We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, comfy boutique on Long Street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Daddy Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Daddy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Daddy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 102 hotels in Cape Town Central
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unique, comfy boutique on Long Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed in one of the Grand Daddy’s contemporary Superior rooms at the end of June on a local friend’s recommendation, and it did not disappoint. The entire room was fresh, clean, modern, and well-maintained. The towels and linens were luxurious and plentiful, and the nightly turn-down service (with candy!) was a treat. Small details like the body-length mirrors inside the dark wood bureaus made getting ready to go out such a pleasure.

Tech amenities like in-room wifi routers (extra $), universal sockets, and new TVs with USB ports for watching external media were a traveler’s dream come true. The air conditioner/heater was new, quiet, and had a remote so I could bump it up a few degrees during the chilly winter nights without getting out from under the thick bedding. Very up to up-to-date, and very appreciated.

The employees at this hotel were a treat. The doorman and front desk staff were always welcoming and helpful, and made me feel safe and secure in a bustling, new city. Major props to the cleaning crew; my room was always absolutely spotless. This staff cares.

Note that this hotel is right on Long Street, and while the balcony doors are insulated, you will most certainly hear the comings and goings of the city beneath you. It never bothered me. I found my room to be a wonderful respite from the hustle and bustle of busy Cape Town. One can find cheaper accommodations on Long Street, but not with this level of comfort and class. Phenomenal value.

I’ll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review about your stay at the Grand Daddy Hotel! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and it is hearing experiences like yours that make this job so rewarding. I will definitely inform the staff about your feedback as it really helps to motivate them when they can see people appreciate the great job they are doing.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    54
    23
    10
    8
See reviews for
7
62
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paarl, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very disappointed. This might have been funky and trendy 5 years ago, but now it is rundown. The carpets and paintwork are dirty. Reception staff ignore customers at the desk while taking long telephone calls. There is no parking! We were told to park in a public parade three blocks away across busy streets! The trailers are the most awful accommodation I've seen outside of a backpackers; stuffy, smelly, cramped, poor bathroom facilities. Not good value for CT

Room Tip: Do not book a trailer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay at the Grand Daddy Hotel. We really appreciate all feedback, good and bad.
The Trailers are a unique type of accommodation and they get some very definite views from guests; people love them or they do not. Everything is Trailer sized and compact, which for some is just not comfortable but they do have all the facilities that the rooms have. I apologize that the experience was not for you. We do also offer very comfortable rooms located in the hotel as an alternative option.
We have a standard set for our cleaning and maintenance and I will address the issues raised with the relevant departments.
The building is 150 + years old therefore our parking facilities are very limited. We have however negotiated a great rate with Picbel Parkade for secure parking which is located one block away from us on Strand Street. I apologize that this information was not communicated to you clearly prior to arrival and will address this.
We get such lovely reviews about our staff and I am disappointed to hear that your experience was not up to standard.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.
Yours sincerely
Bryony Schultz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel is right in the action of the very happening, cool long street. The rooms are lovely (we stayed in a luxury room) and the service was fantastic. Along long street there are lots of great bars, restaurants and boutique shops. The hotel really is in a great position, easy to get taxi's to the waterfront (approx 40 rand) and to table mountain (approx 80 rand). The only caution I would give is that it does get a little noisy over the weekend as it is the party street. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it was a great way to finish our holiday in South Africa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review about your stay at the Grand Daddy Hotel and we are so glad you ended your trip on such a high! Being in Long Street has a definite advantage of being very central and fortunately most of the clubs and bars are further up but you are right there is a definite buzz on weekends. On your next stay I highly recommend you request a room at the back of the hotel which are much quieter. We hope we will be able to welcome you back to Cape Town again sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is perfect for a short stay in Cape Town. It's priced well with very clean, well-appointed rooms and extremely friendly, attentive staff. A trendy, but not-too-hipster, boutique hotel, Grand Daddy is my pick for this city!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face Long Street, which is quite busy at night, in terms of night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your stay at the Grand Daddy Hotel. We love to hear that the staff were extremely friendly and attentive and we are delighted to be your pick for Cape Town!! We look forward to welcoming you back when you next find yourself in Cape Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The place to be in Cape Town, with lots of fun
You'll find there
- A Venue,
- A colorful Bar,
- A extraordinary rooftop, with trailers, movie, bar
- A excellent Restaurant

In short :
Great food, drinks & atmosphere.
Rooms are decorated with taste and are comfy.
Something one must experience when in cape town!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the reception ! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this very positive review about your stay at the Grand Daddy Hotel, we really appreciate all feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed L’Apero Restaurant and bars and that the rooms were tasteful and comfy. That is exactly what we strive for as a hotel. We hope you will visit us again sometime in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Really enjoyed the rooftop trailer accommodations and the rooftop bar. Super cool place! I didn't partially like the location, as it seemed a bit seedy after hours - a la Long Street in general.

Also, it seemed overpriced for what it was, by about 25-50%.

If you are looking for a cool place to stay in Cape Town, and hang out with a group of friends inside the building for great times, this is the place.

Service was very good, as well.

Room Tip: Rooftop air streams are cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay at the Grand Daddy Hotel, we really appreciate all feedback. We are delighted you found the hotel a great place to hang out; this is what we ultimately want – our guests to have a great time without having to travel anywhere to do so!!
Long Street has undergone a lot of changes over the past few years and is fantastic to see the streets get cleaner and safer every day. We have a great relationship with the CCID who patrol the area and are very visual and always available to help. There is always work to be done but for a company who is based on Long Street we are delighted with the changes and I hope you will also notice them on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed three nights in a suite with our to kids. The suite was very nice nd well decorated. The hotel is well located and the staff is always smiling. The breakfast is very good. We had a very pleasan time at the Grand Daddy hotel.
Veronique & Geoffroy
France

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Veronique & Geoffroy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Grand Daddy Hotel. We really enjoyed having you and your family stay with us and hope to see you again when you next visit Cape Town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Daddy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Daddy Hotel

Address: 38 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Daddy Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Daddy is a luxury four-star city hotel with an effervescent, creative soul. Generous, warm and welcoming; The Grand Daddy’s passion is for people. The Grand Daddy’s big talking point is its ‘penthouse’ trailer park, where a collection of vintage Airstream caravans nestle beneath the backdrop of Table Mountain. Each of the 7 two-sleeper trailer suites have been conceptualized and designed by local artists and makes for an accommodation destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Daddy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Daddy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.