We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food. Nice view of harbor and waterfront.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greek Fisherman

Greek Fisherman
Shop 157 Victoria Wharf Shopping Centre, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central, South Africa
27 21 418 5411
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Take a seat and get a glorious view of Table Mountain while you enjoy seafood and meats grilled over open charcoals. Here at the Greek Fisherman, we are proud of our roots, so expect traditional Greek and Mediterranean dishes. But, we also believe in moving with the times, so we’ve added a modern twist to our otherwise classic cuisine. With our recently-renovated restaurant, you’ll see what we mean by “modern with a twist”. Choose from over 25 meze,starters and tapas!So, bring your friends, bring the whole family! And share freshly-made Mediterranean breads, accompanied by generous helpings of laughter and a magnificent sunset… come share the Greek Fisherman experience!
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good food. Nice view of harbor and waterfront.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Food was very good and fresh. Reasonably priced. Nice view and relaxing atmosphere. Mussels were delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi

Thank you for the review. We are delighted to hear that you had a good experience at our restaurant. We especially delighted that you enjoyed our fresh mussels.

Kind Regards
Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    153
    49
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Service, Great Seafood.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Full Review & Photos Here: http://bit.ly/17koA5a

Visiting V&A Watefront and Cape Town for the first time, we wanted to have some seafood, and in a nutshell Greek Fisherman didn't disappoint!

The Seafood Chowder is one of the best soups I've ever had - rich, hearty, and full of seafood goodness. We also shared the Seafood Platter for Four, which overall was fresh, well cooked and delicious (although the lobster was a little crap).

Service is attentive, good and friendly, and at about $35 per person, it's great value and highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi

Thank you for taking time to write this lovely review. We are delighted to see that you had a great experience at our restaurant. The Fisherman's soup is a very popular dish and we have had great comments about it. Disappointed to hear that the crayfish was not to your satisfaction, but delighted that the overall experience was fantastic.

Thank you once again.

Regards
Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The sea food is made in tratioonal grrek style and is tasty. Wine selection offer good options but some of the wines can be below the expectations. Unfortunately the desserts are not the best and is better to skip it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi

Thank you for the review. We are delighted that you had a great meal with us. We have 130 wines on the wine list, but I am disappointed to hear that the wine you selected didn't live up to your expectation.

Thank you for the feedback.

Regards
Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Service and seafood of note!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I came here with 2 of my friends on saturday evening and we opted to have the chef special wich consists of a selection of mouthwatering seafood. Apart from the big portions and delicious food I cant forget to mention that the service levels and friendliness at this place was at an optimum even thought they were fairly busy. Cant wait to get back there

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic evening with us. We value our guests and it is great to hear that the service lived up to your expectations.

Kind Regards
Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

V&A waterfront is a great and safe area to walk around and eat at night. There is security everywhere around the complex and it felt very safe.

We selected this restaurant from the good trip advisor reports, and all reports proved to be very true. Great food and service, we ordered a huge seafood plateau for 2 people that was fantastic although not cheap at R790.

The whole experience was excellent with great views and atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi

Thank you for the extremely positive feedback. This is always wonderful to hear.

Regards
Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Fisherman also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Greek Fisherman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greek Fisherman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.