We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutley fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel to your Saves list
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Greys Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“absolutley fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

one of the best, not overly expensive hotels. So it's not on the beach but it is walking distance to the cafe society of Kloof and the CBD with its great old architecture and cathedral. The hotel itself is modern, with great spa facilities, a superb restaurant with the option of a three course meal at a set price (when I was there it was R185) or a la carte, the most helpful concierge desk and great staff. The suite I was lucky enough to stay in was the size of a small apartment and the bathroom - just divine!

Can't say enough superlatives I would go back tomorrow and it is a short drive from there to all of the other great attractions; table mountain, Hout Bay, Camps Bay, Waterfront etc.

LOVE IT!

Room Tip: I had a suite and they were all fabulous but wouldn't recommend the standard rooms in the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Kate L,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel!

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    62
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
96
16
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a really great hotel that gets all the details spot on.
Friendly welcome from the door staff and concierge all the way through the checking in process to the restaurant staff.
Our favorite meal was breakfast : great choice of buffet and a la carte. The staff couldn't have done more to help, particularly as we were travelling with our 7 year old who has a very particular eggs order that was right every time ( thank you Justin ! )
Our suite (201) was very well appointed. 2 bedrooms, spacious lounge and dining area and incredibly comfortable beds. The main bathroom had a huge tub which was perfect after a long day walking around Cape Town.
I couldn't think of a negative thing to say about 15 on Orange. It was wonderful :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear RebeccaFRegan,

Thank you for taking the time write down a review about your recent stay with us at African Pride, 15 on Orange Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM!

Thank you for choosing to stay at 15 on Orange Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had the most amazing room facing Table Mountain - more like a suite -- with a proper bathroom in a glass box with the same stunning view -- it could easily fit in your ''Best Bathrooms with a View''. Everything was perfect and the service and restaurant was excellent. We would love to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of either Table Mountain or the Company Gardens. We were on the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Minnie250

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at 15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a "designer" type hotel - the room was very comfortable, but you have the bath next to you in the room! It kind of works though, and I was most delighted by the fact that you can actually see what you're doing at night because the in-room lighting is so good (you know how most hotels have those awful energy saving bulbs now). Room was a little hot - the air conditioning seemed to have a mind of its own.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is such a great hotel in the Cape Town city centre. It's uber modern. Love the decor. Bedrooms are well sized. Try for an upgrade to a suite - you'll feel very VIP! Restaurant is super and has good breakfast and dinner menus. The bar and lounge are great places to relax and catch up on yhour notebook or Ipad.
For business visits, the conference rooms are great, the gym has everything you need and it's all modern and new.

Try it out next time you're in Cape Town!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear SMoss101,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The welcome was very friendly. The room was more like an apartment than a hotel room. The bathroom was large ,well organised and clean .The food fantastic and reasonable priced . An amazing selection of food for breakfast.. Situated central in the city and an easy walk to the water front. On the open top bus route.We have nothing bad to say..Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Susan J

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback after your recent stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you had a good experience. Thank you for choosing to stay at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice hotel with lovely large and quiet rooms. Breakfast a bit too minamilist but you can always have a la carte rather than buffet. Nice friendly staff and well placed hotel for both Long Street and Kloof district.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear JayneE1975

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.
Your feedback has therefore been truly invaluable to us.

We look forward to have the privilege of welcoming you back to African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Address: Corner of Greys Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel, Cape Town's icon of style, is set in the upmarket suburb of Gardens at the foot of Table Mountain. African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel offers an experience of sensual sophistication and style, combining distinctive architecture and exquisite luxury with the renowned first-class service of African Pride Hotels. This ideal location on the fringe of Cape Town's vibrant city centre ensures that GUESTS are within walking distance of the National Museum and the Planetarium. Get some fresh air - feel free to take a leisurely stroll through the nearby Company Gardens and embrace the green jewel in the heart of the metropolis. Welcome the holiday shopping bug and visit the selection of exclusive in-house retailer outlets while the world-class shopping paradise of the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront is merely minutes away. If time out is in order, enjoy a cup of tea or a fine whiskey in the eclectic Judges Lounge, where we pay homage to Cape Town’s auspicious legal fraternity. Whether staying indoors or setting out to explore the cape – African Pride 15 on Orange offers GUESTS the perfect luxury destination for business, pleasure or a bit of both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.