We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming location- Average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Octopus Garden

Octopus Garden
Main Road | St James, Cape Town Central, South Africa
0217885646
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $18
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Café, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Octopus' Garden Restaurant/Coffee Shop/Wine & Whisky Bar was born on the 5th January 2005. The inspiration for the name comes from the BEATLES song. Ringo Starr was inspired by the tendency of Octopi to collect shells& stones to create an environment/ 'Garden' in which they live 'Under the Sea'.If you feel a wee bit amorous or oddly captivated by your dining partner during or after a meal with us, we do apologize, but our cooking incorporates the odd aphrodisiac & HUGE quantities of love!Please be patient. Our kitchen is small, but good things come to those who are nice to us!And remember: Beauty is NOT in the eye of the beholder...she is in our kitchen!
Monrovia, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming location- Average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just steps from St James Beach and pool is this eclectic little cafe. Best part is sitting in the sun on the patio nursing a brew and watching the action at the the light rail stop just behind. A dinner was fine but the fish and chips for lunch left something to be desired.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    10
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I went with my family to take advantage of the special offer on fresh mussels.

This was the third time we had eaten at the Octopus's Garden and yet again they did not disappoint.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“walking distance from our b&b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stopped by famished after a day of wine tasting. Food was great and so was wine. Server, a male teacher (sorry we forgot his name) was great. Funky decor and interesting menu. Good evening gigs with live music.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Top Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Beautiful restaurant in a great location, with great food and immaculate service provided by Kitty and her team.

Well worth a visit, you won't be disappointed.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

This is one of those magical places you are lucky to stumble upon. The owner Kitty Muller is a Hostess - extraordinaire who will have you enticed from the moment you step inside. The restaurant is an All 5 senses delight with the finest international music collection I have ever heard, the most beautiful paintings on the wall and the tastiest selection of treats on the menu. You have the choice of sitting outside in the gentle ocean breeze with the sunshine on your back or indoors where the vibe has got you bobbing in your seat. Jaime is Kitty’s right hand lady, who will also ensure that your visit is a memorable one.
The specials menu is always a great surprise as it often includes original recipes and flavours from all parts of the Globe that have been put together with the greatest of care. I’ve had a number of the dishes and would highly recommend the Home-made burgers with mushroom sauce, the Chicken Thai curry or the Butternut & Feta Wrap. Oh – and I would not miss out on the cheesecake….it’s quite possibly the very best in Cape Town.
Whether you go on a candle lit dinner night, a festive themed party or a lazy Sunday afternoon – you are in for a lovely experience!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Octopus Garden also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Octopus Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Octopus Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.