We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT HOTEL STAY - AMAZING STAFF ATTENTION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepperclub Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pepperclub Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Loop and Pepper Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Cape town
1 review
“BRILLIANT HOTEL STAY - AMAZING STAFF ATTENTION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Our stay at The Pepper Club was truly memorable! I booked a dinner, bed, breakfast package and when I mentioned to the consultant that I would be proposing to my partner on the night, my booking was immediately escalated and I was contacted by the PR Manager Jeanne Cupido. Jeanne went to extrodinary lengths to ensure that every single aspect of our stay was absolutely perfect - she was available at a moments notice to check the in-house cinema equipment several times for a presentation I made, and made sure that all staff knew our schedule and requirements down to the minute-mark.
The Hotel is beautiful, the rooms are gorgeous and SO luxurious and the view over Loop Street is breathtaking!
The hotels restaurant, Sinatra's, served some of the best food we've tasted and the whole stay was excellent value for money considering the extent of service we received.
Jeanne and her team are absolute professionals and ensured that we were treated like royalty whilst still feeling like family thanks to the interest and concern shown.
We were honoured to make Pepper Club part of our history and will forever remember Jeanne's care and thoughtful consideration!
Thank you for a most-memorable stay!

Room Tip: Request room overlooking Loop Street - the view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    167
    66
    26
    20
See reviews for
42
176
14
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

spent three nights room only at the pepper club. Very enjoyable. Nice room plenty of towels. Room faced away from Long Street so quiet on Friday/Saturday nights. Very good mini bus service to camps bay for beach lovers. Also transfers to V&A waterfront, could possibly do with a couple of later evening runs but we used their taxi option and for 6 pound each way no real problem. Ate in the signature restaurant one evening excellant, Good service, good food, good price. Hotel is well situated to be able to walk to most areas of Cape town 25 mins to V&A 10 mins to market area and shops. Didnt really have enough time here could have happily stayed for another couple of nights. Didnt use the pool or gym had a look and nice place to flop for a couple hours.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your time with us. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that on your next visit to Cape Town, we have the pleasure of hosting you once more.

Yours in service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

A very modern and generally well presented Hotel, sadly let down by three things:
#1 Location.
Fronting onto Long St. with its pack packer hostels and late night bars its probably not the location I would build a five star hotel! The noise at night does carry a long way up. Its wasn't a huge problem if you don't go to bed before 1am and are not tee-total.
#2 Location.
Because there are so many bars in the vicinity and presumably late night merry clients, the street corners near the Hotel are a mecca for hustlers. Beware of this area of Long St unless you have your wits about you, or are familiar with of some of the scams.
#3 Location.
Don't expect to impress people by telling them you stayed in a 5 star Hotel at the top end on Long St. especially if they know Cape Town of old. Let say, this was one of the favourite areas for the "Ladies of the Night".


Hotel Service was OK, but not as others reviewers have said; 5 Star.

Pool was small and very exposed being on the 8th Floor. Never seen waves like before on a pool.

Room Tip: Ask for Very High Floor away from Long St
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
633 helpful votes 633 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Our group of 17 guests found unbelievable that it's a 5-star hotel. The lobby is not spacious, not fabulous or impressive. The room inside is good however. Very spacious and clean. Toilet is in another cubicle from bathtub/shower but I prefer them to be in one for more convenience. It's a rainshower head but I prefer it to be the common one as sometimes I just want to clean the body without the head got wet. There is a kitchenette also.

Breakfast good but there is no one coming to offer hot tea or coffee.

Overall, not a bad hotel, just not fabulous or good enough to be ranked 5-star.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett Jolly
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

OK, there are two sides to this hotel, and I'll give you the positive first; the rooms are excellent, modern furniture, three plasma TV's, wireless internet. We took a suite for my wife and I and our 12 year old daughter... two large double bedrooms, a large lounge, leather settees, full kitchen, microwave, it really is a home from home. On the bad side... the only polite staff are found in the reception or at the bar, service is not good, and most things seem to be a great chore for most of the staff. They make you feel you are putting them out and they really cant be bothered. We had two jeans, a dress or two and a few small items laundered they charged us over £70.00 (this is a complete rip off as anywhere in Cape Town would charge you £20-25 MAX).

Location wise.... bit of a mixed bag too! the good thing is that you are right at the centre of Long Street, which is where the bars and night cliubs are so its great for night owls, the bad side is due to the bars and clubs, you simply cannot sleep due to the noise until about 2am.

