We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hop On!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Sightseeing Cape Town

City Sightseeing Cape Town
V&A Waterfront | Port Road, Cape Town Central 2008, South Africa
+27 21 511 6000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$3*
and up
Type: Bus tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the best way to see Cape Town. Our red open-top buses take you on hop-on, hop-off tours: Red City Tour via Table Mountain and scenic Blue Mini Peninsula Tour via Kirstenbosch and Camps Bay.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hop On!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

we brought the two day ticket which gives you discounts off the Aquarium , three nice restaurants in the V&A Waterfront, a free canal ride and winelands tour, as well as discounts to attractions on the route.

This is a great, good value way to see Cape Town and the surrounding areas. Unfortunately Table Mountain cable car was closed during our visit so the bus went instead to SIgnal Hill which did have fabulous views over Cape Town. The commentary is informative and comes in a wide variety if languages. Sit up the top for the best views.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,323
    443
    39
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Must do in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We did both the red and the blue tours on consecutive days. Both of the tours were very informative and helped us to find our way around Cape town. On the blue tour we visited Kirstenbosch botanical gardens which were just beautiful but unfortunately, we spent longer than we had expected there which meant that we were a little short of time when we hopped back on the bus to visit the Constantia wineries! The views from the top of the bus along the coastline past Hout Bay, Camps Bay and Sea Point are just amazing. I would recommend this as a "must do" for any first time visitor to Cape Town.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great introduction to Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We took the Red Route early in our visit to Cape Town. A useful orientation that's well worth investing in.

If you're visiting in August, make sure you check whether the Cable Car up Table Mountain is closed for annual maintenance. If so, the route changes to visit Signal Hill instead.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best way to get a feel for Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Only way to get an initial impression of Cape Town. Every visitor attraction of significance is passed. We were lucky as the bus detoured to Signal Point where the view and photo opportunities are fabulous. Highly recommended

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hop on off bus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Used hop on off bus to do mini peninsular tour. Stopped off at Kirstenbosch. Bus very useful and cost effective. Wish we'd had longer so we could have "hopped on off " more often. Commentary timely and interesting. Very useful as it stopped right outside our hotel. Only slight problem were times as brochure did not tie up with times on sign boards.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing Cape Town also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to City Sightseeing Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Sightseeing Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.