We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red & Blue Buses” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Sightseeing Cape Town

City Sightseeing Cape Town
V&A Waterfront | Port Road, Cape Town Central 2008, South Africa
+27 21 511 6000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$3*
and up
Type: Bus tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the best way to see Cape Town. Our red open-top buses take you on hop-on, hop-off tours: Red City Tour via Table Mountain and scenic Blue Mini Peninsula Tour via Kirstenbosch and Camps Bay.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Red & Blue Buses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

take the red bus if you are keen on seeing the City of Cape Town. You can hope on and off. Be sure to give yourself plenty of time. It's a great way to see the city, hear about it's history and to give yourself a good overview of the town. It also takes you to Table Mountain.
Do take the Blue bus - it overlaps some of the city routes but takes you on a mini-tour of the peninsula and you can also join a wine tour to Constantia vineyards - it takes a little longer than the Red bus but both are a great way to see more of Capetown and its suburbs.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,318
    442
    39
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uruguay
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice tour red bus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We liked it a lot !
We were lucky it was a sunny day and could see the Table Mountain with sun
Enjoyed the tour a lot!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Interesting if you have time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We could spend a lot of time in the Company Gardens. There some rare birds (and pigeon equivalents) as well as a couple of albino squirrels. The Malay section is historical and colorful. We found a lot of very interesting art deco architecture. We aren't shoppers so we stayed away from the pier area.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

As a South African citizen even, I really really enjoyed this tour. You can get on and off as you please, without needed to find parking (notoriously difficult in Cape Town). My advice, stop over in Camps Bay for a Martini on the beach with your lunch, hop off at the Waterfront for some shopping, and get off at Desmond Tutu's church and have a walk around the city and it's markets (particularly on Thursdays and Saturdays)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“sandie h”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We went on the township tour with a guide who was a coloured. It was very interesting and he showed us all aspects of living for all races. The poorer living areas were kept very clean. They had so little in worldy goods but a lot of pride in their living standards

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing Cape Town also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to City Sightseeing Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Sightseeing Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.