Price wise, its over the top, If I had to gauge it against other Cape Town hotels I would say its about 20% over the top!

Apart from Breakfast which is actually quite good, the food is not good at all, especially room service, just go around the corner into Long Street.... hundreds of great little food places!

There's nothing really bad at this hotel, buty it doesn't quite make its pricing band in what it offers.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA_to_GM, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to send to us the review about your stay with us. You have made some valid points and as we previously commented in the review prior to yours, each and every comment is taken on board and utilised to amend our training program in order to provide a better service for our guests.

The spirit of Pepper Club and all the team members is to provide seamless service and the very best guest experience and as such, we will do whatever it takes to ensure that this happens. Your points have been noted and we hope to have you return to experience these improvements.

Yours in service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The Pepper Club is located just off the liveliest part of Long Street, with its late bars and back-packer hostels. Noise wasn't a problem for us on the 12th floor, but it might be on lower floors. We stayed in a 2 bedroom appartment. It was very comfortable, clean, and well air-conditioned, but a bit small. Had a great view of table mountain. One bedroom had glass between the bedroom and bathroom, with no blinds to the external window. We had to use cushions to keep the morning light out. Kitchen had a hob and microwave but no cutlery or crockery apart from from 2 cups and 2 glasses. The public areas are nice but the pool is very small, though they do provide a shuttle bus to their trerraced restaurant at Camps Bay. The breakfast buffet is good, but the staff were a bit inefficient, and don't seem to appreciate the European urgency for coffee in the morning! The staff generally seem to lack customer service skills and motivation. We asked the concierge about car hire and were given the vaguest of directions to local car hire firms ("2 this way, 2 that way"). One evenning we returned just as the bar had finished serving. The barman agreed to serve us 2 beers but the manageress took them off him and we were offered no explanation from either of them. We certainly weren't drunk or rowdy, and after politely complaining we were told that it was because other guests on the terrace had been rowdy that they had decided to stop serving. All small issues individually, but collectively the feeling is that you don't get the level of service you'd expect at this price level. Its a shame because with a bit more effort it would be somewhere I would reccomend. As is, unless you are getting a bargain and can accept this level of service, consider other options.

Overall, nice accommodation, could be better run.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor away from Long Street to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA_to_GM, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
The reason we, as an establishment, love Tripadvisor so much is that we are able to get feedback from guests that is current and detailed. We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent stay and in so doing, give us the opportunity to address the issues that you have raised.

We sincerely do take each and every point to heart. In fact, we take it so seriously that we have overhauled our training program as we strive for service excellence in every aspect of the guest experience.

Your feedback is vital to us in enabling us to grow, adapt and surpass guest expectations. We hope to see you return sooner rather than later to experience these improvements and would appreciate your feedback once more.
Yours in service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Spa of the hotel is extremely comfortable for business travellers. Sauna, pool and cool 24x7 gym. It is all you need to support yourself. Room service is a little bit lazy, but concierge can solve any issue in a moment. Some people say the hotel is too close to Long street (a noisy busy pub crowl location), but I didn't feel it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pepperclub Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepperclub Hotel & Spa

Address: Cnr Loop and Pepper Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#52 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pepperclub Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bound by Loop, Long, Pepper and Bloem Street, Pepperclub Hotel & Spa is situated in the heart of bustling Cape Town and at the foot of renowned Table Mountain and Lions Head. The hotel not only offers the ideal location, but also five star comfort and personalised service to suit the needs of both leisure and business travellers. Inspired by New York's chic interiors, the hotel consists of 210 generously appointed suites, all of which include spectacular views of Cape Town. Facilities at the hotel include, among others, the intimate Odeon cinema, a fully-equipped gymnasium and a swimming pool with panoramic views. Cayenne Spa, tucked away on the 8th floor of the hotel, offers sanctuary for guests with its modern aura and eclectic menu of modern treatments. Located on the ground floor is Pepperclub's exclusive Paparazzi Bar & Lounge and in-house restaurant, Sinatra's, which combines a stylish and modern setting with a menu inspired by European continental cuisine. The hotel also offers guests scheduled complimentary shuttles to the V&A Waterfront and Camps Bay, home to one of South Africa's most beautiful and picturesque beachfronts. It is here that you will also find our beach club facilities. Hotel guests will have exclusive VIP access to the beach club's showers, private lockers and changing and restroom facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pepperclub Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Club Luxury Hotel Cape Town Central
Pepper Club Luxury Hotel And Spa
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.