We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in a great city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hyde All-Suite Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Hyde All-Suite Hotel to your Saves list
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 London Road | Seapoint, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in a great city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I am almost hesitant to write this positive review of The Hyde as I'm afraid Cape Towns best kept secret will no longer be a secret!

The place is fantastic. With so many small properties with poor service and facilities labelling themselves as 'boutique' it is difficult to sift out the truly superb independent/small/boutique hotels. And that is what The Hyde is - superb.

Location: the location was perfect for us. The hotel is in Sea Point which has the City Centre and 'waterfront' areas in ten minutes drive to the right and the chic Camps Bay and Clifton Beaches ten minutes to the left. The hotel is one block back from the seaside and had some views (we were on level 5). Literally 5-10minutes walk up the road is a huge range of shops, restaurants and supermarkets. The area was lovely and quiet at night and we had undisturbed sleep, the only thing waking us in the morning was the sound of seagulls. There is secure basement car parking (free) and the hotel operates a shuttle to the waterfront in the morning and evening peaks. Outside those times there were plenty of public buses going past to either the city centre or the beaches.

The hotel: Perfectly sized and formed. It comprises six floors with reception, lounge, gym, bar and restaurant on the main floor and five floors of accommodation above. The pool and sun deck is on the roof and while the pool was small it was always fairly quiet up there.

The room: In a word, fantastic. There were three room categories: studio, suite and deluxe suite. We were booking in a deluxe suite but traded it for a suite to nab a room on a higher floor (room 506). Apparently the three category of rooms are more or less the same size with just minimal differences. The rooms were great. I could easily stay a month in one (we stayed six nights). It was so refreshing to actually get exactly what you've seen in the photographs on the hotels website. The room was spacious, the kitchen was fantastic and well equipped. Everything modern and clean. Really couldn't ask for more.

Staff & service: This is the strongest link of The Hyde. The major hotel chains should all send their staff to The Hyde to be trained. From the initial welcome and check in right through to the farewell and checkout the service was flawless. From literally every single staff member I encountered. They seem to have the balance between friendly, relaxed and informal - yet at all times very professional and efficient bang on. While every staff member we encountered deserves recognition, 'Cheryl' on reception deserves a stand out mention. She was the most genuine, friendly, cheery receptionist we have ever encountered in a hotel - yet at the same time always efficient, friendly and knowledgable. I'm not sure if the hotel has special brainwashing training to make the staff the way they are or whether they just happen to select genuine people that enjoy their work but it is what made our stay most memorable.

Food & drink: breakfast was included in our rate and was a great way to start each day. It wasn't an extravagant spread but more than even a fussy eater could ask for. Fresh fruit, cereals, breads and croissant, cheeses and cold cuts. Also hot selections including eggs and bacon. Again attended to by staff that greeted us each morning like old friends. We only had another meal once and that was room service. Fillet steak. It was cooked to perfection and delivered hot. And no more expensive than outside the hotel.

Conclusion: The Hyde is a wonderful place to stay in a wonderful city. Without hesitation when we return to Cape Town again (and we will) we will make The Hyde our first choice. It offers exceptional value, and first rate accommodations and service.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your Kind Words.

We have been looking at renovating one of our room types to include an executive suite to The Hyde room portfolio.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future to see the improvements.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    46
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
28
69
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

First off, my husband was quite skeptical of this choice, since the price is so reasonable for the location. Needless to say, as soon as we arrived, he became a convert. We stayed here for 2 weeks over the Christmas Holiday period and were very pleased with the Hyde. We stayed in a "deluxe suite," which was very roomy and had a huge kitchen.

The decor was modern and in good taste (and just as it appears on the hotels website.) (Also a previous reviewer commented on the "tusks" on the shelf. They are NOT ivory, they are antelope horns, likely from culled animals.)

We found the service outstanding. Everyone was very friendly, and many knew us by name. They really did everything to accomodate us, such as getting the Cartoon Network on tv, for our son, and providing additional dishes, serving pieces and cutlery for our Chritmas Eve and even helping me contact my husband when we were out and he had the only cell phone.

