We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant recreation of colonial history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Cape Town to your Saves list
Taj Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wale Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Elegant recreation of colonial history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was my second stay. A lovely hotel, where you feel at home. Just a delight to stay there. The public areas and the rooms are sumptious. The staff are polite and helpful. The gym and the sap are excellent. The curries are outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    166
    42
    17
    13
See reviews for
112
326
42
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our first stop in South Africa after a very long trip from the US was completely rewarding. The Taj is a beautiful hotel, with wonderful public spaces, very nicely appointed rooms with remarkable showers, and a perfectly accommodating staff. Particular compliments to the staff in Mint, the dining room in which the wonderful buffet breakfasts are served; to the concierge staff; and to the professional and informed drivers who will shuttle you around in the hotel's fleet of luxury vehicles. You can also arrange an airport pick-up, which is a very civilized way to start the trip.

The Taj is not in a main tourist area, but that also provides for a great deal of charm and relative tranquility. It does reside on St. George's Mall, which provides for a lot of local character, and is across the street from the entry to the gardens leading to many museums.

An overall great stay.

Also, if you're looking for a great tour guide, get in touch with Jeff Edison (jedison@telkomsa.net)--he took us on a trips to both the Cape of Good Hope and the Winelands, and was terrific.

Room Tip: We did not have a Table Mountain view, but it would probably be worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in Cape Town. Great views of Table Mountain from higher floors. Great breakfast buffet as well. Service is somewhat sporadic, ranging from very decent to quite poor. Feels like hotel is still getting its act together in terms of service - definitely not up to usual Taj standards. Hopefully that will be resolved.

Room Tip: Look for a room on a higher floor facing Table Mountain, even if you have to pay slightly more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I visited this hotel and was totally blown away! Luxury in the centre of Cape Town! I love the food the look and feel of this Hotel is a Big Must! The staff was very professional! Well done to a fantastic service delivery!

Room Tip: In the centre of all the action!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

we stayed here for one night before travelling home and had a great experience. The rooms are excellent we managed to get one looking out to table mountain which was a great view. The service was excellent, there is car parking off site which the staff will take care for you. We ate at the Bombay brassery and the food was excellent. Could not fault the hotel or service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Taj Cape Town is a luxury hotel at an affordable price. We were very impressed with the quality of services of the Taj. Upon arrival we were very well served by the front desk. Everything was wonderful. Great first impression of South Africa

We arrived late and the receptionist gave us a room upgrade with a great view of Table Mountain. The bed is extremely comfortable as well as the entire room. Impeccable cleanliness. See the photos I posted below. The breakfast each morning was very good. Definitely, great value for money.

The only small problem is that there is not much place to run near the hotel. We tried to get out for a jog and that was not that great. The streets near the hotel can be very busy and we do not felt safe.

In the end we had to go running to the Waterfront which is about 3 km away and then we came back by taxi since the night came and it would not be safe to go back on feet.

Finally, do not miss the craft fair which is next to the hotel. The same items are sold at the airport for almost 5 times the price, but you have to negociate well.

To sum up, very good hotel in which we would stay again for the price, but I think maybe the next time we would try one hotel closer to the Waterfront.

Room Tip: Do not miss the craft fair next to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Being a regular Taj guest at a number of Indian Taj hotels, I found the Taj Cape Town a real disappointment. It is perhaps unfair trying to compare service at a South African Hotel with one in India as generally hotels in India offer amazing service. However, the Taj Cape Town is poor even by South African standards with exorbitant rates to boot.
Of course the rooms and the decor are world-class (as with all Taj properties), but the service is really pedestrian. Also if you self-drive then be aware that you park in another building and then have to walk to the Taj, so if you're security conscious then please stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here I prefer the view over St Georges Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Address: Wale Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern-day landmark in the historic heart of the city, Taj Cape Town blends contemporary elegance and old-world charm in an unforgettable experience. The hotel will continue to uphold the traditions of unparalleled luxury and impeccable service that, for over a century, have been the hallmarks of Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.