We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avian Leisure

Avian Leisure
Simons Town 7995 South Africa, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 21 786 1414
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Liege, Belgium
1 review
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have been birding in more than 20 countries in the last few years and would like to comment on the superb quality of the services offerred by Avian Leisure in Southern Africa. This 3-week trip was by far our most rewarding from the birding/photo points of view. What we liked:(1) Interactive, detailed programming of the tour, with cost and itinerary agreed upon and fulfilled; (2) birding experience of Patrick who took us to those places where specific birds could be seen; (3) Patrick's knowledge of photography and help when of us was sick.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Sep 2005 Bird Tour With Patrick Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

By all means, do your S. African Bird Watching with Patrick Cardwell. We consider Patrick to be the father of S. African Birding, as he has trained many of those now running Rock Jumpers and Trogon Tours. Our experience with these latter companies is that on receives short shrift if not using services several times yearly. With Patrick and Marie-Louise, personal attention and specific birding/wildlife/naturalist or even golfing needs receive the utmost attention. This company is truly client oriented and has the experience needed to provide an uniquely satisfying tour. Be sure to stay in their B&B for a night or two, as the Cape Town experience received will be exceptional.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Fabulous day trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

My Daughter(age 10) and I spent the day with Patrick Cardwell of Avian Leisure. I had read a review on trip advisor and decided to contact Patrick about a bird watching day trip out of Capetown. I told Patrick that we loved bird watching and that my daughter is an animal enthusiast and he put together a wonderful day of bird and animal watching/sighting along the western coast.

Patrick arranged everything from picking us up from our hotel to a picnic, coffee breaks, scenic stops, amazing bird watching, scenic drives along the coast , setting up a scope and visiting a bird blind. He even had extra binoculors if we needed them. We traveled to many sites including West Coast National Park. We were even fortunate enough to spot an African Wildcat and then sit and watch it make a kill. I am an avid photographer and Patrick was amazing in his ability to not only spot birds and animals but also his ability to coax birds out into the open so that I could get good shots of them. My daughter had a great time and not once did she complain about being bored! Patrick was professional, patient and such good conversation. We spotted over 75 different species, which was amazing for wintertime birding, and saw giraffes, kudu and too many other animals to list.

Patrick has an amazing a wealth of knowledge and was an incredible guide. My daughter and I consider our birding trip with Patrick to be one of the highlights of our South African visit. I look forward to taking a guided safari with Patrick in the near future. If you enjoy birds, an outing with Patrick is a must!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“An absolute 'must' for bird lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

We recently spent an entire day in the company of Patrick Cardwell of Avian Leisure. We enjoy birdwatching as amateurs but we are emphatically not professional twitchers - so we hoped that Patrick would not be disappointed to find that we were not knowledgeable about South African birds, simply keen to learn.

He immediately put us at our ease and adjusted the day-long adventure to our level of experience. We visited four different habitats in and around Cape Town in the course of the day, starting in the wonderful Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens.

Patrick was our driver, our guide and our setter-up of the professional bird-scope - and he was also great company! In the course of the day we visited a peaceful inland water area and a breezy coastal strip, as well as the Gardens, and this enabled us to see an astonishing range of birds in the course of that one day - no fewer than 92 different birds, in fact.

We enjoyed every moment - the stop for coffee in a wonderful spot for huge views, the stop for lunch in a rustic eatery with fine views of Table Mountain, the visits to a couple of bird hides, and especially the wide-ranging conversations with Patrick himself.

The birds in the Cape are not necessarily South Africa's most exotic (there are more colourful birds further north) but it was an absolute pleasure to spend a day in the company of a true expert and we can wholeheartedly recommend this experience to anyone who feels they would enjoy learning about the avian riches of this beautiful area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avian Leisure also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Avian Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avian Leisure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.