We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Vibrant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Save Saved
You added African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Greys Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 101 hotels in Cape Town Central
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice and Vibrant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have stayed in the hotel for one evening in September 2013 whilst being on business in Cape Town. The hotel is situated excellently for business travel to Cape Town and is a walking distance from shops, Parliament etc. It is modern and the rooms are comfortable, nicely furnished and relaxing. Luv the bathroom and bed. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and it was really a joy to stay here. I will definitely book here on my next trip to Cape Town... Well done!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    55
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
83
15
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights during December 2010 (very late in reviewing, I know!).
What a beautiful hotel & we were given an amazing room - luxurious is the only word that comes to mind. The location was really ideal as well for us to explore the city. Have to mention the spaghetti carbonara that I ordered (numerous times!) from room service/in-room dining - so so good!
We are hoping to stay here again on our next trip coming up - hope it will be every good as we remember!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon. The room was gorgeous and clean. I loved that we had a bathtub and that our sinks lit up! We had chilled champagne waiting for us in the room along with chocolates and a lady would come each evening to drop off a bottle of drinking water. We had breakfast every morning and there was a cocky girl but I didn't pay her any mind. I just went and got my breakfast at the great buffet. All in all, I really liked this hotel :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have stayed at 15 on most occasions during my very frequent visits to Cape Town since 2010. I have been booking at the hotel for my business and leisure travel even at times when my engagements went as far as the cape winelands. The only times I have not booked at 15 is when it was fully booked.

A LOT of things have changed a lot from that very first time in 2010 to my recent visit in August 2013. Each time I have booked at the hotel I have observed the deterioration in the offering, each time I have decided to book on account of giving the hotel another chance. Not again!

My reasons for my unhappy review:
- the cleanliness of the rooms is absolutely far from satisfactory... my room had hair all over the place. In the shower, on the bathroom floor, on the pillows. I got the feeling that my occupation of the room had interrupted a clean up.

-the supply of amenities was lacking (compared to my prior stays). During those early days there was always a vanity pack in the bathroom, disposal bag, shower/bath gel, amongst a whole lot of other things... this time I was 'fortunately' afforded shampoo, soap, lotion and shower cap in the bathroom. That's all! Am not asking for the Dermalogica samples that were a treat in the early days, it was very appreciated then. Today I look for basic hotel amenities which seem to be no longer on offer! The box that was meant to contain the 2nd disposal bag was empty??? It is a good idea to pack your own cotton wool and shower gel if you believe you are going to need any.

-the hotel used to offer the luxury of docking stations for what i believed to be for the smart phone/mp3 player guest. These are no where to be seen.

-the bathroom door hinges were broken causing the door not to close properly

-the mini bar was understocked with only 2 beers and a few soft drinks and lots of gaps where one used to find a variety of items on offer including bottled water

-the hotel no longer offers newspapers in the morning outside the room.

-murano bar staff totally was clueless on menu items from both the restaurant menu and the light meals menu. The man had to go consult 3 times on each question I asked on the menu items.

-the aircon functioning has always been a mystery even during my satisfaction days with the hotel!

-at check in, I was offered prokard membership which I believed I already had. I had signed up at 15 after all. I had since opted out after being hounded by call centre agents for payment on the 'complimentary' membership. I gave the staff the go ahead to activate it...AGAIN. It was 'surprisingly' found that there is duplicate membership on the system. I rest my case!!!!

The clincher for me was my very last breakfast though... I ordered an omelette which was dropped off without any offer for toast or condiments. Upon asking for toast and chilli sauce on the side, I waited an entire 20 minutes for the toast to arrive and even longer for the chilli sauce (in a bottle). Upon complaining to the waiter he shrugged his shoulders. I received the same response from the lady attendant who was checking on our satisfaction of breakfast.

All in all I believe 15 set a very high standard which has been more than hard to maintain and which alienates the guests who liked the hotel for the luxury that it offered in its heydays!

My experience has shifted my view from a 5 to a 2 star experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside looking window and not the rooms that look into reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear TSH010GP,

On behalf of African Pride Hotels, I would like to humbly apologise for your disappointing experience.

We would like to assure you that we, at African Pride Hotels, pride ourselves in delivering the best GUEST service and strive to get the basics right consistently. Your experience does not reflect the high standard we are usually proud to offer.

