We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy place wıth great locatıon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Daddy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Daddy Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Daddy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Brno, Czech Republic
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cosy place wıth great locatıon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Hotel is located in the popular Long Street in the hearth of Cape Town. Rooms are comfortable and clean, with twice a day cleaning/servicing. Make sure you use AC in the room and not open the window, as there are many mosquitoes.
There is beautiful roof top terrace, with trailers as rooms and a bar, which unfortunately worked only 1 night during my 1 week stay.
There is free wifi in the hotel, but you have to get voucher from the reception from it (actually many of them if you want to browse few pages, because they are for 50MB only), which is a bit annoying.
Breakfast was very nice and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review you posted on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us!

I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the wonderful location we have in the heart of Cape Town. I hope you used it to full advantage and managed to explore all the fabulous shops, markets and cafes on offer!

The Skybar is open 6 days a week but is weather dependent and does close early at around 20h30 in the week and a little later on weekends. As a hotel guest you are always welcome to order a drink from the Daddy Cool bar and go and sit on the rooftop.

Our Internet wireless service is what most hotels are offering in Cape Town however we are currently looking at some different systems so thank you for the feedback!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Town and the Grand Daddy Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards
Bryony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    63
    25
    12
    9
See reviews for
8
74
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was a very interesting stay!

Reception: Drove up to the hotel and there was nowhere to park (as this is on Long Street where parking is very scarce)! There was no one to even tell us where to go or what to do! ;/ Had to double park, get out and go inside to reception to find out what to do.... whereby they tell us we have to park at a parkade 2 roads away in which we still have to pay for!
Secondly, the people at reception were impolite and did not know what was going on and it took us forever to get checked in.

Room: No complaints about room. It was very neat and good bathroom. No views whatsoever. We had a view of a wall through our 1 small window! If it wasn't for the neatness of the room, we would have been very upset to stay there.

Service: Non-existent. Very unfriendly people.

Location: Smack dab in the middle of Long Street (party street). I guess if you like to party, then this is where you should stay. It felt like a real "grand daddy' sort of place.

Breakfast: Limited, Same breakfast everyday - we stayed there for 4 nights :/

All in all, if we didn't pay hotel-express rates, I would have thought that was the worst value for money, even though it was the peak period!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate all feedback as it helps us to constantly improve.

The Grand Daddy Hotel is a heritage building located in the heart of the city center. This does make parking a bit of a challenge as we do not have any on-site parking however we have arranged & negotiated a reduced rate at a parkade located one block away from us, for all Grand Daddy guests. I must apologize that no one was there to assist you when you arrived and to point you in the right direction. I have looked into this and taken the necessary steps to ensure this is not repeated..

Long Street is made up of 3 sections, lower Long which is mainly made up of corporate offices, middle Long (which is where we are) which is a mix of restaurants and shops and upper Long which is where all the bars and clubs are and which is where Long Street gets its party street name from. On Friday and Saturday nights Long Street definitely has a certain buzz to it but we are at least 6 blocks away from the top section which houses the bars & clubs.

I am glad that you found the room to be neat and comfortable, unfortunately we are only 3 stories high and surrounded by buildings so the only view we are able to offer is from the rooftop & from there one can see table mountain as well as our beautiful indigenous garden!

What bothered me the most is that you found the staff to be unfriendly and unhelpful. We usually get such great comments on our guest service and I was very disappointed to hear that this was not your experience.

Following your feedback we have added a couple more items onto the hot breakfast menu for our hotel guests which will provide some more variety for guests staying longer.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Bryony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzaneen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We made a big mistake to book at the Grand Daddy. ( Not sure what is so grand......). The whole hotel looks fabulous on the internet but is actually a run down place. it can certainly do with a new paint job. The trailer park upstairs is also just a trap. It is a smoking and drinking spot. Period, nothing else. We stayed over on a Sunday and we were not informed that the on-site restaurant was not open, in fact not even the roof-top bar was open.

There was also no parking available and i had to park in an shopping mall parkade which is about two blocks away from the hotel.( and had to pay it ) Next morning the included breakfast was also a big let-down. Sorry boys , you wont see me again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that your experience at the Grand Daddy Hotel did not live up to your expectations. We are a city hotel and do not have on-site parking which is why we have negotiated a special rate, which we pass on directly to our guests, with the parkade one block away from us. You will find that many city center hotels do indeed charge for parking.

