We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Cape Town City Centre to your Saves list
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #41 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Impeccable Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I just stayed at this Hilton for 5 nights (I checked out May 6). From the moment I stepped through the door, until I left, every employee I came into contact with, gave me the absolute HIGHEST amount of customer service I could ask for. Attentive, kind, without being overbearing and "clingy."

Due to a minor error, I was upgraded to an Executive Room on the 8th floor (Room 801). The room was very large, clean, modern and well maintained. House cleaning did a wonderful job in keeping my room cleaned, including turn down service, etc. Room service was quick and efficient. My room overlooked the "Bo Kaap" district, and I could see their brightly colored houses every night. I could also see the ferris wheel at the V&A.

Contrary to what some persons say, as the hotel is too far away to walk to much, I walked to the V&A almost everyday; several times 2-3 times a day. That would include going to the District 6 Museum and the Jewish Museum. If you are just a fairly fit person, walking the area is of no concern. I never felt threatened or concerned.

I was able to eat breakfast in the Executive Room for free. It had everything I needed: Eggs, bacon, cheese, meat, toast and several different breads. Along with yogurt, fruit, cereal, milk, and of course coffee. The main restaurant had a similar layout for their breakfast buffet and you could order omelets, etc.

This Hilton is just what it is: A Hilton, with very high customer service values and very high room quality. If I ever get back to Cape Town (God I hope I do), I WILL stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    232
    56
    23
    14
See reviews for
75
201
44
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

170 Nights was the total of my stay at this Hotel, I have never experienced a better stay. The staff are SUPER friendly and helpful. Very professional. The hotel is very clean and food was Halal. Location is perfect. The V&A shuttle needs to be extended a little bit more. I suggest instead of having it running every hour it would be better if it runs every 2 hours and the last one returns at 9 mayb. My final words to the team are keep it up. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting cape town.I heard the hotel is having some renovations soon also which am sure will add more beauty to the place and mayb have a nice swimming pool instead of the currently big bath tub :) Thanks to each and everyone I have dealt with, met and helped me during my stay. It was a lekker stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makassar, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The location is in the city center, very strategic. But the room is a bit small compared to the other Hilton that I 've ever use before.
The service was very good. Breakfast was nice, but I think not very much variation.
For Asians, the bathroom must be very likeable because on the toilet is equipted with washlet.
There's a convenience store just across the Hotel to buy our needs and to Top up your local prepaid SIM card,
Overall it's a pleasant to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Hotel had beautiful spacious rooms comfy beds friendly helpful hotel staff. Free town car to waterfront. Central city location. Would recommend this hotel if you wanted to stay in the city. If you rather stay near the sea try stay in bantry bay

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto de la Cruz, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Apart from the friendly, very helpful staff,this hotel fell short of the standards I have experienced previously at hotels owned by the Hilton. We are not Executive or Gold Members but people travelling with us, who had access to the Executive Lounge and dining facilities had a very different, more enjoyable experience during the week we were there. Breakfasts in the main part of the hotel were very good and service excellent but the only evening meal we enjoyed was in the Indian restaurant which was excellent However eat early- the night we visited a large family group arrived and descended on the buffet table like gannets. The staff very kindly recooked some dishes so we could taste a range of dishes but we did have to wait for the freshly cooked food. Breakfast take away menu disappointing - there was no spoon to eat the yoghurt,straw to drink the juice, the coffee was cold and the meat was warm.
Next time we visit Cape Town we will choose an hotel In the Victoria and Alfred complex so we have the freedom to come and go as we please, particularly in the evenings, and not rely on the shuttle bus, which finishes at 6pm and taxies

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool, or if this is not possible a room near the top of the building with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed our friendly and helpful team members as well as our main breakfast selection and dinner options. It is with regret that you did not have the same experience with the breakfast take away menu. I have relayed your comment to the Food & Beverage Manager who will review the offer accordingly.

Benefits for members of our loyalty program HHonors, as recognition for our guests’ patronage, are being delivered at our property according to brand guidelines.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope that my team and I will have the opportunity to redeem our services to you at some point in the future.

With my personal regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We used this hotel as our 'base' for a recent trip to South Africa, staying at the hotel three times over the space of two weeks.

Location is really convenient for access to the Gardens and Museums (five minutes walk), quick drive down to the V&A Waterfront (5 minutes drive) as well as close to Table Mountain cableway etc. If you have a car, the parking underneath the hotel is safe and secure.

We had two interconnecting rooms for all of our visits which worked really well as we're travelling with kids who need their own beds and are too old to share with us. Some of the rooms were looking a little tired in places, fitting worn here and there by generally in a good condition. One thing which they do lack is storage space! Not a problem if you're a business traveller there for a few days, but if you've got suitcases of clothes, there's not much hanging space and little (no) drawer space.

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful (especially the team at breakfast), but the concierges do need to up their game. Sunday nights, most of the restaurants in the CBD area are closed - they should really know that since the hotel is right there in the CBD!!! But they dutifully called around to see if they could make reservations. Do they know of any good restaurants over in Camps Bay? No, sorry, don't know.

There are some really good restaurants in the area, all within walking distance - if you're a 'meat' fan, check out 'Carne' and '95' in Keerom Street - but you do need to book.

All in all, a good hotel to use as base.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Located on the edge of BoKaap, it is easy to get to all of the Cape Town attractions. Hotel is clean and comfortable. Travel desk staff are very aggressive, but not well-informed. Executive Lounge staffers are wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa’s second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 140 guests in one of 8 meeting rooms which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Start the day with breakfast in Bistro 126, savor authentic North Indian cuisine in the elegant Mezbaan Restaurant and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cape Town City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.