We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Save Saved
You added African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Greys Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 102 hotels in Cape Town Central
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for four nights. We traveled for almost 20 hours (by plane) and were extremely exhausted upon our arrival. Upon check in we were upgraded and our room was No.529 facing Table Mountain and it was a corner suite. We could not be more impressed. I don't understand the reviews that complain about the rude service. We stayed there for four days and the hotel staff were nothing but accomodating and very gracious. I phoned downstairs several times, once we entered our room, because I couldn't find anything, and whoever answered the phone was always helpful and didn't make me feel like I was inconveniencing them.

The only thing that is somewhat annoying, is that there are absolutely no electrical outlets in the bathroom. So I had to blow dry my hair in the living room area were there was a hair blower, but no mirror. Kind of strange, but I guess there must be a reason why there are no electrical outlets in the bathroom.

We had breakfast everyday at the hotel since it was included in the price. There was a great buffet selection of yogurts, granola, meats, cheese, eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. I'm not a big breakfast person so this was adequate for our needs.

We were very close to Long Street and felt very safe walking there at night. We went to several bars and the restaurant Fork. We felt very safe, but we also made a point to not look like tourists.

There is a roof top pool upstairs. We never went but it is a great size for a quick dip.

This trip was unexpected for us, and we will probably only travel to Africa again to go on a safari. Capetown is an extremely beautiful city and the location of the Hotel is ideal, if you don't want to stay near the Waterfront. We were always a quick taxi to anywhere and it usually cost the equivalent of around $10-12 Canadian dollars.

If you have any questions about your trip to Capetown, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Scrumptious29

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at 15 on Orange Hotel.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong!

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you African Pride Hospitality at its best!

With best regards,

Douglas Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    58
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
90
15
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Fantastic hotel and great location for nightlife and attractions. Having lived in Cape Town for 6 years I rarely needed to stay in hotels - but I booked out the penthouse suite for a weekend with my friends and it was lovely. Very spacious over 2 levels, with a lovely view of Table Mountain and the city. Modern finishings and a pimped out kitchen with much more than you'll need for your stay. The only downside was service was not up to standard - breakfast was ordered but never delivered and an arrangement for champagne glasses to be delivered to the room was confused resulting in 6 bottles of champagne being brought up (not impressed!). Overall fantastic hotel but the service needs to improve!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Reshen,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments pertaining to your recent stay at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel.

We value your feedback as an extremely important tool in our day to day operations, as this helps us to improve on our service delivery.

We have noted your concerns about the in-room dining service offered. Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you African Pride Hospitality at its best!


Kind Regards
Douglas Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at 15 on orange in November 2011. The staff were rude. Not one obliging member of staff for the two nights we were there. The downstairs foyer was quiet and deserted most of the time. The beds are hard and uncomfortable. On the plus side, the room was massive and really well appointed. The hotel is spotlessly clean. In a city where these is such variety and choice to stay at these same price points I would suggest the management up their game.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear marc-hirschowitz,

On behalf of African Pride Hotels, I would like to humbly apologise for your disappointing experience. We are truly sad to hear about your experience. We would like to assure you that we at African Pride 15 Orange Hotel, pride ourselves in delivering the best GUEST service and strive to get the basics right consistently. Your experience does not reflect the high standard we are usually proud to offer.

I confirm therefore that your concerns are being addressed in a serious light and that action is being taken to rectify any shortcomings in our service and facilities.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you African Pride Hospitality at its best!

Should you have any queries please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

One of the many hotels built to accommodate SA's hosting of FIFA in 2010, 15 on Orange is new, with contemporary decor.
It is very well located, very close to parliament and the centre of Cape Town CBD, yet far enough away to be peaceful.
Rooms are very spacious, bed and bedding luxurious, bathrooms opulent.
Breakfast's generous and of good quality.
Value for money is exceptional.

So why not 5 stars? The very fine details need attention - a missing napkin, an incorrectly folded account, a forgotten cappuccino and having to carry your bags down stairs upon entry are examples. With more attention to finer details, this hotel would rate easily as 5 star in my book.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear GhoulDog,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong!

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you African Pride Hospitality at its best!

With best regards,
Douglas Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Room was very spacious and comfortable during our stay. We felt very safe with the surroundings and service was good. You really can't go wrong with staying here and it's very new! Rooms are serviced twice during the day so it's always in perfect conditions.

I would recommend hiring a car to get around, we initially caught a taxi from airport for R250, but hiring a car for 3 days was only R970 and that way you can be safe travelling around without worrying about your where the taxi might be taking you and can drive to Cape of Good Hope etc and save a lot on tours as entry costs are generally very reasonable!

Room Tip: Facing Table Mountain but better above 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear ComfyGourmetSeek,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

15 on Orange never disappoints. The rooms are large, well organised and everything works the way it should. I have yet to have a bad experience here and have stayed a LOT. The food is good and well priced - you don't feel you are being ripped off. The breakfast has EVERYTHING you could wish for and is well presented. The rooms all have an area where the bed is an addiitional area with a type of lounge. In comparison to other hotels in Cape Town, this is by far one of my top choices

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear loup33,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Friendly staff, a very nice seating area, comfortable. Breakfast is gigantic, fresh and for all believes or habbits something to be found. The rooms are spacious, and well organised. Good bed, eveything worked well. Good vallet parking. A 5 on the scale !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Erwin D,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at African Pride15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Address: Corner of Greys Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel, Cape Town's icon of style, is set in the upmarket suburb of Gardens at the foot of Table Mountain. African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel offers an experience of sensual sophistication and style, combining distinctive architecture and exquisite luxury with the renowned first-class service of African Pride Hotels. This ideal location on the fringe of Cape Town's vibrant city centre ensures that GUESTS are within walking distance of the National Museum and the Planetarium. Get some fresh air - feel free to take a leisurely stroll through the nearby Company Gardens and embrace the green jewel in the heart of the metropolis. Welcome the holiday shopping bug and visit the selection of exclusive in-house retailer outlets while the world-class shopping paradise of the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront is merely minutes away. If time out is in order, enjoy a cup of tea or a fine whiskey in the eclectic Judges Lounge, where we pay homage to Cape Town’s auspicious legal fraternity. Whether staying indoors or setting out to explore the cape – African Pride 15 on Orange offers GUESTS the perfect luxury destination for business, pleasure or a bit of both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.