We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Best prices from these 12 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel to your Saves list
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Greys Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

15 on Orange never disappoints. The rooms are large, well organised and everything works the way it should. I have yet to have a bad experience here and have stayed a LOT. The food is good and well priced - you don't feel you are being ripped off. The breakfast has EVERYTHING you could wish for and is well presented. The rooms all have an area where the bed is an addiitional area with a type of lounge. In comparison to other hotels in Cape Town, this is by far one of my top choices

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear loup33,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    59
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
96
15
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Friendly staff, a very nice seating area, comfortable. Breakfast is gigantic, fresh and for all believes or habbits something to be found. The rooms are spacious, and well organised. Good bed, eveything worked well. Good vallet parking. A 5 on the scale !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Erwin D,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at African Pride15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is the best hotel we've stayed at in all of our travels, bar none. It was built for the World Cup and is in pristine condition. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, modern, and come with stunning views of Cape Town and Table Mountain. The food and restaurants were terrific - we ate just about all our meals there for a week, including room service, breakfast, lunch and dinner, and it was all great. Everything about hotel has a very "chic" feel. The location is good, too - walking distance to many of the gardens and the planetarium, and an easy cab ride to the marina area where there are lots of other attractions. The spa was also a great experience, and they have a nice pool too (though we didn't indulge since it was winter when we stayed there). An all-around amazing experience. Traveled May 2011.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear robandchrissy

Thank you for taking the time write down a review about your recent stay with us at African Pride, 15 on Orange Hotel. I am delighted to hear that your enjoyed the cuisine. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM!

Thank you for choosing to stay at 15 on Orange Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With best regards,
Douglas Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very chic, I didn’t really know what to expect when I arrived and normally enjoy more traditional hotels (while this one is uber modern) but was quickly charmed (or seduced would be more fitting as everything is sexy chic) by my room’s great view, friendly staff and contemporary décor. I was up late one night, not ready for bed and wanted some fresh air so they opened the patio for me to drink wine and skype with family back home. For breakfast (I'd give it 8/10 they have everything you could really want) I also wanted to sit outside and within 2 minutes of asking if I could eat outdoors they had set up a table outside. Little things like that make all the difference.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Robin B,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong!

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you African Pride Hospitality at its best!

With best regards,
Douglas Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

When we first walked into our room we were overcome with the amazing view!! We decided it was so good that we would just order a bottle of wine and sit and enjoy it, in fact we ended up staying there for the rest of the day and ordering room service. The staff were very friendly and helpful, if there was a problem, they would attend to it immediately.
As for the location....we could walk to Gardens Centre, down Long Street which is rather trendy and of course the walk down Goverment Avenue where you can visit the museum, the gardens and other points of interest. There are loads of stunning restuarants to choose from within a 1km radius. I have already recommended it to all my friends.
Arlene-JHB

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Arlene M

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just had 9nts at this excellent hotel,as soon as we arrived we had a very genial welcome,the staff are so polite and friendly,we were upgraded to a room with the super view of table mountain.
The room was elegant,very comfy bed,good high quality bed linen and towels and well serviced twice daily.
Breakfast:an excellent array of hot and cold,well trained waiting staff all very smart and proffessional.
Concierge gave us good service with tour ideas and saved us money and time by finding us an excellent driver and guide in Emanuel,he was amazing and put himself out to make our trips a pleasure.
Reception staff were ajoy to speak to,which only shows they are happy at the African Pride,it was a delight to return each night and get into our lovely comfortable holiday residence,would recommend it all.

Room Tip: obviously mountain views are great and fifth floor was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Pam B

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town!

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms at good value for money price. Excellent service from all the staff we encountered, very helpful and friendly. Room was spotless and very comfortable. Location handy and enjoyed wandering around with the hotel offering a shuttle down to V&A waterfront too. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear daveb970_brisbane,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at African Pride15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Address: Corner of Greys Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel, Cape Town's icon of style, is set in the upmarket suburb of Gardens at the foot of Table Mountain. African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel offers an experience of sensual sophistication and style, combining distinctive architecture and exquisite luxury with the renowned first-class service of African Pride Hotels. This ideal location on the fringe of Cape Town's vibrant city centre ensures that GUESTS are within walking distance of the National Museum and the Planetarium. Get some fresh air - feel free to take a leisurely stroll through the nearby Company Gardens and embrace the green jewel in the heart of the metropolis. Welcome the holiday shopping bug and visit the selection of exclusive in-house retailer outlets while the world-class shopping paradise of the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront is merely minutes away. If time out is in order, enjoy a cup of tea or a fine whiskey in the eclectic Judges Lounge, where we pay homage to Cape Town’s auspicious legal fraternity. Whether staying indoors or setting out to explore the cape – African Pride 15 on Orange offers GUESTS the perfect luxury destination for business, pleasure or a bit of both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.