We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rockwell All Suite Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rockwell All Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Rockwell All Suite Hotel
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   32 Prestwich Street | Cnr Alfred Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Wiltshire, UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great for a short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the 3-bed apartments (7th floor, #709, mountain facing) to visit some of our favourite places in Cape Town. The mix of hotel facilities (bar, restaurant, pool etc) along with the flexibility of self-catering facilities in the apartment was ideal for a short break. Secure, underground parking. Good service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia T, Public Relations Manager at Rockwell All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are so incredibly pleased to hear you enjoyed our stay with us...Thank you for your compliments. Please visit again SOON. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    62
    25
    6
    13
See reviews for
37
51
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here for the first time in 2011, and were happy to book another stay here for our honeymoon this fall.

I booked via booking.com and got a really good deal on a two bedroom suite, so even though we didn't need two bedrooms we choose to book it because it was cheaper than the smaller rooms. And that turned out to be a really good choice, a spacious appartement with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, livingroom and kitchen. But the best part was the view over Signal Hill, Lion's Head and Table Mountain. You could see this from the huge veranda, the livingroom and the master bedroom.

Location is good with about a 10-15 min walk to both Long Street and Waterfront area. There's a huge spar just across the road, several car rentals near by and a couple of really good restaurats.

You can get (bad)wifi in the rooms, or you can get free and good wifi in the bar area downstairs. Reception was so amazing the whole time, we arrived late and they helped out finding somewhere we could eat and when they came up short the barman found us a taxi and came up with several good options. Reception also ordered taxis for us almost every day, and it's much cheaper when they do it, though prices are really low even when the taxidriver charges you double on the way back. We had a late flight going home from Cape Town and once again the hotel was nice enough to let us keep the room for a really small fee.

Room Tip: 608, high up so you're not bothered by the noise, but with a great view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia T, Public Relations Manager at Rockwell All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Music to our ears! We love that you picked us as a destination to enjoy your honeymoon. And its double pleasing that you had such a good time - thank you for your comments..we truly appreciate them.
Wishing you much happiness and beautiful memories - and hoping you celebrate many Anniversaries with us! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

When I browsed this hotel, i saw lots of comment regarding to clean. However, from the pictures, all the flats/houses looks awesome, so i booked it anyway. When I first went in the room, i smelled something, but i just couldn't find where it came from. I saw the grease on the kitchen countertop, all the scratches/grease on the pan and pot and "blurry" glasses in the cabinet, some hair on the couch... The second morning, I was waken up by a really strong "sewer system" smell. Have you ever been to the wild park toilet? yes, it is that kind of strong smell in the room. I complained to the front desk and require to change room but they didn't respond. In the evening, the smell came back again, finally I found out in one of the cabinet, suppose to use that for washer/dryer but empty, there is a big hole for the pipe connecting, that's where the smell come from...even they use a lot of tape on the hole, the smell can still come out. I shut the cabinet immediately because I hope I won't see anything beside "smell" to come out. After I told them exactly where the smell comes from, they changed the room immediately. This happened in 2012 and I hope they fix that problem already. but anyway, I feel the whole building circulation has some problem and the cleaning lady didn't clean the room well. I wouldn't go back to this suite in the future.
我在2012年時入住這間飯店,當時看網路上評價都說這間飯店不是太乾淨,但是照片很漂亮,我還是訂了。一進到飯店發現廚房流理臺很髒,所有的鍋俱都有一層油垢,玻璃杯很髒。第二天早上我是被一股很濃的廁所味道驚醒的,打去要求換房間卻沒有結果。第二天晚上我終於在其中一個本來應該是放洗衣機的櫥櫃裡發現味道來源,因為裡面有一個很大的洞,連接管線用的,即使他們用很多膠帶封住,那味道還是很濃。我打去告訴他們我發現味道來源,他們也立刻換房間了。只是這整棟大樓的通風有問題,而且清潔人員打掃的真的很不乾淨,不會推薦給朋友也不想回來住了。

