We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to its name” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Brasserie

Bombay Brasserie
Cnr Wale Str & St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 819 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Luxury dining meets fine Indian cuisine at the Bombay Brasserie where every meal is a gastronomic journey through a delicate melody of flavours. Contemporary Indian dining at its best. We also offer an award winning wine list, local craft beers, valet parking and large groups up to 8 guests.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Lives up to its name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

As lovers of Indian Food this was on another scale. Impressive menu making choice difficult but the starters and main courses we chose were first class. Lamb had been cooked and spiced so well it could have been cut with a plastic knife. Prawn curry also outstanding. Service and presentation matched the food and as we said to the maitre d if he had seen some of the Indian restaurants we have eaten in he would be shocked.
Price also very reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    38
    21
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
chester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit and it definitely won't be our last. Everything about our evening was lovely starting with very good cocktails and followed by an amazingly tasty meal. The service was impeccable and the maître d charming and very knowledgable when asked about the wine list. I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant and cannot wait to make a return visit

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

After all the good reviews on TA we visited this restaurant recently.
Service was excellent, but the food was a bit of a let down ( both curries were oversalted , which took away from the taste of the food).

Lovely cocktail bar though in the reception area !

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Truly authentic Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

excellent preparations, chicken tikkas and lamb were delicious and not rich in oil. Vegetaran choices were abundant and also very well prepared. Service was very personal and prompt. a

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Amazing flavours and impeccable service. Accommodated my gluten intolerance with so much respect and kindness

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Brasserie also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bombay Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.