We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The centre of town is a small place really” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Sightseeing Cape Town

City Sightseeing Cape Town
V&A Waterfront | Port Road, Cape Town Central 2008, South Africa
+27 21 511 6000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$3*
and up
Type: Bus tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the best way to see Cape Town. Our red open-top buses take you on hop-on, hop-off tours: Red City Tour via Table Mountain and scenic Blue Mini Peninsula Tour via Kirstenbosch and Camps Bay.
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“The centre of town is a small place really”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

There is plenty to see, and plenty of things to indulge in however, the centre of capetown is disjointed, and we found it possitively ugly particularly with the demolition of district 6, the area is barren, devoid of life...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,323
    443
    39
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great option if your time is limited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I had a very well planned itinerary for my 1st few days in Cape Town but the rain put a damper in my plans. The "Blue Line" tour bus really saved my day. I saw all the major sites with an excellent commentary. The best part of this tour is the fact that you can hop off a site of your interest and there is a schedule posted of the next bus to arrive so you can pick up where you left off. I stopped at Kirstenbosch and then transfered to the Wine Bus to Groot Constania.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hop-on Hop-off Buses: highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Cape Town City Sightseeing by the “hop-on hop-off” topless buses gets you everywhere and a tan if weather permits, at an incredible low fare. Better than driving yourself, because these lines takes you on a tour over bending roads, steep hills and through back alleys you’ll never find yourself. With a stop at Constantia Wine Cellars and maybe one or two more a tour takes half a day. I’d recommend the Blue Line because it circles all of the Cape Town peninsula.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Do This First!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Great value on/off bus tour around the city and beaches. Do it first to get your bearings! Comfortable bus with commentry via headphones in numerous languages. Polite crew and frequent clean buses.
Buy your ticket online before you go...validates whenever you decide to take the tour.
Highly recommend the red tour.
Took some super photos from open deck!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Bus Around Cape Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Taking the "Blue route" on the red bus with kids can be hair raising! However, to my utmost delight, they were accomodated for as well! after we each got our pair of earphones, we could choose which language and in the case of the kids, the kiddy channel to listen to interesting snippets of the sights to be seen along the way. Kirstenbosch then on to Groot Constantia (a side show for free), Hout Bay, Camps Bay and the back to the Waterfront! Hopping on and off at some of the stops but really too much to see in one day, especially if you do want to get in all the sights at each stop!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing Cape Town also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to City Sightseeing Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Sightseeing Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.