We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay ib Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Cape Town City Centre to your Saves list
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #41 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay ib Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed for 3 days at the Hilton prior to going off on 21 day Cape Town to Victoria Falls Safari. I cannot recommend this Hotel enough to a foreign Traveler. The road outside the Hotel goes right to the Cable Car to the Top of Table Mountain! A must see destination in Cape Town. In addition the quality of service and high level of Customer Service made this a wonderful stay. Parking is about $8 a day under the hotel and is well worth the price.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

Your positive comments regarding our location and quality of service is greatly appreciated.

I am grateful that you would recommend the hotel to others and look forward to welcome you back soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    232
    56
    23
    14
See reviews for
75
201
44
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

A gem among the Hilton Hotels. A great location and a very high level
of service.
Starting from a very friendly check in, we only had great experiences. The room is nice furnished and very clean, the housekeeping service is very attentive.
The breakfast was very good, they offered great selections.

The staff was outstanding in taking care of us. Definitely I will return and recommend this hotel again and to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Hilton Cape Town City Centre. I was pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you would recommend Hilton Cape Town City Centre to others.

I am very pleased that would describe our hotel as "a gem" and that you enjoyed the central city location. Your positive comments regarding our Front Office and Housekeeping team members are appreciated and I have thanked them personally.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Hilton Cape Town offers everything you need for a perfect holiday in beautiful South Africa: modern style and nice furnished rooms and puclic areas, a great pool, great selection of tasty food, excellent wines and a great location to explore the city and it's surrounding.
These hard facts together with very welcoming and friendly staff made our holiday unforgetable! We hope to come back soon!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

It is particularly warming to know that we were able to contribute to your perfect holiday experience in South Africa. Your positive comments about our team is greatly appreciated and I have thanked them personally.

Looking forward to welcome you back to another unforgettable holiday!

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed here on Points for 5 nights in late May, and the experience was very positive. Things I liked:
1. I'm HHonors Diamond. I received a tremendous room upgrade on my stay. We were in a 2 room suite which was amazing. HUGE room with an amazing view of Table Mountain.

2. Concierge service was terrific. We had great recommendations on tours.

3. Shuttle service was timely and well run. Mercedes E class picked us up at the airport for a shockingly modest fee, and the mini-van shuttle to the fisherman's wharf area was free.

4. Nice Executive Lounge. Nothing special, but solid.

What I didn't like:
1. The mosque down the street is between the hotel and Table Mountain. We were on the 8th floor and the prayers are sent through an amplifier in the area. It didn't wake us but you could hear it.

2. Not walking distance to much great food.

Terrific staff. Great room. Would stay there again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor room with a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Hilton Cape Town City Centre. I was pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you would return to our property.

Your loyalty as a Diamond member is appreciated and I am happy that we were able to spoil you with an upgrade to a 2 bedroom Suite.

Due to our location in the traditional Bo-Kaap area, some guests may be aware of the noise from the mosque. As a solution I can suggest requesting a pool facing room during your next stay. Your comfort is our top priority and we will do our best to accommodate your request.

Your positive feedback is appreciated and have been shared with the rest of my team.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramrod Key, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I really am pleased that I stayed at this Hilton property. They had excellent service, an amazing breakfast included and was centrally located close to my meeting and attractions of the area. They even had dedicated staff to arranging trips to match my need for quick visits to the sights of the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed our central location and attractions offered in the immediate area.

Your positive comments regarding our excellent service is appreciated and have been relayed to the Concierge and rest of my team.

I am honoured that we were able to create vacation memories for you and look forward to welcome you back soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEEPY MAGNA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here whilst visiting my daughter
All in all it's a very nice hotel I would recommend it I felt entirely safe dispite being a woman travelling alone

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I was pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you would recommend Hilton Cape Town City Centre to others.

Your comfort is our priority and I look forward to welcome you and your daughter back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

A standard 'in town' large hotel with welcoming staff. Best suited to business traveler rather than holiday maker. But we could not understand why only Halal food was served. No bacon for breakfast! This aspect would put me off if we ever go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

Your positive feedback regarding our welcoming staff is appreciated and have been shared with the rest of my team.

As a global hospitality company, we serve as a meeting place for people from all walks of life. In an effort to meet the needs of our diverse guests and the communities in which we operate, Hilton Cape Town City Centre provides a Halaal-friendly environment.

Two of our restaurants, Bistro 126 and Mezbaan have been certified as Halaal by SANHA (South African National Halaal Authority). Although we do not have bacon, beef bacon is available as alternative.

I hope that this did not negatively affect your stay and that you were still able to create magical memories in Cape Town.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa’s second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 140 guests in one of 8 meeting rooms which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Start the day with breakfast in Bistro 126, savor authentic North Indian cuisine in the elegant Mezbaan Restaurant and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cape Town City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.