We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving this restaurant - never fails to satisfy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Societi Bistro

Societi Bistro
50 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 424 2100
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Casual and informal bistro in Gardens, Cape Town with an a great little bar, "The Snug".
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loving this restaurant - never fails to satisfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have eaten at Societi Bistro a few times recently and they never fail to impress
The restaurant is in an old house in the centre of cape Town - near the Mount Nelson, and conveniently almost next door to one of our favourite places - the the Labia cinema.
The decor, the service, the food - all top class. Very reasonable prices. I think its great that every wine on the wine list you can order by the glass so if you are driving you can have one small 125ml glass of wine or if you can try a variety of wines or a different one for each course perhaps - even the "champagne" you can buy by the glass
we seem to keep ordering the fillet steak in a peppercorn sauce with thick home cut fries and spinach. I don't really like pepper sauces, but for some reason this one is amazing
We have also had the linefish in the past, and the seasonal salad and of course the mushroom risotto is always a favourite
They have a special on a Monday and Tuesday where for R90 (about $10) you can have a pasta meal for two AND two tickets to see a movie at The Labia - brilliant deal - got to be one of the best is Cape Town

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    131
    36
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This was a great surprise. The food is fantastic, only topped by the service and atmosphere. Good wine list. The waiter was so professional with wonderful suggestions. Really a must.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent pre-theatre/opera meeting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We went there for an early supper one chilly evening before going to the opera. It has a great atmosphere, with cosy fireplaces. Good service, good food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Dessert a must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have been there a couple of times already, and the food is always great. But let me tell you about their dessert….they make the best Cheesecake and Chocolate tart that I have come across – and believe me I have tasted a LOT. It is DELICIOUS, out of this world, a MUST. Skip starters and mains and go straight to pudding! But be warned, as soon as you have tasted it, it will become a craving!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Bad service and tasteless food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have driven past the Kloof Street location of this restaurant so many times and it always looks so charming and pretty with the outside courtyard and quaint decor.

My friend decided to have her birthday dinner there, it was a big group of us, 20 or so and I did take this number into consideration for this review.

Our waitress although very friendly, was shockingly bad - took ages to take orders, drinks and food were brought through all over the place, not together or in any kind of order, none of us ate at the same time, some of us never received the drinks we ordered etc - it was unacceptable since they weren't even fully booked.

The food was another big disappointment. The prices are high so you expect the food to be top shelf - this was not the case. Everyone complained that the food was bland, I had the spaghetti lemone which was basic grocery store pasta (not hand made or fresh) with a half a lemon squeezed out over it - or at least that's what it tasted like - dry and boring. I had to ask for salt, pepper and Parmesan to try and spice it up. Many of my friends had the ostrich burger which was the size of a slider, so small and completely over priced.

I will never go back there and since telling people of my experience I have heard many similar stories.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Societi Bistro also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Societi Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Societi Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.