We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meloncino

Meloncino
Shop 259, Upper level | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 (0)21 419 5558
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Meloncino – Ristorante, Bar, Pizzeria ItalianoExperience authentic Italian cuisine in Cape TownMeloncino restaurant opened at the V&A Waterfront, bringing a genuine Italian flavour to our shores. The modern and stylish décor create an eclectic European vibe where one can sip cocktails and snack on canapés, nuts and olives. As someone suggested, “Close your eyes and you could be in Rome.” Open your eyes and you face the magnificent Table Mountain, as seen from the comfort of one of Meloncino’s white sofas. Expect home-made pasta with authentic Italian sauces, steaks and seafood from their charcoal grill, traditional wood-fired pizza and an extensive menu to choose from. In order to stay faithful to the original, various ingredients like cheese, coffee and wine are imported from Italy. Buon appetito!
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had a nice atmosphere / service was very good / the food good and was well presented - we ate well (family of four 2+2) - well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear yummycool

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic evening with us. We value our guests and it is great to hear that the service and food lived up to your expectations.

Kind regards
Paolo Carrara
Co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    136
    40
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“I feel spoilt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A friend and I were looking for a place with good food and great atmosphere. We strolled past Meloncino and were drawn in by the pizza. However, once we had a good look we were pleasantly surprised by our options and even more impressed when the food arrived. This is probably one of the best pizza's I've had. I highly recommend this place and will certainly be drawn back here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Ralphdup

Thank you for taking time to write this lovely review. We are delighted to see that you had a great experience at our restaurant. Our pizzas are very popular and we have had great comments about them. We are delighted that the overall experience was fantastic.

Kind regards
Paolo Carrara
Co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Vegetarian Food, Wine and Knowledgeable staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We are from UK and were at Meloncino recently and were totally thrilled with the food. The waiting staff namely Freeman was knowledgeable on the whole menu and and also the best wine to compliment the dish.

Being vegetarian one dose always have good vegetarian options but we were very happy with Meloncino choices and our dinner was superb.

We very much look forward to visiting Cape Town again and Meloncino being a top restaurant to visit with fantastic food,ambiance and value for money too.

We have eaten at many top Italian restaurants in Italy and were very pleased to taste the same authenticity of Italian food at Meloncino.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear hasu a

Thank you for dinning at Meloncino and writing a review on Trip advisor. We are thrilled to hear that you had a true Italian experience with us. We train our staff to have full knowledge of the food and wine list. I will pass on the compliments to Freeman the waiter and the kitchen staff. Thank you once again and we look forward in seeing you on your next visit to our African shores.

Kind regards
Paolo Carrara
Co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Eating out as a family can be a mission sometimes, especially when the youngest one is being just plain difficult! Well that is the way it was when we went there last week. Our son decided he was not hungary and refused to order anything! I had the Venizzia (I think you spell it like that) a spinache and feta pizza and my wife had a fettuccini pasta dish. My son just ordered a chocolate milkshake(which is not even on the menu) and the waiter picked up that he was not a happy chappy. To cut a long story short, owing mainly to the fantastic service by both management and staff (conjuring up bottles of wine that was no longer on the menu) we left the establishment with a much happier son who got his favourite chocolate sauce on his ice cream! I recommend Meloncino to anyone who want a good dining experience together with fantastic service!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Reuben C

Thank you for visiting Meloncino again and writing a second review. I am so glad you feel the consistency is there and that you and your family had a great time. I will pass on the lovely comments to your waiter Quiet. It was only a pleasure making your son feel comfortable and we look forward in hosting many more family dinners.

Kind regards
Paolo Carrara
Co-owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great for work lunches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I use trip advisor a lot while I do admit I should contribute more, sometimes just don't find the time to write. When I see reviews like the one below by kite loser or something, it makes me extremely angry. Trip advisor is and should be used to write constructive reviews about restaurants specially on food and service, not based on some idiots personal design tastes, of which he probably has none, more than likely frequenting one of the many holes on the west cost where they serve you boxed frozen sea food.

Meloncino is one of my favourate meeting spots for work lunches.
Service is fast and efficient
The food is excellent and a variety of menu choices for something light or more substantial
On my recent visit I had the butternut ravioli, my colleague opted for the osso bocco which I believe is home made family recipe! Fantastic, will having that for dinner next time.

Something new though is the coffee. lavazza of course, however next time you go even if it is just for a coffee, order the Roma cappuccino (hazelnut) add very little sugar if any, it is amazing and you will have at least 2.

I hope when you read this review that you will actually find it helpful in relation to the actually food and service experience you will get at this place..... And not the decor Kite Loser!
If you not happy with a place tell us about the food and service so we know whether we should go or give it a miss!

Cheers

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear kinetic46

Thank you for your constant patronage and for writing a second review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to here that we are just as good as the previous time. Thank you for all the lovely compliments and I hope to see you here for many more lunches!

Kind regards
Paolo Carrara
Co-owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meloncino also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Meloncino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meloncino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.