We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous 2bed suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel to your Saves list
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Greys Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Fabulous 2bed suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I am a prokard gold member and was lucky enough to be upgraded on arrival to a fabulousness 2 bed suite with table mountain views. I was only in the city for the day so. The room was for day use only but it was spectacular.

The suite was huge with full kitchen, large dining area and lounge as well as a large terrace with table mountain views.

Service was excellent and I ate a burger which was very good.

The hotel is at the edges of the city centre close to long street so slightly away from the waterfront area but this was not essential for my visit.

Some of the regular rooms have interior only views so if this is not to your liking ensure you pay for a higher room catagory.

Room Tip: Avoid the interior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear p750777

Thank you for providing us with your positive feedback and as a loyal prokard holder, it was our pleasure to assist with the upgrade to a two bedroomed suite.

We are delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered and I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a good job!

Your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

We look forward to welcoming you to African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel again soon!

Kind regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    83
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
32
123
17
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I was impressed by the rooms and the lobby. We stayed at room 303 which was bigger than the average rooms

Each floor had different themes so a little research will go a long. It was in the middle of everything when we visited Capetown. I will definitely come back to this hotel if we revisit Capetown 4.5/5

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear sheymoure ,

Thank you for your review and for staying at African Pride 15 on Orange hotel.

“Must stay boutique hotel” is definitely a great way to describe the look and feel of the hotel. I am glad that our location right in the city was beneficial to your stay in Cape Town.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.

Kind regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderful 2 days at the 15 on orange hotel and were welcomed and looked after by a very professional team

Great breakfast each morning with extensive choice of fruits / pastries and breads / yoghurt and fish - cooked food was fresh and delicious

Good spa and treatment choices tho Boys disappointed rooftop pool closed due to wind

Parking a bonus and location perfect for district 6, kloof street and company's gardens - V&A walkable in 20 mins

Try Emily's restaurant in kloof for amazing dining and royal eatery on long street for the best burgers and shakes!

Would return and highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear WoodsFamilyEdinburgh,

Thank you for your words of appreciation about your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the TEAM for their exemplary service.


It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future!

Kind regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I cannot get my mind around this hotel. I used to live in Cape Town, so locating it was fairly straightforward but I suspect non-Capetonians may struggle a little bit. And then there's the "entrance". One enters via a side street and parks around the back. Nothing unusual about that, but once inside the building is where the fun really begins. Coming from the parking basement, one enters a virtually unlit staircase until reaching the concierge. From there, one requires to take another lift with a really strange, massive padded seat inside it. This takes you to the reception area. Checkin was faultless and I have to say the staff were all extremely friendly, courteous and efficient. But the passageways are very dimly lit and counter-intuitive. Rooms are huge and enjoyable but the decor is vulgar and will date very quickly. Long Street is within easy walking distance. as is the town centre, so its positioning is really very good. I didn't eat at all in the hotel so cannot comment on F&B.
I really want to like this place and yet cannot quite do so. In my humble opinion, it would benefit greatly from much more natural light in the passageways and the reception should be at street level.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Chris G

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.I am delighted to hear how friendly the staff were upon check in and we are looking into the dimly lit staircase.
Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon.

Kind regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed at 15 on Orange for a midweek break in November!! It was absolutely amazing, the hotel rooms were absolutely suberb and the whole experience mind blowing!!
The interior are magic and decorated beyond my expectations. The food and service was World Class!!

One thing is for sure I am going back!!

Room Tip: Room with a view to the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Sandra S

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback after your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered and the hotel design. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

We look forward to welcoming you back to 15 on Orange hotel!

Kind regards,

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is real luxury hotel! a working distance to the Market, National Library and Iziko Museum and famous Long Street hotspots. The a la carte meals at the restaurant are tasteful but the service is a bit slow between meals. The breakfast buffet has ample variety and lots of opulent seating space. The rooms are real 5**** adorned by beautiful glass Art works. the lighting on the corridors is a bit to dark for my liking but assume it is the trend. Downside! the hotel still bears a sign for Gym but the gym is non existent and you have to visit the nearby Virgin Active, of which the hotel is prepared to drive you there (this discovered when I was looking up and down for the gym). Overall experience is excellent and value for money. My hotel of choice in Cape Town I f you want to explore the CBD.

Room Tip: no preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Koki80

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the stay and
would like to apologise for the slow service in the restaurant. We will address the issue immediately to ensure our GUESTS receive only the best service at all times.

I am sorry to hear that you were not informed about the gym being under construction but next year we will have our newly renovated gym availible for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Real wow factor throughout the building, inside and out, from reception, through the lobby, bar and restaurant, to the lifts and rooms. Great views of table mountain, usually covered with its table cloth :(
Unfortunately, that sets an expectation for the service that the staff do not universally meet - some are very good, all are friendly and helpful, but there were a few clunks, like not working out that my wife and I were in one room and our daughter in another - she didn't mind getting two chocolates every night, but they were a bit grown up for her taste :(
Also got some dodgy direction to the Robben Island boat, but got a lot of help getting a booking for restaurants.
Only ate in once in three days, for breakfast on the first morning, enough said, agree with other comments about buffet, good but not as good as you expect.
Don't get me wrong, this is a very good hotel, especially if you get a good rate, but I think it still needs to lift its game to get full marks.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Chuff_J

We welcome your feedback regarding your recent stay at 15 on Orange Hotel.
Your concerns about the service are most certainly not the standard which we strive for. Please accept my sincere apologies and I can assure you that this has been addressed with the TEAM.
Regarding our breakfast buffet please note that there is also an option of ala carte menu which might be of more satisfaction .
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and that we can make up for the shortcomings of this stay.

Kind regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Address: Corner of Greys Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel, Cape Town's icon of style, is set in the upmarket suburb of Gardens at the foot of Table Mountain. African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel offers an experience of sensual sophistication and style, combining distinctive architecture and exquisite luxury with the renowned first-class service of African Pride Hotels. This ideal location on the fringe of Cape Town's vibrant city centre ensures that GUESTS are within walking distance of the National Museum and the Planetarium. Get some fresh air - feel free to take a leisurely stroll through the nearby Company Gardens and embrace the green jewel in the heart of the metropolis. Welcome the holiday shopping bug and visit the selection of exclusive in-house retailer outlets while the world-class shopping paradise of the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront is merely minutes away. If time out is in order, enjoy a cup of tea or a fine whiskey in the eclectic Judges Lounge, where we pay homage to Cape Town’s auspicious legal fraternity. Whether staying indoors or setting out to explore the cape – African Pride 15 on Orange offers GUESTS the perfect luxury destination for business, pleasure or a bit of both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.