We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Cape Town to your Saves list
Taj Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wale Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Only one word.. Perfect.. The best hotel I ever stay..

Pro: Luxury and spacious room and bathroom, great amenities, great location, free shuttle by luxury car (jaguar, range rover, mercedes) within 10km drive, wide range of breakfast, great staff, great internet connection, great TV program..

Cons : Nothing..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Rickie
Thank you very much for your feedback. We certainly do appreciate it.
We hope to welcome you back to Taj Cape Town, in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    175
    45
    17
    14
See reviews for
120
339
43
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just stayed one night, our last night in South Africa and we really liked the hotel. We got a quiet room on a high floor with a lovely king size bed, very comfortable and luxurious.
Very centrally located, and even if it is not the preferred area of Cape Town, I thought it was still nice and interesting.
There is a nice gym and a heated pool, that we didn't use but seems very nice.
We got room service (Dinner and Breakfast) and everything was perfect, including the service!
Overall, a great stay, recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you only enjoyed the one evening. We certainly hope that you will be back to share a few more nights with us.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in one of the Heritage Suites. The suite is located in a quiet and discreet corner of the hotel. It occupies the corner space and has wrap around city views (from parliament buildings to Table Mountain to St Georges to Lion's Head). Ideally situated to walk out and stroll around Company's Gardens and peruse all the boutique stores in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Pedro
Thank you so much for the feedback. We certainly hope that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have been many times to Cape Town, and have always stayed at the Waterfront or one of the bays/beach areas. This time, for a night we stayed at the Taj which is in the original Federal Reserve Bank building, in the heart of the city. They have taken the historic values of the building and incorporated them into a stylish and workable space in the main lobby which also incorporates their restaurant Mint and iconic Bombay Brasserie. On certain Friday nights (last night), they have their Taste of menus in Mint which go along with a wine tasting with the hotel Somellier showcasing some fine South African wines and disctinct local flavor South African fare. Very enjoyable in a light and modern atmosphere. The rooms are either in the Heritage Tower with a more calssic feel, and the Tower rooms, which are more contempary. Both are great and anyone staying will love the size of the rooms and suites. The suites in the Tower, have small balconies enhancing the city and mountain views available. The staff are attentive and work hard to make your stay here fantastic. We were leaving early and with our wake up call came a Soy Latte and cup of Rooibuis Tea - wonderul way to start the day.

Room Tip: Choose a suite in the Tower section to include a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for your feedback, which will be conveyed to the team. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Taste evening in our Mint Restaurant and will convey your appreciation to the Chef and Sommelier involved.
We look forward to welcoming back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

As a regular visitor to this beautiful city over the last 20 years I am delighted how the city centre has reinvented & rejuvenated itself & The Taj benefits 100% from this. Stunning old buildings form the public areas, rooms in a modern building. Very stylish, great service, excellent food but most importantly a brilliant city centre location. You can walk onto St Geroges Mall, you are opposite the cathedral & company gardens. Very cool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued guest
Thank you for your feedback, we are certainly proud of our inner City and the heritage. Your comments will be forwarded onto my team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town, in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have stayed at the Taj, Cape Town twice now on my last business trips.

The service is outstanding and the accommodation are excellent.

While it is a smaller hotel than many of the others like the Westin, the personal attention, and attention to detail is truly 5 star.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your feedback. We will certainly convey the information to the team.
We trust that on your next visit to Cape Town, we will have the opportunity to personally meet with you.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape,South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is Cape Town's most beautiful hotel : the lobby is absolutely stunning ( it was formerly a no-expenses-spared banking hall !) ; the Indian restaurant is probably the most beautiful in the country and the rooms leave nothing to be desired.But most important is the perfect situation of the hotel - away from the touristy Waterfront yet in the heart of Cape Town with all its attractions and it is just across the street from the splendid Company's Gardens,perhaps the most beautiful city-centre park in the world.What more would a visitor to Cape Town want?

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new tower block with a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for your feedback. We will most certainly share this with the team.
We hope that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Address: Wale Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern-day landmark in the historic heart of the city, Taj Cape Town blends contemporary elegance and old-world charm in an unforgettable experience. The hotel will continue to uphold the traditions of unparalleled luxury and impeccable service that, for over a century, have been the hallmarks of Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.