We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. Very good. Would repeat it for sure.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Cape Town to your Saves list
Taj Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wale Street | Corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent. Very good. Would repeat it for sure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were in the hotel for 3 nights while doing some tourism for the region, and we have absolutely no negative comments to do at all. The room was big, clean, modern, and with a fantastic shower &hottub. We had the breakfast buffet included and it was excellent every day.
Also, the concierges were really helpfull and attentive during the stay,

The only not so good comment I want to make is not about the hotel, it is about the area because in spite of being in a very good zone in CT, It does not feel very safe at all at dark.

Said that, I would repeat for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly forward these on to our team. We hope that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    193
    47
    17
    16
See reviews for
128
370
51
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lahore, Pakistan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at the Taj for a little under 3 weeks with our kids.


This was our 1st visit and stay in cape town so I’m not sure if this is how everyone at other hotels are or if it was just the Taj…everyone was just super friendly. We’ve stayed at many hotels and of course the staff is always friendly at any 5 star hotel however there was something about the staff here that made you feel right at home. There’s this warmth about how they treat you here, which is not always the case at every hotel.

Special thanks to Ms. Gadija and Mr. Tarush Gupta who went our of their way for us. Being a group of 11 people including 5 children we had a lot of requests and Taj always fulfilled each and every one. The only disappointment I had was the food which was Average.

Room Tip: 1408 which has fantastic view of the lions head and table mountain. 1003 has probably the biggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We will share your comments with the team. We have noted your comments pertaining to Gadija and Tarush for which we will nominate them for our STARS programme. We hope that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to South Africa and more importantly Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A privilege to stay there.
Best bed and linen in any hotel in South Africa!
The friendly and well trained staff are one of the best assets.
Hotel bar and lobby are spectacular.
Rooms and bathrooms beautifully done.
Best indian food in South Africa.
I am a regular, and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly forward these on to our team. We hope that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Taj is truely a marvel in Cape Town CBD. Since last year, I have done 3 long stays already and now feel that if I am in Cape Town, Taj is "THE" hotel. Excellent servce, brilliant food, professional, pleasing staff, excellent management staff, lovely ambience...what else could you ask for at a rate which is quite reasonable for a 5 star. Staff like Trish, Joy, Peter and others are brilliant.

I like the attention management gives towards continuous improvement and perfection.
Once I provided feedback for improvements and was pleasantly surprised to see a proper response and action to the same. I provided another feedback for some improvements during based on my stay in June, however no feedback has been sent yet. I am hoping that Taj will send a response to that as well.

I loved the hotel so much that I even booked the first anniversary celebration for my sister in law and it was one of the best experience they had.

I wished that Taj offered some specials to repeat customers for "very" long stay like 2 weeks as I am planning to stay at the hotel again in Sept/Oct for 2 weeks. Online specials stop at 7 nights.

Regards

Alok Goswami

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Mr Goswami
Thank you for taking the time once again to share your experience. We will most certainly share the comments with all the teams involved. We have noted the special mention of some of the team members. These team members will be nominated for our STARS programme.
We seemed to have not responded to your feedback on the stay in June 2014. We are truly sorry but ask if you could kindly resend the information and we will take action immediately
We look forward to welcoming you back in September 2014.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Situated in 2 historic buildings in the heart of the downtown, the Taj is fantastic. The rooms are updated, immaculately clean, and the mountainside views are incredible. The spa and fitness center are well appointed, the bar in the lobby is beautiful, and you will be impressed. Make sure to check out the skylight in the lobby/bar area and the gorgeous marble columns. Marvelous! And you're also in walking distance of just about everything in the center of downtown. Could not be happier!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Kate
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey your appreciation to the entire team. We hope it will not be too long before we welcome you back to South Africa and more importantly Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, U.K.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Arrived in Cape Town after a 20-hour journey, feeling unwashed, tired and a bit irritable. An hour later we arrived by a nice Mercedes with a friendly and courteous driver to the Taj. Only stayed one night before setting off on our tour, but everything was superb. Nothing was too much trouble, room service arrived promptly, the room was excellent, very comfortable, with views out to Table Mountain from the bath! The location isn't great, you're advised to only go out by taxi after dark, but there's a couple of restaurants in the hotel that look good, so no need to go out really. We loved our short stay, and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Tower rooms with mountain views are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey your appreciation to the entire team. We hope it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Taj in Cape Town has to be my favorite city hotel in SA. The staff are warm, friendly and attentive. Rooms are luxurious. Attention to detail is brilliant with wonderful welcome back treats waiting in the room for every visit. Brilliant for business and leisure travel. If you have time try their spa… great experience despite being small… therapist well trained.

Room Tip: Mountain facing rooms are a treat for out of towers - Table Mountain. However I love the harbor view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey your appreciation to the entire team. We hope it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Address: Wale Street | Corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history ! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium - a Member of the Leading Hotels of the World ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.