We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel to your Saves list
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Greys Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed there on business in November. Rooms are modern, clean. Food excellent. Location superb. Just thought the price for breakfast was way too expensive. Found staff not too attentive, you have to hunt the waiter down for some coffee at breakfast.

Room Tip: Ensure your room rate includes breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear RonelleJ1955

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong!

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you African Pride Hospitality at its best!

With best regards,

Douglas Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    59
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
96
15
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel is modern and stylish. Long Street with its restaurants and bars is in walking distance (5 minutes). From the upper floors one has a great view of table mountain.
On the roof top, there is a small pool (weather was too cold for me to use the pool) with a great vista of table mountain and downtown Cape Town.
Museums are next door, and also a stop of the red double decker sight seeing buses (strongly recommended for those who have little time, yet still want to see a bit of Cape Town and surroundings (at a very reasonable price).

Room Tip: Ask fpor a room on the upper floors (vista). Avoid a room with window towards the internal court (Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear StefanMarco,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback after your recent stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you had a good experience. Thank you for choosing to stay at 15 on Orange Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again when your travels next bring you to Cape Town!

Kind Regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Spacious, clean, tastefully furnished and everything works.
So if you are looking for a centrally located hotel in Cape Town, that is the right choice.

I took the entry room and was very positively surprised.
The downside is that the view is on the the hotel lobby, so do not expect to be waken up by the sunshine or the noise of the ocean. On the other hand your sleep will not be affected by noise.

Staff is courteous, smiling and will take your feedbacks seriously.
You are within walking distance from Gardens and Long market, which makes it centrally located.

Can only recommend it and will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear P H,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Really good hotel, immaculate decor, big room. Turn down service at night. Staff very polite and hard working. The views are spectacular. Great terrace to sit out on. The Breakfast was OK but not as good as it could have been. The hotel would be better for business than holidays.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear MarkBReading,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. Your feedback has therefore been truly invaluable to us.

We look forward to welcoming you to African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and to hearing from you again!


Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

one of the best, not overly expensive hotels. So it's not on the beach but it is walking distance to the cafe society of Kloof and the CBD with its great old architecture and cathedral. The hotel itself is modern, with great spa facilities, a superb restaurant with the option of a three course meal at a set price (when I was there it was R185) or a la carte, the most helpful concierge desk and great staff. The suite I was lucky enough to stay in was the size of a small apartment and the bathroom - just divine!

Can't say enough superlatives I would go back tomorrow and it is a short drive from there to all of the other great attractions; table mountain, Hout Bay, Camps Bay, Waterfront etc.

LOVE IT!

Room Tip: I had a suite and they were all fabulous but wouldn't recommend the standard rooms in the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Kate L,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel!

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a really great hotel that gets all the details spot on.
Friendly welcome from the door staff and concierge all the way through the checking in process to the restaurant staff.
Our favorite meal was breakfast : great choice of buffet and a la carte. The staff couldn't have done more to help, particularly as we were travelling with our 7 year old who has a very particular eggs order that was right every time ( thank you Justin ! )
Our suite (201) was very well appointed. 2 bedrooms, spacious lounge and dining area and incredibly comfortable beds. The main bathroom had a huge tub which was perfect after a long day walking around Cape Town.
I couldn't think of a negative thing to say about 15 on Orange. It was wonderful :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear RebeccaFRegan,

Thank you for taking the time write down a review about your recent stay with us at African Pride, 15 on Orange Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM!

Thank you for choosing to stay at 15 on Orange Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had the most amazing room facing Table Mountain - more like a suite -- with a proper bathroom in a glass box with the same stunning view -- it could easily fit in your ''Best Bathrooms with a View''. Everything was perfect and the service and restaurant was excellent. We would love to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of either Table Mountain or the Company Gardens. We were on the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Minnie250

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at 15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Address: Corner of Greys Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel, Cape Town's icon of style, is set in the upmarket suburb of Gardens at the foot of Table Mountain. African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel offers an experience of sensual sophistication and style, combining distinctive architecture and exquisite luxury with the renowned first-class service of African Pride Hotels. This ideal location on the fringe of Cape Town's vibrant city centre ensures that GUESTS are within walking distance of the National Museum and the Planetarium. Get some fresh air - feel free to take a leisurely stroll through the nearby Company Gardens and embrace the green jewel in the heart of the metropolis. Welcome the holiday shopping bug and visit the selection of exclusive in-house retailer outlets while the world-class shopping paradise of the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront is merely minutes away. If time out is in order, enjoy a cup of tea or a fine whiskey in the eclectic Judges Lounge, where we pay homage to Cape Town’s auspicious legal fraternity. Whether staying indoors or setting out to explore the cape – African Pride 15 on Orange offers GUESTS the perfect luxury destination for business, pleasure or a bit of both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.