We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meloncino

Meloncino
Shop 259, Upper level | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 (0)21 419 5558
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Meloncino – Ristorante, Bar, Pizzeria ItalianoExperience authentic Italian cuisine in Cape TownMeloncino restaurant opened at the V&A Waterfront, bringing a genuine Italian flavour to our shores. The modern and stylish décor create an eclectic European vibe where one can sip cocktails and snack on canapés, nuts and olives. As someone suggested, “Close your eyes and you could be in Rome.” Open your eyes and you face the magnificent Table Mountain, as seen from the comfort of one of Meloncino’s white sofas. Expect home-made pasta with authentic Italian sauces, steaks and seafood from their charcoal grill, traditional wood-fired pizza and an extensive menu to choose from. In order to stay faithful to the original, various ingredients like cheese, coffee and wine are imported from Italy. Buon appetito!
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great family restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We visited Cape Town for the first time and stayed in the Waterfront. This restaurant was recommended to us by a friend. My family and I had a great time. The food was great; the service was friendly and very professional.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    113
    32
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dinner with Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Brilliant - Need I say more. aromas of Italian spices drifting in the air. Ambience great. and those potato crisps - Priceless.
Staff all round good. And always a friendly manager around to check if all in order

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pistoia
1 review
“One of my favourite in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I travel a lot for work and typically my clients bring me to Italian restaurants.
you can image that for me, Italian, to have lunch or dinner in Italian restaurant outside Italy is not the best......
So, I would like to suggest you this restaurant because the flavour are really close and perfect balance like in Italy. You can ask "cofaccina" and add very crispy, will be fantastic.
Ask to Alberto, the owner, which dish he suggest. Follow him and you will be satisfy.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Italian on the V&A waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We arrived at the restaurant but it was full, the hostes was so welcoming she recommended u ls to take a seat at the sofas looking into the water front have a drink and a table will be ready soon! Now that's professional!
We my kids ordered a pizza, it was an amazing thin crust pizza best ever had!
My wife ordered the ossobuco, although she had to wait a while for it but it was a very reach dish with lots of flavors and mouthwatering, I had an amazing risotto with vegetables, it was so fresh and you could almost feel the taste of each vegetables and yet cooked so well with a nice bottle if Pinot Noir off course South African!
The place was packed with guest enjoying their evening with real Italian food and at the end Paolo the manager offered us a lemon Chello for digestive! A true Italian experience, I would really recommend this restaurant with its friendly service as owner walks around to make sure each and every guest receives the best service! Now that's what I call A real Italian Culture in gastronomy! Well done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A good italian restaurant at the waterfront”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We both had a pasta dish and the best thing was that we could taste the olive oil with which they were cooked!! Delicious!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meloncino also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Meloncino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meloncino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.