I confirm therefore that your concerns are being addressed in a serious light and that action is being taken to rectify any shortcomings in our service and facilities. I do however require some additional information from you to discuss your feedback in more detail as we are unable to locate your reservation details with your TripAdvisor profile name.

Your interest and concern are extremely valuable to us and value your feedback as an extremely important tool in our day to day operations, as this helps us to improve on our service delivery.

Kind regards,

Douglas Allen
General Manager
021 469 8000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

A perfectly located very cleverly designed modern hotel in the centre of Cape Town. Super bedrooms with wonderful bedding and lovely modern bathrooms. Nice business centre. Exceptional Staff. Lovely buffet breakfast. Great, and safe, escursions can be arranged by the hotel and are highly recommended. Gorgeous views. Lovely small SPA and swimming pool with bathing deck on the top floor. No complaints whatsoever.

Room Tip: External rooms have wonderful views. Internal rooms look onto the lobby and are amazingly different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Helen L N,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town!

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls, New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great hotel with a very friendly staff. A distance from the waterfront but good location to take day tours. Do not eat dinner at hotel (just ok) restaurant but breakfast buffet and the bar is good. Rooms are super with great views and lots of room. Unique decor. We really enjoyed our stay here. We stayed here and did day tours and then moved to the waterfront for a couple days there.

Room Tip: Book escorted day tours instead wandering around on your own. Your TA can set these up ahead of tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Mangocatpurring,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at African Pride15 on Orange Hotel.
GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong!
Y
our interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you African Pride Hospitality at its best!

With best regards,

Douglas Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mashhad
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

we stayed for 7 nights from 26th march.the lobby and other facilities were very nice.upon check in we were upgraded and our room was no 430 we could not be more impressed.the view of the table mountain from our room and the quality of the room is however excellent,bathroom is huge and impressive.there is free high-speed wireless internet in the hotel.the concierge staff are so friendly and helpful and will even drive you to wherever you want to go(in the hotel car of course for a reasonable fee)we were always greeted with a smile and it seemed like no concierge member was ever too much in a hurry to go out of their way to help us.be ware phone call is very expensive.however the stay was ruined by one thing:we ate breakfast in the hotel each morning for one week.in summary the hotel itself is certainly 5 star,however the service levels in breakfast are no where near that,seemed too many staff not quite sure what to do,a number of other guests at the breakfast time were complaning a bout the service in the restaurant,breakfast staff just havent been trained properly.we waited almost 15 minutes for coffee,the service was slow,dirty plates were not collected and everything asked has to be repeated more than once and the answers came very slowly with lack of interest in helping us and no eye contact what so ever.all in all we did not enjoy our breakfast and the big reason was staff specially one of staff her name was FEZE,we were forced to face with her every morning for having breakfast at the restaurant,she realized herself as a south african representative for miss world competition,so rude and selfish,she really had problems with listening to us or she has simply made her mind up about ignoring people eating breakfast.shame on you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear hamidrezamonshizadeh,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments pertaining to your recent stay at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel.

On behalf of African Pride Hotels, I would like to humbly apologise for your disappointing experience.

We would like to assure you that we, at African Pride Hotels, pride ourselves in delivering the best GUEST service and strive to get the basics right consistently. Your experience does not reflect the high standard we are usually proud to offer.

I confirm therefore that your concerns are being addressed in a serious light and that action is being taken to rectify any shortcomings in our service and facilities.

Many thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange Hotel when next you visit Cape Town. We should welcome another opportunity to show you African Pride Hospitality at its best!

Kind regards,

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Address: Corner of Greys Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel, Cape Town's icon of style, is set in the upmarket suburb of Gardens at the foot of Table Mountain. African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel offers an experience of sensual sophistication and style, combining distinctive architecture and exquisite luxury with the renowned first-class service of African Pride Hotels. This ideal location on the fringe of Cape Town's vibrant city centre ensures that GUESTS are within walking distance of the National Museum and the Planetarium. Get some fresh air - feel free to take a leisurely stroll through the nearby Company Gardens and embrace the green jewel in the heart of the metropolis. Welcome the holiday shopping bug and visit the selection of exclusive in-house retailer outlets while the world-class shopping paradise of the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront is merely minutes away. If time out is in order, enjoy a cup of tea or a fine whiskey in the eclectic Judges Lounge, where we pay homage to Cape Town’s auspicious legal fraternity. Whether staying indoors or setting out to explore the cape – African Pride 15 on Orange offers GUESTS the perfect luxury destination for business, pleasure or a bit of both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.