We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent way of sightseeing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Sightseeing Cape Town

City Sightseeing Cape Town
V&A Waterfront | Port Road, Cape Town Central 2008, South Africa
+27 21 511 6000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$17*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the best way to see Cape Town. Our red open-top buses take you on hop-on, hop-off tours: Red City Tour via Table Mountain and scenic Blue Mini Peninsula Tour via Kirstenbosch and Camps Bay.
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Excellent way of sightseeing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Safe, convenient and organised way of travelling that covers all the places that are worth seeing. The ushers and the drivers are very helpful and friendly. Hout Bay stop is a must for lunch for fish and chips lovers!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,484
    480
    43
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very convenient to have hop-on hop-off, particularly for the wine route. The main reason we did the tour. Plus it was nice to get an overview. Group of about 15 ten year olds singing rugby war cries, which made it very unpleasant for the rest of us, and hard to hear the commentary.

The commentary is very much from a white middle class perspective, and, at times, cringeworthy. "This is where people now stable their horses!" - really? As you pass an informal settlement? Not well handled.

The gaps could be filled with much more interesting information, eg between Gardens and Kirstenbosch - interview a former District 6 resident and get a soundbyte re forced removals. The silent gaps are a missed opportunity. It's Cape Town! There is so much to say. I recommend that you hire a historian to update the commentary.

I got a poor picture of what Cape Town has to offer from the commentary. Also, by having pre-recorded commentary, there is no personality, which is a shame. One of the joys of hop-on hop-off is that when you get a new guide/driver, you get a new personality. Choose your main language and have recorded commentaries for the other languages. It is quite soulless.

The timetable seems to be more a suggestion than a schedule. Not good enough - If you get to a stop ten minutes early, and then the bus is 15 minutes late, this is a problem if you have anything planned for afterwards.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSScpt, Director of Sales at City Sightseeing Cape Town, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing your Blue Route tour. I am really sorry that your experience was less than perfect but am encouraged that you are sharing your thoughts with us.

Some comments if I may: We offer two basic tours, the Red City tour and the Blue Mini Peninsula tour. The red tour is the history tour of the CBD including District 6, and the Blue tour that circles the back of Table Mountain, through all the suburbs and is more scenic by nature. The commentaries have been designed to match the ambiance and so, on the Blue tour, where District 6 can only be seen briefly from some distance on the way out of the city, the commentary only briefly touches on the area. Most of our passengers do both tours and you will find that the Red City tour offers an in-depth history of the area as it passes through District 6.

I have checked the commentary again and can confirm that the "horse stables" track plays correctly where we pass farms with stables and nowhere near the township of Imizamo Yethu, both located in Hout Bay. We are currently busy with a re-record of the total tour commentary, which were aiming to have live on all buses by the end of the year.

We aim to always be punctual but once in a while, it can happen that even we are delayed in traffic and there may be a few minutes amiss at a stop. Our timetable does state that the times are suggested times.

We really do aim to provide a faultless experience and judging by the vast majority of reviews, most of our passengers seem to enjoy the commentary and the service we offer. Thank you again for your comments. Our management team will discuss and learn from them with a view to continually improving our tours. I do hope you enjoyed the warm hospitality of our staff and fellow Capetonian's whilst on holiday here in our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Island, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“see Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Whole tour "Red City Tour" takes about 2 1/2 hours. You can get off the bus at any of a dozen stops and then get back on another bus that comes along about 20 minutes later. Includes Table Mountain where you can take the tram to the top. Double Decker bus, with continuous narration using supplied headphones

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Spectacular Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A wonderful day out with the whole family - all 3 generations. We did the Red City Tour and hopped off to take advantage of the Table Mountain special for 2 kids free with each adult. The older boys (10 and 8) loved the Kidz commentary often smiling to themselves or even laughing out loud. It was a fabulous day day out and a treat for the whole family ..... AND the only way to get up the mountain on a glorious day with parking congestion by just hopping off right at the cable station and having the bus right there when we came down. Camps Bay was also wonderful as we enjoyed a dip in the ocean after a hot afternoon. Best value in town. Will always take my visitors to see the city this way.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Sightseeing Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We did the the blue and red route of the bus tour, as well as the small Constantia wine tour. It was amazing, even while being a from Cape Town, I did learn a lot about the history, new locations, shops and landmarks of CT. Worth the money

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing Cape Town also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to City Sightseeing Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Sightseeing Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.