We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not luxury, especially the airstreams” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Daddy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Daddy Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Daddy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Lilongwe, Malawi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not luxury, especially the airstreams”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I'd been excited to stay in the Airsteams on the roof of the Grand Daddy Hotel since years ago when I stayed at Daddy Long Legs (art boutique sister hotel on Long street.) However, immediately upon arrival we were shown the John and Yoko airsteam which was so small that the bathroom was outside next to the bar. We were then given the choice between the Dorothy and the Goldilocks airstream which were larger, but both were in need of at least an update of the furnishings. We knew the airstreams were retro, so expected the built in pieces to be old. However, even the curtains and removable furniture like chairs and cushions were dingy and dirty. Once we decided on the Goldilocks, we realized the artwork for which the airstreams are known was peeling and poor quality. When there was not hot water for showers, we decided for the price of a luxury hotel room, we'd rather have a basic room (superior room) inside the hotel. That room was clean, big and comfortable, but nothing extraordinary for the price. If you are looking for a cool experience of a funky art hotel, stay at Daddy Long Legs down the street for half the cost, more space and friendlier staff!

Room Tip: Airsteams are uncomfortable, no hot water, dirty and without privacy from the bar. Rooms inside much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    63
    25
    12
    9
See reviews for
8
74
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This year we had one of our year end work functions held at the Grand Daddy Hotel. Positioned right in the heart of Cape Town - in the famous LONG Street - a trendy street for night life in Cape Town.
The hotel is very old, traditional in it's interior.Cocktails were served on the roof top, together with canepes served by friendly waiters.
We had a crowd of about 40 people, the service from the bar was good, considering the extreme heat at 6.30 pm on that particular evening.....so the drinks were on demand!
We then moved downstairs to a private dining room, where a stunning Christmas Dinner Table had been decorated with festive goodies- really beautifuly done!
A set menu was the order of the day, with a choice of two per starter, main and desert+ coffee
The food was surprsingly very good, i had capachio of beef to start , which was superb, followed by the lamb and roast potatoes! A thoroughly enjoyable meal and evening all round.
I wouldnt plan a visit unless you are in a crowd of 6-8 or more....I would maybe go to the rooftop for a drink or two, but otherwise not bad for a private work function.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel in Long Street Cape Town, this is a good option. Be aware that you will be staying in Long Street which is noisy especially during the night. The staff was helpful and recommended a nice restaurant for us. Standard breakfast, with a small buffet to choose from and a warm breakfast on request. The staff might want to be a bit more informative and attentive in regards to what is on offer for breakfast. Room was nicely decorated - with aircon and satellite TV / tea&coffee making facilities and bathroom amenities. Very lively hotel and I would recommend it to young people.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

For a weekend away whilst living in Cape Town I stayed at the Grand Daddy Hotel. After seeing the hotel on a TV show back home in Australia I had always wanted to spend a night or two in their Airstream Trailer Park on the rooftop of the hotel.
For my two nights I stayed in the Love of Lace Trailer. It was a fun, funky and great experience! The bed was massive, could easily sleep more then 2 people and the lounge was comfortable too. The bathroom was small, the shower was very awkward to use but its the novelity of being on a rooftop in a trailer park so absolutely no complaints!

The staff were great, so friendly and so helpful! The food yummy and the hotel is in the prefect location for people wanting to explore Long Street and all it has to offer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerul, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Convenient Location .......Nice rooms, but do not expect nice view.....people are warm and helpful, which is most important thing about this hotel...Food was ok, especially when you are vegetarian ....but lots of options available close to hotel ......

Room Tip: Select road facing rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed two nights in Dorothy, and whilst I love Airstreams and have no bother staying in a caravan, this one is in need of a bit of love.

The bath has a major crack so you can only use for showering, which isn't that easy when you are 5'9" and the shower head won't stay put. The decor is fun, but the overall feel is shabby, and in need of a lick of paint. Most of the windows are broken, and so was the bug screen. And on the final day the water ran out so we had to use the toilets for the bar.

Also the is no elevator to the top floor, so be prepared to walk a couple of flights. It was no bother for us but it wasn't mentioned and might be an issue for some.

Breakfast was good, and service was good. Room service was quite slow, but fine.

Finally if you are going on a night when the bar is open, don't expect to sleep. It will be very very loud, and we only experienced this one night for a couple of hours. Our Cape Town friend says it is quite a hot spot, so be prepared for that to be longer in the summer months.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Really good stay at the Grand Daddy! Ended up staying in a room as well as a couple of different caravans. Really you HAVE to stay in one of the vans though......such good fun with the bar right there and events on all the time. Needless to say you don't go for a bit of peace and quiet, but something so different. Wish England had a place like this, but requires a climate like SA!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
African Secrets M, Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you'll retun to us when back in SA again!

Best Wishes
Team GD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Daddy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Daddy Hotel

Address: 38 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#57 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Daddy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Daddy is a luxury four-star city hotel with an effervescent, creative soul. Generous, warm and welcoming; The Grand Daddy’s passion is for people. The Grand Daddy’s big talking point is its ‘penthouse’ trailer park, where a collection of vintage Airstream caravans nestle beneath the backdrop of Table Mountain. Each of the 7 two-sleeper trailer suites have been conceptualized and designed by local artists and makes for an accommodation destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Grand Daddy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Daddy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.