We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another delicious meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duchess of Wisbeach

Duchess of Wisbeach
3 Wisbeach Road | Seapoint, Cape Town Central, South Africa
214341525
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
no thanks
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another delicious meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A great neighborhood restaurant where I ordered great wine to go with a great meal served by very friendly, helpful staff!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    75
    22
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderfully whimsical but with a hint of arrogance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Lovely food and gorgeous ambiance, too bad our waitress and other servers got the needle when we dared enquire about a misplaced order or heaven forbid - share a dish...The dutchess herself made an appearance to ensure the food and service was up-to-scratch, of which it was (mostly)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loud, busy,noisy . Average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went to the Duchess on Friday night. It was packed with customers. The music was very loud at one point...we had to ask them to turn it down. They did, for a few minutes, then it went back up again. The food is average,hardly haute cuisine and the steak we ordered was tough.
Our waiter was very friendly and the service was good.
Its a good place if you are out to celebrate something with friends but hardly appropriate for a quiet meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went to this restaurant twice on a recent trip to Capetown. The first night we were pretty much the only people there and the second it was PACKED which made a huge difference in the overall atmosphere of the place. This place has a very interesting decor, if you don't mind dogs and cheesy statues.... The have good quality food for very reasonable prices ($60 for 2 pple with bottle of wine). The apricot sticky toffee pudding with homemade ice cream was favourite, had to order this twice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing Evening”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had dinner there on Saturday night. The stuffed onions were under-cooked and hardly stuffed with Gorgonzola (we sent these back), the gnocchi was absolutely revolting and when my friend sent it back after 5 of us had tasted it (and confirmed that it tasted of rancid garlic), the chef and owner Theresa, shouted loudly from the kitchen area "[insert profanity here]". I asked the waiter if she was referring to our complaint about the gnocchi and he confirmed this fact and added "welcome to Teresa". This behaviour is completely unacceptable. Further, the chocolate mousse had not set and is definitely not value for money. The remaining meals were average and nothing special. Will not be returning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duchess of Wisbeach also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 

Been to Duchess of Wisbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duchess of Wisbeach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.