We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jab jab bruuuuuu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments to your Saves list
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   13 Merrimanh Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 149 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jab jab bruuuuuu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

!Hidden, safe, stunning view, great service, five star evenings at the pool, breakfast very good ambience and stylish! (And even pay!) Garage for the car free of charge, always well-stocked refrigerators with reliable self-service and fair taxi connection to the city .. perfectly entry into the Cape vacation! ... If Cape Town again Then again bluegum hill guest house! Thanks to all! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AissaCapeTown, Owner at Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
So nice to hear you enjoyed your time @ Bluegum Hill !
We hope to see you again one day !
Warm CT regards
Aissa & staff !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
56
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

My husband and I spent five nights in the penthouse apartment. We loved the balcony, and the main space was large and comfortable. We were a bit bummed not to have a heating plate, though; you only get a sink, fridge and a microwave.

The view is stellar, but the hike to the top of Bluegum Hill will make you want to plan your day around not having to go back and forth between the b&b.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aissa - Cape To... P, Owner at Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Hello again!

Thank you for the feedback - so sorry about the heating plate! Unfortunately due to fire safety constraints, the kitchen at the Penthouse is basically a light meal prep station only. We do advise of this in our booking process, if the information was perhaps not there in the portal you booked through we are so very sorry about that and will look into it to remedy!

Hopefully the stunning views, balcony and space as you wrote about did make up for it and we hope that you both still enjoyed your stay and your time in Cape Town!

We do recommend taxis as hiking up the hill is for the very brave few! We always say we have to pay for the views somehow!

Thank you for taking the time to write and we hope this finds you well!

Best Wishes
Ughetta and Aissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the end of Feb. The organisation was excellent, the room delightful and the helpfulness of the staff second to none. The location is good - in walking distance of the Waterfront in a quiet, safe area. Waking up to a view of Table Bay and eating breakfast outdoors was wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AissaCapeTown, Owner at Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Thanks for the lovely remarks guys !
So glad you enjoyed it and hope you had a lovely birthday breakfast overlooking the Bay !! Warm CT regards Aissa and all at Bluegum Hill :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We arrived after a long cross country drive feeling exhausted from the heat. The staff were very welcoming with a much appreciated cold drink. On our first evening we chose to stay in and they were happy to recommend a local take away and arrange for delivery.

The views over the stadium, city and the bay were an amazing way to start the day along with the buffet and personally cooked breakfast. The staff provided advice on which attraction we should book ahead and which we could go to on the day and were happy to book tickets for us where we wanted.

This was a great base for driving around the Cape and travelling through the city knowing we would be returning to a relaxed "home" where we were looked after and made to feel like part of the family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AissaCapeTown, Owner at Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thanks Lewis for the kind words and for being part of our family !!
It was great meeting you both !
Take good care and we hope to see you again some time !
Sunny CT regards
Aissa & all at BGH ! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in the penthouse apartment and 2 nights in a small double room in the Guesthouse. The location is perfect, walking distance to the city center. The staff is very helpful and the day we arrived we sat down and talked about what we wanted to do while in Cape Town. We got a lot of tips and they even helped us book and print tickets online and call and make reservations at the restaurants etc.

The penthouse apartment is absolutely amazing, the views are hard to beat. The small double room isn't very small at all and it has a lovely view of the bay. It is a great place to stay in Cape Town!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AissaCapeTown, Owner at Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Thank you for your kind words Sara ...we are so glad you enjoyed it here !

Yes that Penthouse view just amazing !!

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and Happy 2012 !!

All our warmest Cape Town regards
Aissa & Inge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

My sister and I went to the Kings of Leon concert on 26 October 2011 and we booked in at the Bluegum Hill Guesthouse for one night. The guesthouse has awesome panoramic views of Cape Town City and the ocean. The staff is very friendly and eager to help. The room we stayed in had the twin single beds and a beautiful black and white barthroom. The guesthouse is made for relaxation. I loved everything about the guesthouse, including the two dogs Happy-Bubbles and the black poodle. I would revisit Bluegum Hill Guesthouse again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AissaCapeTown, Owner at Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Thanks for the nice compliments Davina !

Glad you enjoyed it here and the concert too.
It was lovely to meet you !

All our warmest regards from Inge and I ...... and of course the doggies too !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I have stayed at Bluegum Hill Guesthouse on numerous occassions, mostly for business and have always enjoyed my stay.

The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and the Parenti sisters always available to help out - where possible.

I highly recommned Bluegum Hill - whether you're a visitor to Cape Town, or simply an internal business traveller.

KInd regards
Kate

Room Tip: if you a have room preference, make sure to ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments

Address: 13 Merrimanh Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to one of the most breathtaking views in Cape Town beneath the Bluegum trees on Signal Hill. Peace and tranquility close to City and Waterfront. Panoramic views across Table Bay to Robben Island. Africa’s colourful history and warmth reflected in the artistic decor, relaxed atmosphere and friendly hospitality. Characterful bedrooms, generous breakfasts and complimentary refreshments. Sundowners on the lookout deck, sparkling salt-water pool. Children welcome. Tourist info, airport transfers, tours, car hire gladly arranged. German understood.Three Star Graded. Established 1995. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse And Apartments Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.