We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel to your Saves list
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Greys Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #27 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I could rave about this hotel ALL day long. Unassuming from the outside, but don't let that fool you. We have traveled all around the world and stayed in some amazing places. THIS hotel just has something special. The beds are to die for. We struggled to get up ;-). The shower is heavenly. Our room was incredibly spacious and beautifully laid out. The service and food were outstanding. Would love to stay here for a very long time. Close to everything. Attention to detail 20/10.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear KirstinT

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel!

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at 15 on Orange Hotel and we look forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town!

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    70
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
107
16
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

As a group of Comair employees, it is a very difficult task to arrange for 6 colleagues to get together to arrange a meeting,
let alone, a meeting away from home. (Gauteng))
After all the arrangements were made, expectations of staying at a relatively “nice” hotel were rather high,….
So on walking into 15 On Orange, all expectations where exceeded.
I made the reservation with Melvyn van der Merwe, who is relatively “new” at Protea Hotel Central Reservation” , and although,
I requested to stay in Durban originally,… there was an Indaba taking place in Kwazulu Natal, and so the reservation for 6 bedrooms was amended, and rebooked for Cape Town,
With no attitude, or aggravation, Melvyn assisted me, and made the reservation at 15 on Orange, and even booked the King suite for myself,
I was so privileged to be upgraded to a “special” room.
On check in, Zathanda , Lauren and Cherylee, greeted us with a welcoming smile, and offered to keep our luggage until we could check in, as we had arrived early in Cape Town, and our rooms were not ready, (understandably so). Zathanda, offered us a boardroom, to work in, (complimentary might I add), and the one lady, that had joined us from Cape town, and did not need accommodation, was offered, that her parking ticket be stamped (exempted) for the day,- This was truly going, above and beyond what any guest would expect from a hotel, but what definitely adds to the magical touch of Protea hospitality.
I would also like to add that the girls looked absolutely stunning in their uniforms, and professional in their approach to not only us, but to other guests too.
When using the boardroom, we were also offered, an extention cord, and Ross, came to show us how to connect the TV to our laptops, - also being courteous, and helpful.
Tanduxolo, - brought our meals to us in the board room, which was also unexpected, as we had ordered food from the Cinnamon coffee bar, and I assume, were expected to eat there, however, we continued, uninterrupted in the boardroom, with lots of work which we had to complete, and this aided to our uninterrupted work flow.
I would like to thank you, and compliment you, on your hotel, with the feather plumed lampshades, the executive styled staff, and the manner in which, you make every guest feel like royalty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear BrandAmbassador737,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us at African Pride, 15 on Orange Hotel.
Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Your comments are much appreciated, and we look forward to have the privilege of welcoming you back to African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel again soon when your travels next bring you to Cape Town.

Kind Regards,

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is close to the Parliament building, with nice and specious rooms, great decor, wonderful bathrooms, and nice mountain views from some of the rooms.and in general - it has got a positive energy and good ambiance, This hotel serves an unbeatable breakfast (normally included in the room price). There’s no doubt that this hotel is well managed; from reception to rooms to breakfast - the staff and its managers are well trained and very professional and all staff member we came across were committed to make you feel good and welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Uri O,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments pertaining to your recent stay at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel.

I am delighted to hear about the impressive service offered during your recent stay with us.
Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Douglas Allen
Generall Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights on business in March. Lovely hotel, they gave me a super room with floor to ceiling windows and a view out towards Table Mountain. Well equipped room with a large bathroom, about the only thing I'd change was the in-room coffee facilities. I've stayed in similar levels of hotel where they had personal Nespresso machines for real cappuccino; but I'm just nit picking. I and a colleague ate in the restaurant on two nights, very nice food, although the service could have been a tad faster one night. The hotel is some distance from interesting tourist spots like the V&A waterfront, you'd need to take a taxi to get there; but for a business trip that doesn't matter. I've stayed in a few places in Cape Town and this is definitely the nicest so far.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear nick j,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay with us.

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations.

Your feedback has therefore been truly invaluable to us.

We look forward to welcoming you to 15 on Orange Hotel and to hearing from you again when your travels next bring you to Cape Town!

Kind Regards

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very good hotel in the center of the city, located just outside the tourist open bus. Service is very good. Clean rooms, friendly staff and a good restaurant downstairs. Westayed there for 3 nights over new years' and had dinner on new year's eve. The hotel lacks atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear 2010traveller83,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay with us.

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations.
Your feedback has therefore been truly invaluable to us.

We look forward to welcoming you to 15 on Orange Hotel and to hearing from you again when your travels next bring you to Cape Town!

Kind Regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great Hotel, near Long Street and close to many restaurants and pubs. Hotel gym not great, but vouchers available to nearby gym. Free capped internet.
Hotel bar modern with a dash of the bronx styling.

Room Tip: Mountain facing room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear MBhoola,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We have noted your feedback with regards to the Gym equipment, and are pleased to advise that we are in the process of updating our gym with new equipment.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at 15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

After staying in a not-so-hot nearby hotel, I couldn't have been happier to arrive at 15 on Orange. I was warmly greeted my the porter and front desk staff, and led to my spacious, well-designed room. The lighting was stylish and decor inviting. The room was clean and comfortable, with a large bed, bathtub, separate shower and toilet. Room service menu options were tasty and plentiful. The location was prime, located near the fashionable shops on Kloof Street, and a short drive from Table Mountain, Waterfront, beaches, etc. The room rate was reasonable, and I felt I received a good value after getting ripped off at the nearby Fire & Ice. Concierge service could be improved, but was generally quite good. Sometimes had trouble getting through to the front desk. Limited number of power outlets in the room was a minor inconvenience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Dan G,

I am sorry to hear that your first hotel experience did not meet your expectations.

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager


With best regards,
Douglas Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Address: Corner of Greys Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel, Cape Town's icon of style, is set in the upmarket suburb of Gardens at the foot of Table Mountain. African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel offers an experience of sensual sophistication and style, combining distinctive architecture and exquisite luxury with the renowned first-class service of African Pride Hotels. This ideal location on the fringe of Cape Town's vibrant city centre ensures that GUESTS are within walking distance of the National Museum and the Planetarium. Get some fresh air - feel free to take a leisurely stroll through the nearby Company Gardens and embrace the green jewel in the heart of the metropolis. Welcome the holiday shopping bug and visit the selection of exclusive in-house retailer outlets while the world-class shopping paradise of the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront is merely minutes away. If time out is in order, enjoy a cup of tea or a fine whiskey in the eclectic Judges Lounge, where we pay homage to Cape Town’s auspicious legal fraternity. Whether staying indoors or setting out to explore the cape – African Pride 15 on Orange offers GUESTS the perfect luxury destination for business, pleasure or a bit of both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.