We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff made our stay a pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Cape Town City Centre to your Saves list
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #41 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful staff made our stay a pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of days at either end of our South Africa holiday in March / April 2014. It's located next to the BoKaap Muslim Quarter and a short (ZAR50) taxi ride to the fantastic V&A Waterfront. The hotel provides afree hourly shuttle bus but it ceases at 6pm. No complaints with the hotel, good facilties including (unheated) pool and gym and a great breakfast served by excellent staff. Nearby, we found "Publik" a great wine bar just over the road from the hotel. It's run by energetic and enthusiastic staff and serves only organic quality wine. A chance tho sample top quality wines at SA prices and not get a chemical hang-over! Try the Bismillah restaurant too, 100m up toward BoKaap for excellent and inexpensive Malay cuisine.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    230
    56
    23
    14
See reviews for
75
201
44
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Average hotel, not well located, required taxi or hotel shuttle - which was too small for number of people who wanted to use it - to get to V & A and other tourist areas.Hotel was a little tired and dated.We were unable to close bedroom window and so room was noisy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Very nice, clean and modern hotel with nice amenities. Our room had a spectacular direct view of Table Mountain out the oversized picture window. Clean lines and modern design feel extended to the bathroom as well, with free standing soaker tub and seperate shower with both rainfall showerhead and adjustable hand held shower. Room was quite large and included an ample sized desk perfect to spread out papers or maps to plan your tour of the Cape Peninsula. Breakfast buffet in the restaurant was very nice and included both local and english touches. Complimentary shuttel to the V&A waterfront was super convenient and a nice touch. Overall a very good choice when staying in Cape Town City Center.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Great service with amazing amenities in a great location. Would highly recommend to anyone on business or vacation. Although we were at this location only one evening, we had friends who stayed around the same time for multiple nights and had the same great feedback. You can quickly get to V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, Camps Bay and more. Rooms were new, clean and fresh. Internet access was fast, which was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your “outstanding” experience at Hilton Cape Town City Centre with the TripAdvisor community.

My team and I are happy to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and so did your friends.

Thank you for recommending us to fellow travelers and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon!

With my personal regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I've never stayed in a Hiton Hotel before and always opted for other accomodation establishments such as the Sheraton. Due to over booking I was upgraded to an executive suit, one word AWESOME!!!. Definitely going back there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your “awesome” review on TripAdvisor! I am delighted to read that you experienced the renowned Hilton Hospitality and look forward to seeing you soon!

With my personal regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaounde, Cameroon
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Located on the Bo kaap area, walking distance to all major attractions. No alcohol in some outlets and porc in breakfast due to respect of neighbourhood beliefs...so if bacon is really important to you during breakast..you know what to expect. Besides this little aspect the breakfast experience was very enjoyable.
Rooms have wonderful views over Table Mountain. Concierges are always present and willing to help. Welcome drink offered at check in, WiFi included in prices. Complimentary shuttle to and from the VA Waterfront every hour. Nice chill out terrace. We walked to the green point from the hotel and had experienced some good restaurants. We would stay again at this property.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England.
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
159 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed here twice this month and were very impressed both times. The guys on the door, the concierge, the reception team, the housekeeping and wait staff - they were all friendly, helpful and worked together really well to deliver a great guest experience.

The hotel is conveniently situated in the centre of the City and benefits from a Thrifty/Dollar car rental office in the basement which makes hiring a car here so easy. One day we walked a couple of minutes up the road to take the Hop-On, Hop-Off bus which proved a great way to get reacquainted with Cape Town.

We really enjoyed breakfast at the Hilton and appreciated someone from the wait staff checking on us each day and ensuring we had everything we needed. With our Diamond Hhonors we were fortunate to be allocated beautiful and spacious accommodation and access to the Exec Lounge which although small and a little dark offered delicious homemade banana cake with afternoon tea!

This really was a great stay, made so by the team working here to whom we say a big thank-you for their kindness and exemplary hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa’s second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 140 guests in one of 8 meeting rooms which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Start the day with breakfast in Bistro 126, savor authentic North Indian cuisine in the elegant Mezbaan Restaurant and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cape Town City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.