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Spent 1 night at the Rockwell. Our apartment faced the busy main road overlooking a petrol station and was very noisy. There was a wonderful view of Table Mountain but for a bit of peace and quiet I would recommend a room facing Table Bay instead. There were a few issues with maintainance - the patio door came off its runners and a light bulb in the second bedroom exploded. The apartment was fitted with a washing machine, tumble-dryer, fridge, microwave but mismatched crockery, cutlery and glassware. The frying pan supplied was old and scratched. Breakfast was disappointing, dried out and we had to ask to have items replenished. Also the butter was rancid. However the staff was great, helpful and obliging.
The barman mixes a great cocktail!
The hotel is well situated for the city, the Waterfront and surrounded by plenty of restaurants, clubs and shops. The noise was the major issue.

Room Tip: Not facing the busy road and garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you want Apartheid era service, you'll not be surprised. This is one place I genuinely felt this place has a long way to go in terms of giving equal service to everyone. I especially felt the manager Collin was abrasive and can't reccommend this to anyone.

The place itself is situated in a nice location and very accessible to main tourist attactions.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was fortunate to win a week end at the Rockwell. We live in the southern suburbs of Cape town so are no strangers to the city but it was great to have a city bowl escape for the week end.

Our first night was spent without kids. It was great to just sit on the balcony and watch the goings on below. Our apartment was directly above the petrol garage and was quite fun to see what goes on there during the night. We were not bothered by any noise so the windows and doors must be fairly soundproof. We did find that our particular apartment could have had more maintenance work/upkeep, as the one lamp shade next to the bed was broken and there were many essential kitchen supplies not provided, basic but essential.

We were told that the kids could sleep on the ottomans provided. We have 2 kids and there were 2 ottomans, but the ottomans were 30 x 30 cms big. I would love to see how a kids can sleep on that. Luckily the couch was very comfy so we put the cushions on the floor and they slept very comfortably.

The gym and pool is lovely. Stunning view as you swim the long length of the indoor heated pool. (we were there end April so was the start of our winter)

The whole apartment block is very modern and has quite a European flair. The restaurant below called Cafe Dijon has a very Parisian feel and has won awards and many good reviews. The bar area in the foyer is also lovely with a big grand piano in the middle.

As mentionted, the view of table mountain was pretty awesome and the patio big enough to even have a friend or 2 over for sundowners.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed in Rockwell on December/2012 and January/2013 and I thought it a very nice place. The room was comfortable, the localization was very nice and the view was also beautiful. The only problem was a club beside it, very noisy, all nights (monday to monday). Not a big deal.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rockwell All Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwell All Suite Hotel

Address: 32 Prestwich Street | Cnr Alfred Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwell All Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally & conveniently located in trendy De Waterkant Village in Greenpoint, just 20 min from Cape Town International Airport & moments away from the hussle & bussle of Cape Town CBD, The V&A Waterfront & some of the trendiest shopping & dining venues.Offering an enticing blend of contemporary urban style & inner-city excitement, surrounded by the natural beauty for which Cape Town is famous. Comprising 39 two-bedroom apartments, 17 one-bedroom apartments & 3 lavish penthouses – all boasting separate bedrooms & bathrooms, fully-equipped kitchens & a generous lounge area, allowing for self-catering entertainment within a chic urban setting. Outdoor entertaining is equally attractive, with private balconies affording magnificent views of Table Mountain, Signal Hill, Fan Park & the Cape Town harbour.The new state-of-the-art conference facilities are ideal for large events to intimate board meetings. Equipped with modern data projectors & Wi-Fi.Additional features include: Bar Lounge, Restaurant,Gym & wellness area, heated indoor pool, health & beauty treatment suite, 24hr security & undercover parking.The Rockwell All Suite Hotel & Apartments truly is your home away from home… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Rockwell All Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwell All Hotel Cape Town Central
Rockwell All Suite Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockwell All Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.