We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Cape Town to your Saves list
Taj Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wale Street | Corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Excellet service, great location. The room was spacious with comfortable bed. We stayed for 8 days, no complain. Must try the Chefs Tasting menu paired with SF wine at the Bombay Brassiere, good food, good service, excellent value! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We will most certainly convey your appreciation to the entire team and especially our team in Bombay Brasserie. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town, in the near future
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    194
    47
    17
    16
See reviews for
128
372
52
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

As a family of four (two daughters aged 14 & 12), we had a perfect stay at Taj Cape Town. Compared to other 5-star hotels this was the best experience ever! The hotel is located in the heart of Cape Town, literally around the corner from all you must experience when visiting. The rooms are very luxurious with bathrooms equipped with everything you could need. The beds were large and very comfortable. Great facilities such as the heated pool and gym area (the Spa is a must - do!). Great housekeeping service several times a day. Take your time at breakfast, there is simply too much of everything there. What impressed us the most was the friendliness, courtesy & attentiveness of the entire staff!! They seemed sincerely interested in us, taking care to learn our names on arrival and eager to share their knowledge of their fascinating town. If one should make any negative comments, in our case it would be the somewhat unstable wireless internet access and the view from our rooms. Or rather, lack of it. We had requested two rooms next to one another and booked rooms with street view. We got two rooms next to one another with view to a not-so-very interesting backyard. But they were situated in a quiet nook of the hotel and served our purpose.
All in all we highly recommend this hotel to others planning to stay in Cape Town! And for ourselves: We will be back!!

Room Tip: If you want room with a good view, make sure to book just that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We will most certainly convey your appreciation to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town, in the near future
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Taj for a week during our trip to capetown. We have stayed in Taj previously at couple of locations. We loved the hospitality and hence decided to stay in taj at capetown. The hotel is at a great location, close to shops and joints to eat. The room we took was deluxe mountain facing. The view was amazing! The entire table mountain is visible and it had a great view. We loved our room. We were at 15th floor. Although I would say the hotel didnt offer the hospitality we were looking forward to. It was a mix of great service to poor service. The valet service, breakfast, in room dining and spa was very good. The turn down and housekeeping wasn't good. It was a stay with mixed feeling about the stay.The staff apart from valet and the breakfast restaurant aren't welcoming. They don't even smile.
But we loved the view and the location so we will definately come back. Hopefully next time we will visit we will see more warm welcome and better hospitality during the stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Shilpa
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are truly sorry that we have failed to deliver on the Taj standards especially with our housekeeping and Mint restaurants. These issues will discussed with the respective managers, and corrective measures will be put in place.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town. When planning your next trip I ask you to contact my office, where we can make the necessary arrangements for you.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of central Cape Town.
The rooms are very large and luxurious, with a big bathroom and nice balcony. You get the refinements of a 5-star hotel: bathrobes, bath accessories, and a great assortment of in-room food/drink service. We really appreciated the French coffee press for our own fresh pot first thing in the morning. There was also a tea pot and wide assortment of tea varieties. Each evening included fresh fruit and a chocolate. Those were the freebies, along with the well-stock minibar accoutrements for a price.
The room also supplied an iron and ironing board, which we appreciated.
There is a very good gym, with plenty of workout machines and options, along with a good lap pool.
The breakfast buffet is copious, varied, and very pleasant - coupled with very friendly service. The waitstaff made a point to remember our names after the second morning.
All the extras - the gym, breakfast, valet parking, and coffee when we first arrived - were free of charge. The result was that we payed less here than in a 4-star where we'd stayed previously, where each of those was extra.
All in all, this is a really good address, and one we'd definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Valued guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We will most certainly convey your appreciation to the entire team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Town, in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Taj in Cape Town. I would certainly not describe it as 5 star, but it was very nice. We had a great room overlooking Table Mountain. The room was spacious and breakfast was nice. The location of the hotel allowed for easy walking to most places downtown. It is also right on the Red Bus line. There are a number of great restaurants near by as well. It is a $10 cab ride to the top of Table Mountain and to the Waterfront. The waterfront is lovely, but exceedingly touristy. The Taj allows for a different experience in Cape Town. Therefore, I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will most certainly convey your comments to our team.
We hope that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

First port of call in South Africa and a perfect start. service is first class the location is excellent. All the staff very friendly and the suite we had was unbelievable two bedrooms with all the facilities we could ever need from mini bar to fridge freezer. would return here without a doubt. Restaurant food was first class with a good choice and excellent quality.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will most certainly convey your comments to our team.
We hope to welcome you back to Taj Cape Town in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our first two nights on our first ever trip to S Africa. After an overnight flight we arrived early at around 9.30 and by 10.30 they had managed to get a room ready for us and enabled an early check in (at no extra charge). This typified the high levels of service that this hotel prides itself on. The staff were unfailing pleasant and helpful throughout. The main reception area has been converted from a former bank building and features soaring double height ceilings supported by marble pillars. Decor is similarly sumptuous and the whole place oozed class. Our room was large, complete with king size bed, a number of arm chairs, a lovely wooden writing table, a cabinet housing the well stocked honesty bar fridge and complimentary tea/coffee etc. The bathroom was also very large, with a massive walk in shower as well as a bath. After our long journey from the UK this was exactly what we needed.
The hotel is situated near the centre of the older part of Cape Town, at the bottom end of Company's Gardens and almost directly opposite bus stop 5 on the tourist red route bus service. It takes about 20 - 30 minutes of casual walking to/from the V&A waterfront, or a 10 minute taxi ride. This part of town is bustling during the day with open air markets lining the largely pedestrianised streets. Several of Cape Town's museums are also nearby. In the end we wished we could have stayed longer to explore these streets in more detail. At night the area is relatively quiet, but with a few bars and restaurants nearby. We ate in on our first night and the food was excellent.
Some might want to be a little closer to the tourist orientated activity at the V&A waterfront. But if you want to get a better feel for the true heart of the city, or just a little luxury to ease your travels, I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will most certainly convey your comments to our team.
We hope that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Address: Wale Street | Corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history ! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium - a Member of the Leading Hotels of the World ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.