We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT CURRIES HOUSED IN AN INSANELY BEAUTIFUL BUILDING!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Brasserie

Bombay Brasserie
Cnr Wale Str & St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 819 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Luxury dining meets fine Indian cuisine at the Bombay Brasserie where every meal is a gastronomic journey through a delicate melody of flavours. Contemporary Indian dining at its best. We also offer an award winning wine list, local craft beers, valet parking and large groups up to 8 guests.
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“GREAT CURRIES HOUSED IN AN INSANELY BEAUTIFUL BUILDING!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I've dined at Bombay Brasserie a few times and have mostly had great curries! Recommended curries are the prawn curry and the chicken tikka 'styled' curry. The naan breads are insanely good! I have had a few starters/curries that have been average and can't say I've been blown away by the dessert selection. The wine list is extensive and the waiting staff are incredible friendly and knowledgable. A great night out! & I'll will definately go back time and time again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    39
    21
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jalandhar, India
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very good Indian food in cape town downtown for a change. Service was again very good though we(a group of six friends) had to wait for 30 minutes as our table was not ready inspite of advance booking. We were offered free drinks during waiting period. But in the end we enjoyed our meal and would recommend the place to enjoy authentic Indian meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Indian Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We booked to have dinner here for our wedding anniversary and couldn't have made a better choice. Service was impeccable, our waitor was very polite with a good sense of humour. For mains I had the Lamb Shank and my partner had Chicken Tikka Masala, all I can say is divine, fantastically cooked and well presented.
A lovely touch was the palate cleansers in between, the orange and basil sorbet was perfect.

Thsi certainly was the best Indian meal I have had and we will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Need to Book”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I love eating here especially the lamb chops. However you really need to book in advance as it is always busy

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Creative Indian cuisine made this the best Indian food we've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

The flavours in every dish were exquisitely blended. Each dish was presented with real style and any queries were answered by the chef in person. The venue is really well decorated and adds to a wonderful experience all round. Will be one of our favorites.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Brasserie also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bombay Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.