We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Sightseeing Cape Town

City Sightseeing Cape Town
V&A Waterfront | Port Road, Cape Town Central 2008, South Africa
+27 21 511 6000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$3*
and up
Type: Bus tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the best way to see Cape Town. Our red open-top buses take you on hop-on, hop-off tours: Red City Tour via Table Mountain and scenic Blue Mini Peninsula Tour via Kirstenbosch and Camps Bay.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a fantastic and fun way to see the beauty of Cape Town, you can stop at different parts of Cape Town and explore then hop back on the next bus. Each person is given a set of headphones with your choice of language so you can sit back relax, enjoy the views and listen to commentary of the town. I would suggest bringing a jumper as it can get very windy and chilly whilst riding through beautiful camp bay. Have fun.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,323
    442
    39
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
516 reviews 516 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
546 helpful votes 546 helpful votes
“A Must... A Great Way to See the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Much like the buses in London and Paris, these provide a narrated tour of the city as you hit all the major spots in town. We did the RED tour which concentrates on the city, table mountain, etc. For the outlying areas we took a private car so we could visit wineries, etc we wanted at our own pace. The buses are clean, well staffed, and come frequently. It's supposed to be every 20 mins and usually hits the mark... a few times we waited longer. All in all a fabulous service. Definitely buy a 2 day pass (if you have the time) as there's so much to see. The views are so amazing that even if you never get off the bus, worth doing. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“very nice overview of Cape Town!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I can really recommend the City Sightseeing Tours! I bought a two day ticket and did the red and the blue tour and also the canal cruise. All were really nice! I didn't do much hopping on and off but it was still absolutely worth is! You get to see a lot of Cape Town and it's surroundings, the commentary is quite interesting and although this might not be soo important for some people, the staff was really friendly :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Truly a beautiful city and it has moved to the top of the list of favorite cities. The V&A Waterfront is great place (harbor) to spend the day and lots to do within minutes: Two Oceans Aquarium, V&A Waterfront Shopping Center, shops all around the harbour, Nelson Mandela Gateway which provides a ferry to Roben Island (location where Nelson Mandela and other politicians were prisoners ... we did not get to make it due to inclement weather). Thumbs up on places to go and there is someone for everyone ...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Red route or Blue?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a great way to get around Cape Town and beyond. One route is the City tour, the other takes you out via Kirstenbosch Gardens, World of Birds (so much more than birds!), and on to Hout Bay which is delightful for seeing seals and having lunch around the bay. It's a 'hop on, hop off' experience, so plan your trip to spend some time at one or more of the places along the route. This is the link for more information http://www.citysightseeing.co.za/capeTown.php. Enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing Cape Town also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to City Sightseeing Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Sightseeing Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.