We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed to explore Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of More Quarters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added More Quarters to your Saves list
More Quarters
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Nicol Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Well placed to explore Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Beautiful modern appartments with all amenities. Light, airy, comfortable with modern decor.room had small patio, sofas, cooking facilities and fridge with milk etc. Breakfast was excellent with large choice of cooked options in addition to splendid buffet. Staff were particularly attentive and helpful - suggesting and booking restaurants, taxis and facilitation sight-seeing visits.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    56
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
74
160
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We were a group of three Canadian couples that arrived late after a very long journey and were amazed at how fabulous are accomodations were at More Quarters! Even more amazing was how great all of the staff were. It felt like if we even had any type of question they already knew what the answer was before we spoke. Subtle and refined excellence in service is how we would describe our stay at More Quarters. All six in our group would definitely recommend this boutique hotel as the place to stay in Capetown!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

A friend and I stayed in Room 3 upstairs in mid January 2014 for 4 nights. We were delighted with the decor, cleanliness and location of More Quarters. We appreciated the nice linens, fluffy towels and high end bath products. The staff are all super helpful, friendly and attentive. The breakfast is delicious and the atmosphere is lovely and sophisticated. We are two single ladies in our 40's and we felt perfectly safe walking to all the surrounding shops, restaurants and bars, even at night. My only tiny complaint is that the wifi is painfully slow, but we experienced this issue at almost every hotel in South Africa. Maybe that's just the way it is. We were just very excited to post photos to Facebook and brag to everyone back in the US about our fantastic trip. :-) We fell in love with Capetown. What an incredible city! I would not hesitate to recommend More Quarters to others and hope to return again one day soon.

Room Tip: If you are two friends traveling they can split the king bed into two twins so we could have more of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed in Room 1 for 3 nights. The accommodations were excellent. Very private and a nice living room to relax in. We thought the location was great. Many good restaurants a short walk away. They do run a shuttle to the V&A waterfront. Breakfast was very nice too. The only trouble we had was with the hotel making dinner reservations for our group of 6.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

It was great to have a place that felt like home in a wonderful city. The apartment was spacious, appointed superbly, and very clean. The staff is so helpful in arranging reservations, tickets to Table Mountain, rental car, etc. The neighborhood has so many fun and interesting bars, cafés, and restaurants. All within a few block walk. Also felt very safe and we had the time of our lives. Breakfasts were to die for. We also took advantage of their combo deal by staying at Their Lion Sands Lodge in the Sabi Sands Game Reserve and got two nights free - a real bonus.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Very pleasure experience.
People there are nice and very helpful. The hotel shuttle to V&A waterfront is very convenient.
Near Table Mountain. Breakfast is fantastic. The wi-fi seems a little bit slow though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for the great review! I hope that you will stay with us again soon - it was a pleasure hosting you at More Quarters. I am happy that you made use of our complimentary shuttle service to the V&A and that you enjoyed our breakfast selection.

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Overall this is the neighborhood you want to be in. Situated between the nightlife of upper Kloof St. and the gentrifying hipness of upper upper Kloof st. This apartment hotel is located right in the heart of the action. Rooms are well designed, spacious and tasteful. Breakfasts as pointed out by other posters are top quality and you won't be bored even after a long stay. It's served in an elegant white-on-white dining room and is an unhurried affair. It's a smaller property so you won't be overwhelmed with guests. It's location down a dead-end side street cuts down on noise and traffic although you might get some rowdiness from bar patrons on the corners. Parking can be a pain as manouvering in this slanted parking is a bit of a game. Staff are there to help you out of you get into trouble. I'd say the real strengths of this hotel are service, size and location. It's understated and quiet and the staff to guest ratio is in your favor. Wifi is a problem as others have mentioned. They piggyback off the Cadogan server one street over. This makes for a frustrating situation in both connectivity and the inconvenient voucher system you need to go through. Upscale Tamboerskloof is yards away while even Bo Kaap is walkable if you are energetic.

Room Tip: Go for rooms above ground level. Closest to the stairs at the end of the cul-de-sac is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for the review and your valued comments. I am happy that your stay with us was enjoyable and I hope that you will return soon!

Thank you for mentioning the internet - we have an upgrade scheduled for later this month that will improve connectivity as a whole. I am sorry that you could not make full use of this service.

I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team about the service - they will be delighted!

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to More Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about More Quarters

Address: 2 Nicol Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — More Quarters 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining apartment living with the service and hospitality of a hotel makes this experience unique and ideal when visiting Cape Town. The location within Cape Town city bowl affords guests the ability to walk to both restaurants and boutique shops which are frequented by the locals, ensuring an experience where one becomes part of the city cosmopolitan way of life. The interior style of More Quarters Hotel is a subtle combination of “classic contemporary.” More Quarters is Owned and Managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your More Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
More Quarters Hotel Cape Town Central
More Quarters Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage More Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.