We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strand Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Strand Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Strand Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Loop & Strand Streets, Cape Town Central ZA-8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Quite possibly the best location in Cape Town - this hotel is close to enough to all the major sites, restaurants etc but far enough way to feel safe and get a good night's sleep (a convenient, if slightly touristy, way to to travel around Cape Town is the red City Sightseeing Bus, which stops just around the corner from this hotel and tours all the major areas and sights). It was also surprisingly good value for such a central location.

Our room was immaculate with a perfect view of Table Mountain (ask for a high floor) and felt safe and quiet. The staff were fantastically attentive, some of the best service we've ever had. From the fresh orange juice on arrival to the happy hellos each morning, everyone went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. There was also a great range of options for breakfast and good service even when busy.

We hired a car on our last day (there is a car hire (Hertz I think?) office opposite the hotel, plus the hotel has an on-site tourist info office which can arrange hire, tours etc.) and the hotel arranged for us to park in their car park which was very useful. There is also wifi and general use computers in reception which you can use for free.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a table mountain view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear "Ane2012"

Thank you so much for your thorough review of your stay with us at the Strand Tower Hotel. I am always pleased to read about our guests and about how much they enjoyed their stay with us.

I am especially pleased that you found our staff delivered the best service your have ever had. We always pride ourselves on the friendliness and efficiency of our staff.

The views from your rooms are as you say "Perfect" and i am pleased that you found the room to your satisfaction.

I have relayed your your praises to all the staff and we all look forward in welcoming you back to the Strand Tower Hotel.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    165
    65
    22
    13
See reviews for
53
145
32
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

It is located near the meeting center within walking distance. The room is cozy and spacious. No need to bring plug adapter! It also provides breakfast in buffet type, where you can find whatever you want.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear "Jiahui Z"

Thank you for you gracious review of your stay at the Strand Tower Hotel.

I am please to hear that you found the location of the Strand Tower Hotel so convenient for your stay. The Strand Tower Hotel is one of the most ideal location to stay at when visiting the beautiful city of Cape Town. We are a mere 15 minutes walk from the V&A Waterfront, 5 Minutes from the Cape Town International Convention center and 5 Minutes from the fantastic Long Street with all its vibrant restaurants and other outlets.

As mentioned, there is no need to bring with international adapters when visiting the Strand Tower Hotel. All our rooms are fitted with international power outlets and you can even connect your laptop to your rooms television.

we look forward in welcoming you back to the Strand Tower Hotel for your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed there in the last month, in the last day of my trip some ones took the money i have on my room, i complain with the administrator but i was going away the next day, i have been told by the administration of the hotel that they will continue the investigation and make all to fix it, but they do nothing and they even don’t answer my e-mail.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear "carlos david f"

Thank you for your review. I can assure you that we do take the security of all our guests and their belongings to heart. It is for this reason that the Hotel has state of the art CCTV Surveillance, electronic key cards and Electronic safes in the rooms in order to lock away their belongings. I have responded to your mail providing you with all the information regarding the incident.

It is regrettable that when young sports groups that stay in hotels like to move from room to room to visit their friends and sometimes do neglect to close their doors exposing their belongings to everyone.

I trust other you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel as many of our other guests do.

Please do take me up on my offer on the offer i extended in my e-mail.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Its a good place, excellent for its price range. Quite near most of the happening places in Cape town, my stay was wonderful at this hotel. The view from the 14th floor where i stayed was amazing. the breakfast too was great!! overall, a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear "Shivantika S"

Thank You for taking the time to review your stay at the Strand Tower Hotel. We value all feedback from our guests in order to continuously improve of the level of service we provide our guests.

I am pleased to see that you found the location of the Strand Tower Hotel ideal for your visit to Cape Town. The strand Tower is in fact so centrally located it makes it perfect for truly experiencing the City of Cape Town.
The "hop on" and "mycity" bus services are just outside the Hotel which makes traveling to all the hot spots' that Cape Town has to offer so easy.

Our breakfast buffet is the perfect way to start any day when visiting Cape Town. We have fresh breads baked in our in-house bakery and juicy bacon produced in our Deli. It is truly a delight!!

We look forward in welcoming you back to the Strand Tower Hotel for your next visit to cape Town.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw

General Manager
Strand Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Second visit here and welcomed back by staff.
Picked up from Seamans mission as arrived by Ship.
Great front desk.
Lovely room and comfy bed.
We had complimentary wine as my partners birthday.
Great Breakfast and Dinner Buffet.
Transfer to Airport on debarture was great and we had a breakfast to go.
Good location .

Good price of a great hotel.
Well done to all the staff here.

Room Tip: High room as some noise from roads/bars below
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tlapacoyan, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It was a nice place, close to downtown; everything is near by; I was able to take to hop on hop off bus, it was easy also to go to table mountain; most of the visiting places are close to it, including the port and the mal, where I could find a lot of hand-made souvernirs, and they were economical.

Room Tip: my room was on floor 11, and I was facing table mountain which was awesome!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was booked for me without knowing much about it but it did not disappoint. Our flight landed in CT at 0900 ish so we were at a loss until check in time. The Hotel looked after our luggage for us while we waited for our room to be cleaned and then let us in a little earlier too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Strand Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Tower Hotel

Address: Corner Loop & Strand Streets, Cape Town Central ZA-8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Tower Hotel is located in the hub of Cape Town’s CBD on the corner of bustling Strand and Loop Streets. It offers 4 Star accommodation, making it the ideal place to stay for business, conference and leisure travellers.Free internet of 100MB daily is available to all our guests. Secure on site parking.Cape Town’s business centre is within easy walking distance from the Strand Tower Hotel. The city’s many major tourist attractions, such as Table Mountain, Robben Island and the V&A Waterfront, are also within easy access from the hotel. Other notable landmarks nearby include the Cape Town International Convention Centre. With three World Heritage Sites, Cape Town has a wide range of attractions that include a diverse mix of cultural, historical and historical sites, as well as a host of outdoor and leisure activities. From entertainment, nature and environment to world-class wining and dining – the Mother City offers something for everyone.Boasting a gym, sauna, bar, restaurant and satellite television, the Strand Tower Hotel is almost entirely self contained. So much so, that our guests don’t even need to go outside.The hotel has plenty of facilities to keep you entertained and relaxed. The pool deck, which is located on the second floor of the hotel, provides guests with a lush, tranquil oasis in the heart of the city. The gym area, sauna and steam room allow guests to destress after a long day while having fabulous views of Table Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Strand Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Tower Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strand Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.