The Skybar is open to the public and we do get a lot of outside visitors – especially on a on Friday when we feature live music on the rooftop - a great opportunity for our guests to meet with other local and international visitors. The bar and L’Apero are both closed on a Sunday, this information is stated in the hotel confirmation as well as on our website and I do apologize if you were not made aware of this. There are many fabulous restaurants in the area and our front desk staff are willing to recommend something to suit all tastes, as well as make a booking if you require them to.

We offer both a buffet/continental breakfast and a cooked breakfast to all our hotel guests, I apologize if the waiter did not make you aware of this – as a result we have put a “table talker” on the buffet advising guests of what is available in the mornings, I am sorry you felt what we offered was not adequate.

Thank you again for your feedback, we have used it constructively to improve our service and standards.

Kind regards
Bryony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

It's a good hotel, great service and the rooms are totally fine. The location is probably the best thing with the hotel, it is very central and you can basically walk everywhere in town.

One annoying thing was that the door to our room was a bit loose and kept on making noises at night. Another annoying thing was the breakfast. One day we came down at 9 and then they had already removed the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review that you posted on Trip Advisor regarding your stay.

I must agree with you that we have an awesome location, centrally located to explore Cape Town on foot and I am so glad that you were able to appreciate what our beautiful city has to offer.

I do hope that once reported to the front desk, the door to your room was fixed!

We offer breakfast every morning from 06h30 - 11h00 on weekdays and 07h30 - 11h30 on weekends. I cannot explain why the buffet was removed early on one of the days. I can assure you however that this has not and will not happen again.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you at the Grand Daddy Hotel again!

Kind regards
Bryony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here end of October, had a fabulous time. Rooms lovely, staff friendly and helpful, amazing breakfast each day to set us up for a day of exploring!

some people mentioned that it could be noisy due to location - no complaints from me and didn't notice anything.

Great rooftop bar...a stone's throw from one of the bus stops for the open top bus too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate all the positive feedback and I am delighted you enjoyed your time in Cape Town.

We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime!

Kind regards
Bryony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

It's a good hotel with some really nice features and very friendly staff but they need to find a way to make their game more consistent.
Bed was good and so were the other room features. Room was clean but they forgot twice to replace towels in the bathroom. The old ones gone, no new ones, unpleasant when you come back at midnight.
Rooms towards the street too noisy as the windows, balcony doors are simple glass and Long Street is busy.
The location is great as it is busy and safe until late night but the drawback is the noise the hotel allows to enter the room.
The have live music on certain days and "hip" groups in their meeting rooms until late and these groups we too noisy for my liking as the crowd means to chat in front of guest rooms.

Verdict... I did not regret to stay there but would think twice when coming back to Cape Town. There are nicer places to get some rest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel has some cool design touches and was a good choice for a couple of nights. We stayed in the standard room and found it perfectly adequate. The bed was very comfortable and enjoyed the wine gums at turndown! The bathroom products were gorgeous, and the shower was good. We popped up to see the trailer park, not my cup of tea but I'm sure some people find it fun. There is a bar up on the roof, and a bar on the 1st floor. We didn't stay in either of them but they both looked like nice places to hang out. The location is popular with backpackers and we struggled to find any quality places to eat, as they all cater to the student crowd which isn't really my scene. It was noisy at night, but not massively so, more like bottles in the street, people shouting etc, nothing you wouldn't get in any large city at night. The best thing was the breakfast which was delicious. One thing that didn't seem to make sense is the limited wireless access; why not just open wireless to guests rather than having them have to get a voucher from reception each day? Despite what it says on the website, I didn't find it really funky, it looked as if it needs a bit of a face lift to bring it up to a 4 star luxury standard. The staff were all lovely and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely, honest and thorough review of your stay with us in October. We appreciate your feedback.
I am delighted to read that you loved the breakfast. We believe it is the most important meal of the day and it is very important that our guests head out to explore our beautiful city with plenty of energy! I have to agree that our beds are very comfortable and we also love the Beautiful Earth bathroom products that are proudly South African products.
Wireless Internet is still relatively expensive in Cape Town (but this should be changing soon) and the voucher system is the system that works best for us for the time being.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Grand Daddy and Cape Town in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Daddy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Daddy Hotel

Address: 38 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#57 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Daddy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Daddy is a luxury four-star city hotel with an effervescent, creative soul. Generous, warm and welcoming; The Grand Daddy’s passion is for people. The Grand Daddy’s big talking point is its ‘penthouse’ trailer park, where a collection of vintage Airstream caravans nestle beneath the backdrop of Table Mountain. Each of the 7 two-sleeper trailer suites have been conceptualized and designed by local artists and makes for an accommodation destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Grand Daddy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Daddy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.