We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel to your Saves list
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Greys Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #27 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A modern hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The welcome was very friendly. The room was more like an apartment than a hotel room. The bathroom was large ,well organised and clean .The food fantastic and reasonable priced . An amazing selection of food for breakfast.. Situated central in the city and an easy walk to the water front. On the open top bus route.We have nothing bad to say..Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Susan J

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback after your recent stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you had a good experience. Thank you for choosing to stay at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    70
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
108
16
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice hotel with lovely large and quiet rooms. Breakfast a bit too minamilist but you can always have a la carte rather than buffet. Nice friendly staff and well placed hotel for both Long Street and Kloof district.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear JayneE1975

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.
Your feedback has therefore been truly invaluable to us.

We look forward to have the privilege of welcoming you back to African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My stay at 15 On Orange was excellent. The views from the south facing rooms and the bar on to Table mountain was amazing. The location is a bit far from the beach and V&A waterfront for a family or tourists, but for business it is on the edge of CBD. The food at the restuarant was excellent, very well prepared. All and all, very good.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Jenjitru

Thank you for taking the time write down a review about your recent stay with us at African Pride, 15 on Orange Hotel. I am delighted to hear that your enjoyed your stay and the cuisine at the hotel. Please be assured that I will congratulate our Chef!

Thank you for choosing to stay at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Well, if you are fortunate enough to stay in the 2 story penthouse at 15 on Orange, prepare to be amazed. The six of us stayed in the large penthouse suite which sits in the front corner of the hotel. Let's start with the place was modern and immaculate, with a dining room, living room, kitchen and access to a really large balcony with sofa and chairs which wrapped around the hotel corner. Then climb the stairs to your second floor with spacious master bedroom, two more king size bed bedrooms each with their own huge bathrooms and showers and tubs. Open the doors on your balcony and you overlook Table Mountain. It is truly a spectacular penthouse and we feel so fortunate to have stayed there.

The hotel is first class all the way. You enter the building in an elevator with its own comfy chair! Then you come to the spacious lobby that looks straight up 7 stories. We had breakfast in their excellent buffet on the lobby floor and found a large variety of breakfast foods.

The hotel staff will drive you to locations in Cape Town if you arrange it with the front desk and we found this incredibly helpful. One more story about how exceptional this place is. We had a child who simply was too tired to go to dinner. The hotel staff quickly arranged a baby sitter for us allowing us to attend which was service beyond our expectations. We can't say enough good things about this exceptional hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear macman2,

Thank you for taking the time write down a review about your recent stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel's Penthouse. I am also delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at African Pride15 on Orange Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon when your travels next bring you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The quality of service was amazing, everyone was very pleasant as well. My room looking at Table Mountain was beautiful, well decorated, and floor to ceiling window to take in the view. The food served was fantastic, and the patio was a grwat place to relax when I didnt feel like leaving the hotel. I used the hotel transport to travel aroubd, it was a little more expensive then taxis, but even a few locals suggested to use it, I didnt mind, the were quick, easy to chat with about things to do, and most of the conceirge staff remembered my name which surprised me after only 2days. When I go back to Cape Town sometime, and I will, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I dont think there is a bad room, there was a barrier wall at the elevators, so even if you had one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Sean D

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back to African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The 15 On Orange stands out above the rest of the Cape Town Hotels in its class, the moment you enter the Hotel. The decor is fresh, new, distinctive and different. The rooms are modern, well appointed and big with a spacious bathroom.

I stayed on a two night business trip and did not have much to do with the staff as I had room service on both nights. Room service was excellent. Food was well prepared and delivered without any delays.

Free Internet! Hotel parking is in the Hotel and convenient.

I would have prefered an outside or external room facing the street or mountain. My room was an "inside" room overlooking the reception and lounge areas. You have a "glass" wall allowing others to see into your room as soon as the lights are turned on.

During my stay the lights in one of the lifts did not work. I did not know this and only realised this after I got into the lift and the lift doors closed. I had to navigate the control panel with the the light on my cell phone screen. I saw staff and others doing the same!

The sign posts in the lift says gym on the Upper Ground level but the hotel does not have a gym. Eventually located a treadmill and a bicycle on the sixth floor. Only the treadmill was working. One would have expected more from a "five" star Hotel.

Well worth the visit and will go back again. Good for business stays!

Room Tip: Ask for an external room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear knowtel

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at 15 on Orange Hotel and thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

We have noted your feedback with regards to the Gym equipment and elevator light, and are pleased to advise that we are in the process of updating our gym and the elevator light which is now in working order once again.

Many thanks again for your comments and we are looking forward to welcome you to 15 on Orange Hotel when next you visit Cape Town!

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We booked via trip advisor's recommendation - it could not have been better. We walked into our enormous room and opened the drapes to see Table Mountain right in front of us. The price was incredible for such a great room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Address: Corner of Greys Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel, Cape Town's icon of style, is set in the upmarket suburb of Gardens at the foot of Table Mountain. African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel offers an experience of sensual sophistication and style, combining distinctive architecture and exquisite luxury with the renowned first-class service of African Pride Hotels. This ideal location on the fringe of Cape Town's vibrant city centre ensures that GUESTS are within walking distance of the National Museum and the Planetarium. Get some fresh air - feel free to take a leisurely stroll through the nearby Company Gardens and embrace the green jewel in the heart of the metropolis. Welcome the holiday shopping bug and visit the selection of exclusive in-house retailer outlets while the world-class shopping paradise of the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront is merely minutes away. If time out is in order, enjoy a cup of tea or a fine whiskey in the eclectic Judges Lounge, where we pay homage to Cape Town’s auspicious legal fraternity. Whether staying indoors or setting out to explore the cape – African Pride 15 on Orange offers GUESTS the perfect luxury destination for business, pleasure or a bit of both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.