We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I stayed at in South Africa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amber Tree Lodge

Save Saved
You added Amber Tree Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amber Tree Lodge
10 Kloof Nek Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best hostel I stayed at in South Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Booked for 2 days, ended up staying for 10. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff as well as the location being ideal as it was not too far to walk to most places of interest. Would highly recommend to anyone visitng Cape Town.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
55
48
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

srdphen was incredibly helpful and made our stay in capetown very enjoyable. he set up a great wine tour for us, suggested some excellent places nearby to eat at (Arnolds for game and the local Ocean basket for fish, with a coupon for a free bottle of wine at Arnods. Both were excellent. ) we stayed in the private double room with bathroom. It was great: clean, lots of room and a nice bathroom. Location was perfect, close to all we needed. A wonderful place to stay, looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Amber Tree Lodge for 10 days. I came to Cape Town without a plan and ended up just staying there. Nothing more to add to all the other reviews - Stephen and Wayne are amazing, it is a great place in a beautiful and safe neighbourhood for good money. I am coming back to CPT in about two weeks - and guess where I will be staying...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heibloem, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed at Amber Tree Lodge for 10 days. Not going to write a review >> see score, ranking and the reviews from other guests. Excellent place to stay (loved the hammock with a beautifull view on the Table Mountain)!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hostel. Good location, not too far away from long street and the nearest bar is like 50 m away, but still it's quiet enough. The staff is awesome, they really make you feel right at home! The dorms are actually really cozy, beds comfortable and the toilets and showers are the cleanest I' ve ever seen in a hostel. The free breakfast, tea and coffe is a nice bonus. You also have free wifi throughout the hostel. It isn't a huge hostel which, I think, makes it more intimate and easier to get to know the other guests. I also like the common room with it's tv, dvd and movies, computer and books. Would absolutely revisit Amber Tree Lodge if I return to Cape Town!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Won't repeat the other reviews on here, but just to say it totally lived up to them. Nice rooms, really helpful staff, and good facilities. Good location, within walking distance of most parts of CT. Definitely would recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Amber Tree Lodge is a really great place to stay. Excellent people and really nice comfortable rooms. Location is really great too, close to lots of nice places to eat, ATM's, Supermarket etc. and Table Mountain is right there as well. If you plan to stay in Cape Town you should definetly check this place out.
We picked up some really great pointers for the rest of our trip from Henk.

The balcony is pretty amazing too. Great place to chill out and relax after a big day climbing the mountain or cruising around the city.

We loved this place so much we left our guitar there for other travellers to play. Have fun if you go there and have a jam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amber Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Tree Lodge

Address: 10 Kloof Nek Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 99 Specialty lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Amber Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Tree Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amber Tree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.