The location is fantastic, since it's right by the promenade, but on a quiet street. There is a stop for the hop-on/hop-off tour bus near-by, as well as the fact that Sea Point is very walkable.

The roof top pool is beautiful as is the view from up there.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we so pleased at The Hyde that you and your husband had such a wonderful experience at The Hyde and in Cape Town. I hope we will be able to look after you again in the near future. I wish you all the best for the year ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

we just finished a three day stay at Hyde. we were travelling with a rental car so the secured free parking was a plus. rooms are spacious with a full kitchen for extended stays. view from the room was of table mountain which was great to wake up to. location is breeze to anywhere in cape town and hop on hop off bus stop (#17) is just 200m away!

overall stay was a 15/10. many larger hotel chains should take a lesson from this place. the complimentary breakfast had more selection than US$40 meals I've had to pay for with other hotels. classy bit is that they rotate the hot breakfast offerings each day so if you're there for a couple of days it becomes a bit of a surprise what you're going to get vs just the same old each time.

EVERY staff member makes the effort to say hello to you each time they see you, which is huge in my books. very professional.

internet is free WiFi on lobby floor up to a certain Mb cap, there's a desktop computer by lobby for guest use and if you are travelling with laptop, they'll rent you cables so you can access from your room.

only real issue we had was that there's a shuttle to waterfront that's listed as complimentary, but we tried to take it one night at the pickup time and were told it was a R90 charge one way. think it was a miscommunication or something as we decided to just take car out later and saw other guests in lobby asking for 'free' shuttle and getting on a bus.

all around, highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Good Day and Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.

I truely hope we get to see you in the near future. There have been a couple of additional inprovements to our internet as we have introduced WI-FI throughout the hotel and now with a simple automated system to replace the voucher sytem.

I hope to welcome you back to experience the improvements.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel is in a great location. The service is fantastic. The rooms are modern, clean and very comfortable. Short walk to the promenade and side sea view from some of the rooms. Fitness centre is small but has everything that you need. I will stay here any day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great place, suite was wonderful, only negative was it appeared there were ivory tusks on the shelf and they looked very real (and i found them offensive) helpful staff, very clean. With parking and wifi in communal areas.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Normally I stay at The Cullinan when I come to Cape Town, but as they were fully booked, I decided to try a new hotel as The Hyde was also nearer camps bay beaches.

We checked in with ease and a welcoming smile from the Duty manager and when she showed us up to our suite, we were astounded! It was such a luxurious and large area, with separate kitchenette and lounge and then bedroom with ensuite bathroom! Free wifi Internet is included in the lobby (up to a certain MB) and breakfast was simple yet delicious every morning and also included!

A few times, we had to get advise and recommendations from the concierge, Rashaad... He is such a friendly and helpful man and really helped us find out about certain specific things we wanted to do whilst in Cape Town!

The promenade is just down the road for early morning runs, which overlooks the sea, or the hotel gym is basic but still very good and has everything you really need!

I am overly impressed with this hotel and its wonderfully polite and friendly Staff!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A very stylish and centrally located hotel with lovely breakfast included and Internet available as part of the room rate. Extra Internet time available at a nominal fee. The pool looked very nice and refreshing, but alas too cold that time of the year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hyde All-Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hyde All-Suite Hotel

Address: 13 London Road | Seapoint, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hyde All-Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel Situated in the cosmopolitan area of Sea Point, The Hyde Luxury All Suite Hotel comprises of 36 swanky Luxury Suites and is Cape Town’s new hot spot for production crews, conferencing clients, and business or leisure travelers. Catering specifically to these discerning markets, the Hyde delivers the small things that make the big differences – with a style all of its own. The Hyde is an independently owned and operated boutique hotel of the highest standard with a commitment to excellent service and sophisticated comfort being the pledge of its dedicated, passionate owners and management team, ably assisted by their handpicked support staff. This philosophy of accessibility, extra care and attention to detail converts our guests into friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hyde All-Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hyde All Hotel Sea Point
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.