We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service and atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Bicycle Club

Bombay Bicycle Club
158 Kloof Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central, South Africa (City Bowl)
021 423 6805
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Bowl
Uk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We read about this place in our travel guide and thought we would give it a go. We arrived without a reservation (not advised!) luck was on our side as there had been a cancellation and we managed to get a table for four of us. Staff were friendly and were knowledgeable about the food and wines on offer in this quirky, vibrant place. Well presented fresh ingredients, great meats and salads, sticky ribs, steaks, fish. Great cocktails and puds too!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    75
    19
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun, vibey and eclectic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Lots of fun things to look at, good food and vibe. Will definitely go back, it was a great evening out. Prices a bit on the high side, but well worth it for the venue and vibe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An eccentric venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This restaurant has something very whimsical about it. The eclectic array of displays greet your eyes as you enter the front door - and you might be lucky enough to sit at their swings!

The price is right at this restaurant and the food just speaks for itself! Have their signature dish - the Chocolate Chilly Steak and you will be whisked away to a tasteful adventure. However it took me almost three months to get a reservation so make sure that you call or email them as soon as you can!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Crazy and fun atmosphere with some interesting food options!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a very fun place with an interesting atmosphere that I highly recommend to anyone looking for something different then the norm in Cape Town! The special on the night I was there was Wildebeest steak which was cooked perfectly and was delicious! The staff was very friendly and some even enjoyed doing tequila shots with us. A great time for sure!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Funky Decor Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a place where girls and boys come out to play in the Mother City. The ambience has a theatrical tone and diners dress up or down. Anything goes. A perfect venue for a party or a fun high energy night out. Decor is an eclectic ensemble of kitsch – bric –a- brac displayed with flair and unabashed humour. Glorious mix of music sets the mood for levity and laughter. We celebrated a birthday at Bombay Bicycle Club, and there were twenty of us seated at two tables set together in a snug corner. The restaurant was full but our dishes arrived simultaneously which we appreciated. We chose the set menu which was excellent value for money. Food was well prepared, plated with a flourish, delivered with great dexterity - generous portions left us satiated and feeling simply fabulous!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Bicycle Club also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bombay Bicycle Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay Bicycle Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.