We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karibu

Karibu
Shop 156, The Wharf Centre, V&A Waterfront | Victoria Wharf, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
+27 21 421 7005
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse, African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Lovely place and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Ate here 2 times in CT, excellent food and great ambience. Lovely local food and good choir singing most of the time! Come here and you won't be disappointed.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaribuRestaurant, Manager at Karibu, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Good day


Thank you for writing such a lovely review, we are so glad that many people visit us more than once on their holidays, as we have so many great dishes once is just not enough.

Thank You and we hope that you will join us again.

Kindest Regards

Teagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    218
    73
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Serves great local South African delicacies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

During my stay in Cape Town, dined at Karibu twice. Had stewed ostrich for main course and biltong salad for starters. Also tried the local Cape Malay food, beef bobotie. Overall food experience is real pleasant. Try to sit outside as one will get a quay view of the V&A Waterfront. Pricing wise - reasonable

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaribuRestaurant, Manager at Karibu, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hi Phait -Lee

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Kind Regards

Teagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“First restaurant - best Bobotie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

First night in South Africa and decided a proper South African meal was a must. Vague idea of what Bobotie was and wow were we blown away with this version! Not wet like we had later on but moist and well flavoured, accompanied by spicy and perfectly cooked fruity rice. Would love to get the recipe and was a great introduction to South African food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaribuRestaurant, Manager at Karibu, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hi Keith

Wow thank you for an outstanding review of our restaurant, we as the Karibu Team take great pride in offering guests the best experience possible and it is great to know when we have succeeded.

Thank you once again.

Kindest Regards

Teagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“nothing special and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My overall experience at Karibu was that it was the most expensive place I've eaten while vacationing in Cape Town and it was absolutely nothing special. The food was about twice the price of most establishments and about half as delicious. The service was okay, although, it was notable that the couple seated next to us received attention about 3 times the rate that we received. The food was okay, my dish was served kind of cold, the prices were expensive, and the service was mediocre. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant to others and I won't eat here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“South african experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great food: southafrican dishes like bobotie, game (kudu, springbok, crocodile)
Excellent wines. Friendly staff who know their stuff.
Greta view at the Waterfront.
We ate twice

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karibu also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Karibu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karibu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.