, The MannaBay team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed here in April 2014 for the beginning of our honeymoon trip. From the moment we arrived until we left, we have had a level of service that is clearly amazing. Every staff member is dedicated to make your stay enjoyable, hassle free and memorable. Justine is by far the best manager we have ever seen in all the places we've visited over the years. Professional, diligent, efficient, resourceful and always thinking forward. She can help you out for anything and will solve problems if they occur.
The hotel is beautiful, intimate and exclusive. You will feel at home right away. Nice pool, sundeck for yoga, little gym... everything is there, plus the surroundings! Pure magic!
From Breakfast to high tea, the food is excellent, thanks to the chefs.

Thank you all for a memorable stay!

Patricia and Antoine

Ps.Thank you also to Shadrack, so nice, genuine and always smiling. We enjoyed our little chats. Best of luck and success with your doctorate! Continue to support Real Madrid!

Room Tip: Explorer room has a great theme decoration with a blend of antique and modern. superb sea view and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Patricia and Antoine - thank you ! Thank you for taking your time and leaving wonderful feedback of your stay with us at MannaBay in April. We loved having you with us and even happier that your honeymoon in Cape Town and MannaBay was so memorable. Over and above providing a luxury and comfortable stay, we thrive on guest experience and engagement. I am thrilled we delivered on these and made your honeymoon so memorable. We will never forget your warm and lovely smiles. Warm regards, Justine and The MannaBay team (P.S. I'll have a word with Shadrack :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We've stayed in boutique hotels around the world, from NYC to Paris to Buenos Aires, and this was one of the best, if not the best.

Excellent service, breakfast and high tea were very fresh and tasty, and the rooms are fantastic. We started in the Orchid room, and were upgraded to the Versailles room even though we hadn't booked that specific room. It was our honeymoon and this made it that much more special.

The small details are where they really stand out, from the complimentary wine, rides into and from town, and suggestions on where to go and how to do it best. The new location (since maybe fall 2013?) makes the view unbeatable, right at the base of Table Mountain.

I will recommend this hotel to anyone going to Cape Town.

Room Tip: If you can get it, go for Versailles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. Very happy you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade for your honeymoon. Our chefs Ric and Lauren prepare all our MannaBay Cafe (breakfast) and high tea items daily - so glad you enjoyed them. Our Waterford house wine and complimentary dinner transfers make it easy for you to relax with a glass of wine, enjoy the city or Table Mountain views and not have to worry about navigating your way to your evening dinner reservation. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Warm regards, Justine and The MannaBay team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
1 review
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed at the old Manna Bay when we were there in May of 2013. At that time it was nearby with similar, spectacular views. The rooms, public areas food and service were incredible. The reason I feel confident in giving Manny Bay a 5 star rating is that I can tell that the same staff is supporting the new location. One day while renting a car we realized we had left our passport at the hotel; one of the staff members brought it to us downtown. She also helped us procure a couple "Canning Jar" solar lights we saw at a safari camp; she picked them up from the manufacturer on the way to work. The car service is new and a good idea. We took cabs which was easy, but now it must be painless. We would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you Stephen for your feedback - yes, rather late than never. You are correct - we have relocated just 1 km further up the mountain so have even better more magnificent city and Table Mountain views. All the staff moved with us as well as employing more special people to join our team. It would be great for you to return. Next time I will ensure you have your passport with you when collecting your car - or even better, get your vehicle delivered while you sip your coffee admiring the views. Warm regards, Justine and The MannaBay team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Thank you for an amazing weekend! If you want something special,unique,luxurious and private stay at MannaBay! The staff are all amazing and the views both behind and in front of the property are incredible. MannaBay goes the extra mile and there are so many wonderful touches that you will just have to find out for yourself.

We stayed in the Flamingo Room and loved it :)

Room Tip: I think all rooms are equally special
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
To Jonty and Lauren - thank you for your amazing feedback ! So happy you enjoyed your wedding anniversary with us in our luxury Flamingo room. The Table Mountain view from there is just spectacular. Warm regards Justine, and The MannaBay team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MannaBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MannaBay

Address: 8 Bridle Road | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MannaBay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can't get much closer to Table Mountain than this... In the heart of Cape Town, MannaBay has just eight uniquely designed suites that set the bar for contemporary luxury. From this prime setting on the border of the Table Mountain National Park with suites becoming of Persian Princes, Orchid Hunters and Heroic Explorers alike, you can experience the Mother City in sheer comfort and privacy, with a team of friendly staff dedicated to making every guest's experience as special as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your MannaBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MannaBay Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MannaBay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.