We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pub surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Firemans Arms

The Firemans Arms
25 Mechau Street, Cape Town Central, South Africa
021-4191513
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“pub surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

not a fan of pub type setups, but went after my partner absolutely raved about it. i've been converted to the pub experience.
excellent food (best onion rings in town and good quality pizza), super friendly and super fast service, clean and - my number 1 must have in any dining establishment - napkins not paper serviettes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    31
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A proper pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

If you want a proper pub with a good mixture of regulars and tourists this is the place to go. Good service and good beers and the food is pretty good as well.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great pub great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stopped after Cape Town carnival for a bite food was awesome great range of draughts even cider which is is unusual in Cape Town, good food, great Vibe, fantastic selection of draughts and awesome service

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nearly an English pub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Whenever we go to Cape Town, the Firemans Arms is one of our first stops! We love the atmosphere. They have sport on television screens, they are always attentive and helpful, and serve some very nice meals. They do good Pizza in a proper oven, pies, sausages,calamari, and also some traditional South African meals like Tripe Curry, Bobotie,and Eisbien. If you miss your pub back home, I really recommend you visit!!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good old pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Its a pub, not much more to say really. The food is normal pub grub and the location is not too great being on the main road. Always seems to have a good atmosphere though.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Firemans Arms also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Firemans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Firemans Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.