We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could clone this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of More Quarters

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added More Quarters to your Saves list
More Quarters
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Nicol Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
phila
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“I wish I could clone this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights recently. Extraordinarily spacious 2 bedroom - basically an apartment with hotel amenities. I'd recommend this place to anyone. We could have lived there forever.

The staff and management were unfailingly polite and competent. Breakfast was out of this world.

The location is pretty good. Cape Town is an odd place to stay in winter because there really isn't a lot of street life except in very specific places and very specific times. The area seemed safe, which is a priority. There were a few stores and restaurants, but don't go thinking that you'll be spending a lot of time on the street. But if you are going to Cape Town, you won't be sorry if you stay at More Quarters.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    49
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
140
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We loved our stay at More Quarters. Our room was very spacious with a living area, kitchen, modern bathroom, bedroom, and small outside area. The rooms had a white theme going on and rooms were very clean. Maid service took place after we left the room and they returned at night to turn down the bed (and place heating pads in the bed- great touch!!) and place water bottles for our use. The front desk was very helpful with reccomendations, when asked, for tours and restaurants. They even provided us with some cash when we were having issues with our credit card. Breakfast was included and it started with a nice selection of fruits, cheeses, and meat. From there, we could order a hot breakfast. All food was delicious. Other reviews posted about noise from a nightclub- the other couple we were traveling with heard it one night from their room, but said it wasn't that bad. The location was great- we walked to several restaurants, Long Street, and Green Market square. A bit of a distance from the Waterfront, but just a short cab ride over. Overall, we definitely recommend this place to others!

Room Tip: Try to reserve a room on the same street as the reception area- we did not hear any noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed at More Quarters for 3 nights on our Honeymoon. Can't say enough good things about the place. From the lovely welcome from all the staff through to our departure.
A few things to note:
1. BEST breakfast buffet I had in all the 31 days we traveled through Africa! The museli, the crepes, the little shortbread biscuits - awesome! Also the view from the breakfast room - you can see Table Mountain - just lovely!
2. The info cards the turn down service leave you with the weather for the next day! Great little extra touch. Water bottles in the bed were great too - just scared me the first time I jumped into bed hahahaha
3. Scheduled car transfers down to the water front were really good for tourists a little unsure of how to get around.
Would stay there again if going back to Cape Town!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I cannot say enough good things about our entire experience at More Quarters and in Capetown. The hotel was quaint, beautiful, and the people were even better. The service was superb, everyone went out of their way to make sure my new husband and I had the honeymoon of our dreams, complete with rose petals on the bed and in the tub! We will definitely return to More Quarters the next time we make the trip to SA from Florida, USA.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Very clean, spacious room. Nice area within walking distance of shopping and several restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Originally we were hoping to stay in the hotel, but that was full, so we were offered an apartment at the same price. The apartments are in the road behind the main hotel and have their own reception and breakfast room.

The apartments are all to a high boutique standard. Air-con, underfloor heating in bathrooms, large baths, showers, beds etc. Everything is very clean, very new and just as you want it to be.

The staff were all very friendly arranging packed lunches, taxis, booking restaurants, making suggestions for trips out etc.

The breakfasts were excellent, lots of choice of fresh fruit, cereal, cooked options, standard of cooking was very high.

To be honest we felt very spoilt while we were staying here, we felt as though we were "in the lap of luxury!"

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed at the More Quarters Apartments, in a 2 bed/2bath apartement and were looked after thoroughly the whole time we were there. The breakfasts were really good, with enough variety to tempt fussy teenage girls. The apartment was comfortable, and we felt secure there. The standard was very high, the rooms were very clean and looked after - including hat water bottles!

Room Tip: All the apartments are different, but the standard is very high
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to More Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about More Quarters

Address: 2 Nicol Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — More Quarters 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining apartment living with the service and hospitality of a hotel makes this experience unique and ideal when visiting Cape Town. The location within Cape Town city bowl affords guests the ability to walk to both restaurants and boutique shops which are frequented by the locals, ensuring an experience where one becomes part of the city cosmopolitan way of life. The interior style of More Quarters Hotel is a subtle combination of “classic contemporary.” More Quarters is Owned and Managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your More Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
More Quarters Hotel Cape Town Central
More Quarters Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage More Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.