We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of On The Rocks

On The Rocks
45 Stadler Road | Bloubergstand, Cape Town Central 7441, South Africa
+ 2721 554 1988
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

A great evening. Staff friendly and helpfull. Food was fantastic. The view priceless. Well priced for the qyality of food served

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    51
    26
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great venue - 3 Adults and 2 children age 5 and 7. We sat outside on the deck as it was such a beautiful day. The waves can be quite dangerous for kids - so keep a close watch!! The kids had chicken strips and potatoe wedges, which were adequate. (I was told that they will be launching a kiddies menu next month). My daughter and hubby had the fillet steak, which they said was superb. I had the chicken gorganzolla which was just as good!
The service could have been better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dinner at On the Rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Had a very pleasant dinner at On the Rocks last night. Two of us ordered the yellowtail which, while being a much sought after fish as "catch of the day", can often be very dry if not properly prepared. It was perfect. The accompanying risotto that one of us ordered was light and had a delicate herb flavouring, which didnt overpower the pallate. The third person in our group had the neck of pork, which was described as very tasty, tender and most enjoyable. To accompany the meal we had a good bottle of Merlot. Dessert and coffee followed.
As practically the only fine dining restaurant along the Table View to Melkbos coastal stretch, On the Rocks did not fail to impress. Service was overall on the positive side and a refreshing change to "the treatment" I've endured the past few days in various establishments around Cape Town. There is however definite room for service improvement with more attention needed to the small details like providing a short overview of what specials are on offer for the day and any particular wishes the guests would like.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“It just doesn't get any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a wonderful late lunch we had at On The Rocks---our fillet was fabulous, the presentation was amazing. We have had several fillets in South Africa in the last month and this was the best, hands down. We had one of the lovely tables right next to the window and watching the waves break on the shore was memorable. We didn't need dessert, but had it anyway. Again, wonderful food, remarkable presentation. Take the short drive and dine here....I know you will be glad you did.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place for a sundowner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We sat outside "on the rocks" and enjoyed a drink as a glorious sunset was unfolding. The views are truly beautiful. Having Access to the beach gives it an extra tick. For dinner we moved inside and enjoyed good food and service. Their unique wine tasting system is definitely worth a try.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Rocks also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to On The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On The Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.